We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casa Naranja is a wonderful bed and breakfast run by two of the nicest people you will ever meet.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Naranja

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grecia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Naranja
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Casa Naranja is a wonderful bed and breakfast run by two of the nicest people you will ever meet.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

My family and I just returned from a two week trip to Costa Rica to celebrate my parents upcoming 50th Anniversary. We spent the first week at Casa Naranja. We rented the entire bed and breakfast for the week. It more than met our needs. We were 6 adults and 2 children
ranging in age from 8 to 81 years
old and we all had a great time. The house is lovely and the rooms,
including the 2 casitas, were spacious. The hosts (Doreen and
Bill) were helpful from the moment
I booked with them. They assisted
in every way possible including
arranging a van and driver and
helping to put together tours. They
treated us like royalty while making
us feel right at home. They made
us feel like we had known them
forever. I would stay with them
again in a heartbeat, hopefully soon
; ). We had a terrific time at Casa Naranja thanks to Bill and Doreen.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tsmithmorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
19
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Casa Naranja for twelve days. First off Bill and Doreen are the most gracious hosts. We felt less than a guest, but more like having friendly neighbors. The property stunning to say the least with 180 degree view of the valley and hills below the property. Everything is over and above what you expect have at a B&B.
If plan on visiting the Cental Valley area (Grecia) this has to be the only place to stay!

Karen and Dick
Scottsdale, Arizona

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kOhO-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

It was a wonderful experience.. Bill and Doreen were outstanding, they couldn't do enough for us. We had three rooms and all were very nice , clean and spacious , all five of us couldn't have been happier. The breakfast that Doreen prepared was excellent and Bill served us all like we were Kings and Queens.
The location was great ,the view from the Casa Naranja was beautiful. Next time we stay with Bill and Doreen we will schedule the first night with them, the are both a wealth of information about places to visit during your stay in Costa Rica. Can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanshawmassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

Grecia - a small, serene and beautiful town outside of San Jose. Only about 30 mins from the Juan Santamaria Airport. This town and more so the B&B was our greatest find in Costa Rica. We (me and my wife) spent 2 nights in Casa Naranja - it was our last 2 nights in Costa Rica and were the most relaxing ones and the perfect way to end the vacation. The hosts of the B&B - Bill and Doreen are amazing. Friendly, helpful, respectful, witty and resourceful. They told us before we got to their place that it might be difficult for the driver to find the hotel since the town does not have much of street signs. That is why Bill offered to pick us up from near the famous church of Grecia even at night (we arrived around 9:30 PM). And indeed we probably would have been lost had he not picked us up. He drove us to the beautiful Casa Naranja - the beautiful gated B&B. The property is just heavenly. The decor, the location, the setting, the overly spacious rooms and the bathrooms, the comfortable beds, the back yard and even the cute little gift shop run by Bill. On our way to the hotel Bill told us one of many stories of their life. Over the span of next two days Bill and Doreen shared a lot of their stories from back in the days when they were in Colorado. We enjoyed so much listening to their experiences starting from horseback riding, scuba diving to their stories of ice hockey games. If you get a chance ask Bill about his association with the "great one" and he will probably also show you his signed jerseys.
Doreen cooks an amazing French toast - so do not miss that. And the platter of fruits she serves was unbelievable. We just loved the breakfast even though we could not finish it as it was so much.
I recommend staying in Casa Naranja if you are looking to stay near San Jose - an ideal place to begin or end your vacation. We visited the Poas Volcano and the La Paz waterfall gardens from there. They arranged for a private car with a great driver/guide. Do ask for Gilbert if he is available. I suggest to contact Bill/Doreen in advance of your trip and ask for recommendation for any excursions you are planning, as they are highly resourceful.
My wife truly loved the place and specially the hospitality of Bill and Doreen. She enjoyed the fascinating stories they shared with us. The ABC (Abbey, Betsy and Chloe) gang was really well behaved and my wife being a pet lover loved them.

Getting back after a long eventful day and sharing your experiences with Bill and Doreen sitting around the dinner table was just like being with family. We strongly recommend this place and do plan to spend at least half a day to a full day just relaxing in the backyard of the property and enjoying the great view.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayTua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

A B&B hard to find by yourself, but the instructions given by email were clear and we got it right the first time.
Very well situated on a hill. We had a very nice room, clean and vast.
Gorgeous breakfasts.
The hosts are wonderful people, they made very good suggestions for activities and restaurants, and put on paper the instructions to get where we wanted to go.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GOuellet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

What a heavenly two nights at Casa Naranja! My husband and I stayed here on our last two nights in Costa Rica (after Manual Antonio area). We didn't want to be in hetic Alajuela. We wanted to see Volcan Poas, Sarchi, La Paz and maybe a coffee plantation. Casa Naranja is a perfect place to stay. Clean, clean, clean, calm, quiet and relaxing. Large room, even larger bathroom! Wonderful food - more than enough - fresh and way too much to eat! The grounds are gated and absolutely beautiful - day or night! The views are 360 degrees! Bill and Doreen are warm, engaging, and funny!. They know the area well and give perfect driving directions! They have great stories about the B&B (history of) as well as there well lived lives! Bill and Doreen love there community and are actively involved in the area. So fun to talk to them! During our stay we met and young couple from Seattle and a retired couple Des Moines. Both couples were enjoying this B&B. Casa Naranja is for everyone! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank givemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnston, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

The setting of this Bread and Breakfast is wonderful overlooking a the city of Grecia and the valley surrounding it. The temperature is very comfortable. Hosts, Bill and Doreen, provide services beyond what one could expect anywhere else. The breakfasts were execellent and filling. This is the place to stay near the San Jose Airport. I recommend considering staying at this facility.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank don_hagquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grecia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mango Valley
Hotel Mango Valley
#1 of 9 in Grecia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Terraza Guest House B&B
0.0 mi away
B&B Garden Grecia
B&B Garden Grecia
#3 of 9 in Grecia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostel Mangifera
Hostel Mangifera
#6 of 9 in Grecia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Finca Vibran Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Escondidas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Naranja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Naranja

Property: Casa Naranja
Address: Calle Parrita | El Cajon, Grecia 20308, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Grecia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Grecia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Naranja is a first class bed and breakfast in a wonderful setting in the hills above the town of Grecia. Breakfast is served outside in the ranchito while you listen to the river. In the evening you can sit in the jacuzzi at night watch the stars or city lights. Our shuttle service drives you to and from the airport or other tourist excursions can be arranged. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Naranja Costa Rica/Grecia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing