We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place but 0 in Service”
Review of Posada Mimosa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grecia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Posada Mimosa
Ranked #7 of 9 Grecia B&B and Inns
Guatemala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Place but 0 in Service”
Reviewed 15 June 2007

The place is OK; but the service from the owners wasn't what we expect, we came on sunday to the hotel and found no one to give us the key of the room, we waited like 20 minutes. We were worried because we have no other place to stay and we had to go to a dinner in Grecia;,so we left our luggage in the hotel (so they noticed we arrived) and went to dinner. When we came back, at 9:30 PM; the owner seemed mad and didn't gave us any explanation why there was no one to at least gave us a key.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TicoGuatemala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    4
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2007

Last July, we spent two weeks in Costa Rica. We found this place in our fabulous guidebook "The New Key to Costa Rica" (the most helpful book)! The owners are a lovely couple. She is originally from England and he from Germany and they have made Costa Rica their home.

They have a really beautiful and peaceful place in the country and away from the city. They are close enough to the airport and you can avoid going in to San Jose. (San Jose is actually farther from the international airport). We arrived after dinner and they very graciously received us and treated out three daughters to a bowl of ice cream down on the patio by the pool. We sat and talked and had a lovely evening.

We stayed in a very large room with two queen beds, a futon and a bunkbed. It was really nice to be able to fit our family. Our girls couldn't resist a dip in the pool and we managed to leave our bathing suits on the line when we left. They were kind enough to send them to the airport when we returned from the Osa peninsula a few days later. They also sent us a copy of their biography. Thank you Martin & Tessa.

It is quiet, peaceful and away from the action, which was just what we needed that night. Grecia is a sweet little town and nearby Sarci is great for shopping for artisan crafts. This might be a nice place to wrap up your trip before you head home.

  • Liked — Frindly owner, large room
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travlinfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2006

My father sister and i recently stayed at Posada Mimosa and loved it. The rooms are huge and have plenty of space to hang out and space for at least 4 people to sleep comfortable. The property is beaufitul and the owners are really friendly. The only small problem that i had with it was that it is about 10 minutes (by car) from Grecia Center, which i didnt realize but we called and got good directions from the hotel. The pool is beautiful, but a little small. The view is wonderful. The owners are really helpful and give great directions to local activities. The hotel is located pretty close to the panamerican highway and it is easy to get to a lot of places from it.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HHollis14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2005

We stayed here the day we flew in because we are not city people and wanted to get the car and get out to the country. It ended up being our favorite place the whole week and we came back for the night before we flew out. It is near the highway but we were not disturbed at all and it is so convenient to get to. The setting is amazing, the host is wonderful, the pool area classy, the four dachsunds adorable and very economical. We hung out to watch the sunset and chatted with a bunch of Canadians who were spending the whole winter in the cottages at Posada Mimosa and had been doing so for years. We got great recomendation for The Oasis restaurant in the nearby town of Grecia, a super low key local hang out with great simple food.

We will definately come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greeneyedmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2005

We paid $60 USD (+16% tax) per night to stay here.
Very secluded and definately magical. It is a very unique property. You could stay here without a car since you could dial up for a taxi but is more convienent with wheels. About 25 minutes from the airport makes this a great first or last night. Well marked and easy to find. English spoken.
Claudio and his wife are the costa rican managers and are excellent examples of the friendly personalities projected by so many costa ricans.

The town of Grecia is about a 10 minute drive, Zoo Ave is about 20 minutes, and Poas Volcano a bit more than 1 hr.

Great views and wonderful setting. Recommended.
Caveats: solar heated hot water takes a few minutes to function and the towells were dried in the sun and a bit stiff. We heard noises early in the morning (roster, highway), but we travel with ear plugs. Breakfast is ample (fruit, juice, coffee, tost, cereal) nothing homemade.

Helpful?
Thank furens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 October 2004

Ok, breakfast was good. I think. We were so tired from no sleep the night before. We had to leave the windows open in order to be cool as there is no air-conditioning. This is fine if it's not so loud outside. We woke up numerous times to the sounds of the trucks on the highway. We were expecting a wonderful nights sleep away from the city only the sounds were far louder than the night we spent in San Jose.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grecia hotels
0.0 mi away
B&B Garden Grecia
B&B Garden Grecia
#3 of 9 in Grecia
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Mangifera
Hostel Mangifera
#5 of 9 in Grecia
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mango Valley
Hotel Mango Valley
#2 of 9 in Grecia
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Terraza Guest House B&B
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Escondidas
0.0 mi away
Finca Vibran Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Mimosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Mimosa

Property: Posada Mimosa
Address: Grecia 4100, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Grecia
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Grecia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Posada Mimosa Costa Rica/Grecia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing