We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like you were staying with family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This was probably my favorite place we stayed in Costa Rica. There are four cute cabins set on a beautiful property. The cabins are cute and remarkably clean, each one with AC. The water pressure was good and there there are lots of little places to put your belongings. The beds were comfortable and you even have a little porch in the back with a hammock where you can watch the horses in the pasture behind you graze. The breakfast was fantastic and plentiful with a choice of either the tipico or American style. Get the tipico, it was one of the best meals we had in Costa Rica.

The location is good, just a few minutes drive from town and within walking distance of the Fortuna Falls. Since it's off the main road it's very quiet, so the only thing that could possibly wake you up is the chorus of birds in the morning.

The owners are wonderful people who make sure you were well tended to and were willing to go out of your way to help you plan your day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TyArroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 601 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

I chose this location for the first two days of our vacation based on reviews from other travellers and I was not disappointed. These are comfortable cabins in a beautiful and peaceful location. Hummingbirds buzzing around the back porch every morning and a delicious breakfast across the street at the owners house for only six dollars US for each person. The owners are wonderful, friendly and helpful people.

It is a short walk to town and restaurants. The La Fortuna waterfall is a ten minute drive and the river is just a couple of minutes walk from the cabins. We also did a trip from this location to the Arenal volcano for Skytrek, Skytram, and Skywalk (which is tram up the mountain, ziplining and hanging bridges canopy hike).

I would definitely go back and would recommend.

Room Tip: Two of the rooms have televisions, but who wants to watch TV when the county side is so beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H00kedOnTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

The location is great and away from DT (5 mins up the hill). My first B&B stay was great: service was great, breakfast was authentic Costa Rican style, room was clean (with AC). Water pressure was good. No complain for the price and experience. The owner and her family treat EACH guest with extreme care and it was delightful. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotcomsurfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here with 3 other couples. There are four cabins, so we rented them all and had the place to ourselves. Two of the rooms have television, but nobody turned them on. There is air conditioning and refrigerators in the rooms. The water pressure wasn't great, but not much can be done about that. The breakfasts were wonderful. Alvaro was very pleasant and easy going. There was no pressure just helpful answers to our questions. I would only stay here when I go back. It was nice to be in a more private setting than the large resorts/hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We traveled to La Fortuna with a group of 4 couples. We were so happy to find Cerro Azul. They have four bungalows which worked out perfect for us. We occupied the entire place. The owner and his family are great. They gave us some excellent ideas on things to do their. We loved their "typical" breakfast each morning. The rooms were very clean and each has a private balcony with beautiful views. We found this to be an excellent value in comparison to other places we have stayed in the La Fortuna area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbwatts11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This is an awesome place to stay if you are looking for a quiet, comfortable place to relax and enjoy the Costa Rican forrest. The owners are extremely friendly and accommodating. There are 4 small cabin type rooms. Each has a back porch with amazing views and a hammock to relax and listen to the birds. Breakfast was amazing. I suggest the "Typicol" breakfast. We had a group of 4 couples and had the entire place which was awesome.

Room Tip: All the rooms are essentially the same but two have a TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

What a great experience.. Alvaro runs a very good family business. Cabins are beautiful, well appointed.. They feel private and the back door opens to a small sit out with a hammock and cane chairs, his horses graze there.. All very idyllic I must say .. We ended our busy days with a glass of wine, totally chilled out and relaxed after our hiking trekking rafting etc expeditions of the day. The costa rican breakfast in the mornings was so good.. Toast, eggs, juice, great coffee, rice with pinto beans, a local cheese and sweet plantains. Great start to each day. Showers in the bath could be better - the fittings are a bit old and should be changed I think to keep pace with the quality of the rest of the property. Everything else is great. It's a wonderful choice for La Fortuna on the road to waterfall.. First day we walked up the 3kms to the waterfall for a swim. Was ideal choice as a base in Arenal for us..

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poojaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,656 reviews
4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,150 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,949 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#14 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,423 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul

Address: 1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £51 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul is located 1.5 km from the beautiful town of La Fortuna on the way to the waterfall. The great natural beauty of the area will entice you to live the forest's most wonderful experience. Enjoy the comfort, peace and harmony assured by lodging with us in our cabins, surrounded by exotic gardens, birds and wildlife typical of the region. Delight yourself strolling along our trails towards Fortuna River and appreciate the perfect sight of the Arenal Volcano and Cerro Chato ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing