We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”
Review of Hostel Mangifera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostel Mangifera
Ranked #5 of 9 Grecia B&B and Inns
Monterey, California, United States
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

To Marco and all my new family: thank you for your great hospitality at Hostel Mangifera. I plan to return again soon.

To all who make the trip to Costa Rica: your time would not be wasted if you decided to stay in Grecia to meet the people and visit the local destinations. It is definitely the cleanest city I visited while in Costa Rica. The hostel looks over the center of town. Plenty of local fare, shops and local artisans. Hostel Mangifera is extremely secure, friendly, clean and full of good vibes. Breakfast is delicious and nutritious. The atmosphere just makes you feel comfortable. I arranged a ride from the airport through Marco as well as a ride back when I flew out. I had such a great time just hanging at the hostel, but there is so much to see outside.

Miss you Grecia, Hostel Mangifera and all the locals who befriended me.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    12
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
13
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulm
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This very nice hostel is located directly at the main plaza of Grecia and just two blocks away from the bus terminal.

All facilities are very clean and the stuff is absolutely friendly and helpful. Pick up from the airport of San Jose and a trip to the Volcano Poàs were also organized by the hostel (Airport pick up is for free for a stay of at least two nights).

12 $ for the dorm including breakfast is a pretty good deal and I can totally recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grecia, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Best place to stay in Grecia, friendly staff, super clean!! His owner makes sure you have a great time while you are there, you´ll feel like family here! Rooms are spacious, really nice patio area, really big for being in down town Grecia, walking distance from all stores, bus stops, restaurants, banks, etc. If you are in the area it´s a must!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauricio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2013

If you're going through the area, DO stay at this hostel! A very comfortable place loaded with personality and charm, wonderful hospitality, easy location across a cute park, met awesome ppl from the area -- would definitely stay there again! Hard not to sound like an advert :)
A 10/10!
Thanks again, Marco!!
-D

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dar005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Here you are treated like a guest and not just a customer. Aside from a central location and being super clean, they are very helpful and knowledgeable. Perfect place to do a day trip to the poas volcano.They also have secure parking, wifi and a simple breakfast included in the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We arrived to Costa Rica late in the evening and didn't want to spend the night in San Jose, therefore we were looking for a place to stay in which is not far away from the airport and this is how we ended here.
It was less than an hour with our rented car from the airport, the hostel is located in the middle of the city, so we didn't have to use the car while staying there.
The staff was friendly and we really enjoyed the breakfast (scrambled eggs, fresh fruits) in their nice garden with the sounds of all the birds around.
They also have a nice bar in their garden.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shahar n Ilana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This is absolutely one of my favorite places to stay. The staff is extra friendly and helpful. The town is quaint and has everything you need. Easy access to Volcan Poas, which I highly recommend. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the included breakfast is great.

I found Hostel Mangifera while looking for a quiet place to spend my last week in Costa Rica. I wanted to place to relax, read, and write. This was perfect. The patio/lounge area out back is well equipped with hammocks and seating. It's close enough to the airport so that you don't have to spend your last night(s) in San Jose.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sacha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grecia
6.9 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
5.3 mi away
Villa San Ignacio
Villa San Ignacio
#9 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
14.8 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel La Rosa de America
Hotel La Rosa de America
#5 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.7 mi away
B&B Garden Grecia
B&B Garden Grecia
#3 of 9 in Grecia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Terraza Guest House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Mangifera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Mangifera

Property: Hostel Mangifera
Address: Costado Norte del Parque de Grecia, Grecia 20301, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Grecia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grecia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Mangifera 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mangifera Hostel offers you and excelent choice to stay in Grecia, affordable rates, located in the heart of Grecia. only 25 minutes from the airport, comfortable beds, breakfast included, Kitchen, beautiful Garden where you can relax in contact with nature. PURA VIDA Atmosphere!!!.Come and visit us!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hostel Mangifera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Mangifera Costa Rica/Grecia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing