We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommend Casa Naranja!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Naranja

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grecia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Naranja
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend Casa Naranja!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

What a heavenly two nights at Casa Naranja! My husband and I stayed here on our last two nights in Costa Rica (after Manual Antonio area). We didn't want to be in hetic Alajuela. We wanted to see Volcan Poas, Sarchi, La Paz and maybe a coffee plantation. Casa Naranja is a perfect place to stay. Clean, clean, clean, calm, quiet and relaxing. Large room, even larger bathroom! Wonderful food - more than enough - fresh and way too much to eat! The grounds are gated and absolutely beautiful - day or night! The views are 360 degrees! Bill and Doreen are warm, engaging, and funny!. They know the area well and give perfect driving directions! They have great stories about the B&B (history of) as well as there well lived lives! Bill and Doreen love there community and are actively involved in the area. So fun to talk to them! During our stay we met and young couple from Seattle and a retired couple Des Moines. Both couples were enjoying this B&B. Casa Naranja is for everyone! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank givemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
19
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnston, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

The setting of this Bread and Breakfast is wonderful overlooking a the city of Grecia and the valley surrounding it. The temperature is very comfortable. Hosts, Bill and Doreen, provide services beyond what one could expect anywhere else. The breakfasts were execellent and filling. This is the place to stay near the San Jose Airport. I recommend considering staying at this facility.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank don_hagquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prevost
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

We were warmly received by Bill and Doreen even if we were late by two hours at once agreed. The room was clean, large with a king bed. The room was located in a small penthouse in the backward garden and we had the opportunity to have a panoramic view of the city of Grecia and the place was quiet.
The breakfast was excellent and generous, we extended another night because we were very satisfied.
I must mention that I was impressed by their love to the national hockey league and all the famous players shirts and sticks they showed to me, a real hall of fame hockey in Costa Rica, I coudn't beleive it .
Our hosts are very nice persons, we were received as a family member,
Bill and Doreen, thank you, we will send you our friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hampton, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed with Doreen and Bill for 2 nights during our recent week long visit to Costa Rica, and wish it could have been 7!. I am not over exaggerating when I say it was the best experience we've had staying at many bed and breakfasts, both in the U.S. and abroad. Period.

Casa Naranja is a gem in all areas. The main house, rooms and property are meticulously maintained. They are all beautifully decorated and as clean and comfortable as you would like your own home to be. The breakfasts were hearty and delicious, especially the bountiful plates of local fruits. And they were beyond accomodating with the times.

Doreen and Bill could not have been nicer and more valuable as a resource throughout our Costa Rican experience if they tried! They work as a truly professional team, and their attention to the property and guests is first class. Bill was even kind enough to wash our car without us even knowing, after he saw how muddy it was from our drive to Monteverde! Not too mention taking our bags to and from our room. And Doreen packed us a bag of their delicious bananas, cookies and water for our drive to Arenal and beyond. A real personal touch to make you feel like friends, not just guests. Their knowledge of local activities, places to eat and shop, and directions was invaluable.

If you will be staying in the Grecia and neighboring San Jose areas, especially for longer visits, you should certainly stay will Doreen and Bill at Casa Naranja. This is the first time I've ever written a review for Trip Advisor or any similar site. But after our memorable experience here, I felt compelled to do so to recognize this excellent find.

Thank you, again, Doreen and Bill. We hope to be back soon.

Jay, from New York

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friarfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2011

Where does one begin? We almost cancelled the remainder of our trip to stay here. Probably would have if they weren't booked solid for the rest of the week. The hospitality of our hosts, Bill & Doreen, was impeccable. They certainly went above and beyond in every possible regard.
Bill came to meet us to help us find their 'hidden treasure'. Really not that hard to find once you have been shown the way, but don't expect to find it on your own. Have their phone number and call them once you arrive in Grecia and Bill will be sure to guide you in. It will be well worth the tiny effort.
The grounds are immaculate, the house superb and the hospitality beyond compare. Their knowledge of the area, and their directions to find your way to anywhere that you could want to go are second to none. Definitely better than any maps we were able to find!
Be sure to have some money allocated for their craft/souveniers, as they have a lovely display of local art work available to take home with you at very reasonable prices.
The breakfast was fantastic, all home made and some grown in their own back yard. We followed it up with a leisurely walk around the grounds to take in the breathtaking views. One night is definitly not enough time to take in all of this gems qualities. We are planning a mininum of a week at Casa Naranja for our next trip, as you can get to anywhere from here within a mere couple of hours. A great base of operations for a trip to Costa Rica.
Be sure to brush up on you hockey lingo, as Bill and Doreen are huge fans.
Bill and Doreen, Thank you for all of your kindness and assistance.

Jim & Shannon

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDurovick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grecia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

Our first 5 nights in Costa Rica at this B & B was a great experience. The owners were very hospitable and went way out of their way to make our stay very comfortable and pleasant. We slept like a log in our king size bed. We were not just vacationing but looking for a long term rental to spend months in. Bill and Doreen were extremely helpful teaching us many local things and sharing their experiences in this and other parts of Costa Rica after moving here from Colorado. The wireless internet worked great even though the B&B is up in the hills above Grecia so we could Skype and email with ease to family. The views were truly awesome. We loved it!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonandSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

We stayed at Doreen and Bill at the begining of our holiday and they were both very helpful and welcoming. Doreen even contacted us by phone in London before our departure to enquire if we needed any help on arrival!
As we did not have a car Bill came to collect us at the airport in the middle of the night!
The place is very nicely kept, clean, the rooms are spacious and Doreen provides a very good breakfast at the start of each day.
It is located in a very genuine costa rican neighbourhood which gave us a feel for the everyday life in the country.
Doreen and Bill could not have been more helpful while we were staying there and they welcomed us into their home.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alain018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grecia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mango Valley
Hotel Mango Valley
#1 of 9 in Grecia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Garden Grecia
B&B Garden Grecia
#3 of 9 in Grecia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Terraza Guest House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostel Mangifera
Hostel Mangifera
#5 of 9 in Grecia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Finca Vibran Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Escondidas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Naranja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Naranja

Property: Casa Naranja
Address: Calle Parrita | El Cajon, Grecia 20308, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Grecia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Grecia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Naranja is a first class bed and breakfast in a wonderful setting in the hills above the town of Grecia. Breakfast is served outside in the ranchito while you listen to the river. In the evening you can sit in the jacuzzi at night watch the stars or city lights. Our shuttle service drives you to and from the airport or other tourist excursions can be arranged. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Naranja Costa Rica/Grecia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing