We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family-run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had a great time at Cerro Azul. The owner and his family were great and helped us with arranging many activities. My boyfriend LOVED the home made breakfast. The cabins were cute and clean and had a hammock on the back porch! They are also quite spacious and comfortable. It was a great value. Bring cash for extra discounts.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraBranch2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We greatly enjoyed our stay at Cerro Azul! The cabinas were perfect... Very clean and with a great back porch with a hammock and table and chairs. Very relaxing and close enough to town to walk... About 20 min walk. Alvaro and Tatiana were very helpful with our accommodations and tours. We hiked cerro Chato, went to the falls, the hot springs and hung out in town. We had a great time in la fortuna!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Godzucki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This place is great! Front porch, back porch with table and chairs and a hammock. The grounds are well kept and planted for attracting birds. You can hear the river below, and can see the volcano when it is clear. A short, cheap taxi ride to town, or a ten minute walk for one nearby resort restaurant. I didn't need a car. The tours picked me up right there, and I was away from the hustle and bustle of town.
The inexpensive breakfast of typical Costa Rican food was absolutely delicious, with birds Feeding nearby for entertainment. Very nice owners.Very well priced.

Room Tip: All the cabins are the same, with the same privacy .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poortiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Had a great time here. Convenient to a lot of attractions. They can book tours here and they are very friendly.
We stayed in cabin 5 and had a restful two nights.
Opt for the breakfast for $7 per person it's a full meal.
On Al the proprietor's recommendation we ate in town at Soda Visquez. It was reasonable and the food was good. I recommend the pineapple shake. Not a milkshake but a fruit composition that cant be beat.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank porterdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Arrived late and booked a cabin for one night. Ended up staying for 5 nights total after checking out other places. Friendly hosts. Hammock on the back porch, pretty landscaping. About a 2 min drive to town. Much quieter than staying in La Fortuna. Had the (typical) breakfast one morning. It was the best we had in CR. Every night we were surprised with a different towel animal. Our cabin had air conditioning, a TV and a fridge.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Rodddawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Excellent family run property about 5 mins drive from centre of La fortuna. It's location is perfect far enough away that you get birds and butterflies galore in the grounds but only 3 dollars in a taxi into town for meals etc. Rooms are spacious and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful
Only criticism I would have is that it would be good to have tea/coffee making facilities and maybe a small bar for drinks, juice, beer etc.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We were here in November and can recommend this hotel. The bungalow is large and the staff very friendly. I could book by e-mail and Tatiana arranged all we needed. It is located near town and the waterfall.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sepp999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,585 reviews
4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,034 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,379 reviews
3.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,880 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul

Address: 1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £60 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul is located 1.5 km from the beautiful town of La Fortuna on the way to the waterfall. The great natural beauty of the area will entice you to live the forest's most wonderful experience. Enjoy the comfort, peace and harmony assured by lodging with us in our cabins, surrounded by exotic gardens, birds and wildlife typical of the region. Delight yourself strolling along our trails towards Fortuna River and appreciate the perfect sight of the Arenal Volcano and Cerro Chato ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing