We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming, by the river”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

on a budget? i probably recommend staying in town itself, since most of the time you'll be out of the hotel doing stuff in the area. but if you want a quiet place not too far away this is a great option: perfect service, great price, and the river a short 100 meters away. take the walk!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsraelTroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Very helpful & friendly owner & family. Economical for 4 in room. Room very dark. Single bulb illuminated whole room. Bathroom dark. TV did not work. No hot water to basin, but fair in shower. Had to use headlight to look in my suitcase, shave or for ladies to apply make up. Good AC. Nice porch. Pump soap, no shampoo or hair dryer.

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank 2NCaliftravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro A, Propietario at Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2015

Thank you for your remarks about our Hotel, we are so glad that you liked our family, the porch in the room and consider the rate inexpensive, we are so sorry that we haven't meet you expectations about the room amenities, our apologizes because at that moment the TV was malfunctioning, when this happens you can inform at the reception and we fix that immediately.
We appreciate each of your suggestions and actually we have improved some aspects as the room illumination, shampoo and hair dryer in every rooms.
Your comments are very important for us and had made us improve, we appreciate that.

Best Wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Good location down road from waterfall.
Very nice cabins made from dark wood (somewhat dark inside).
Secluded back terrace with chairs and hammock.
No screens on windows so we kept them shut at night and used AC. We would have preferred to keep them open.
Breakfast was across the road at the owner's house.
The owner and remaining staff (family?) were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

These five cabins are sited facing the waterfall road just outside of town, and all have decks in back with hammocks, looking out to the Rio Fortuna and the jungle beyond. The contrast of the clean, private and comfortable cabins--all with double beds, great bathrooms and verandas--and the lawn and jungle just in back (where we saw many varieties of birds and butterflies) is very scenic and appealing, and is a great Costa Rican experience. The owners and operators are very friendly and gracious, and the delicious breakfasts (optional) are served at their home just across the road.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geecue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My boyfriend and I got in late to La Fortuna and just stayed at a hotel in the center of town for the night. We woke up wanting to switch locations.. to something that would really capture the Costa Rican experience. Hotel Cerro Azul was perfect! The little cabanas were clean, quaint and I loved relaxing on the hammock (which was located on the back porch facing out to a lovely garden). Hearing the rain and birds chirping in the morning was very peaceful - and we slept like a rock! Albero, the owner, was awesome and directed us to a local food joint downtown that was delicious. He let us and our friends keep belongings at the hotel after we checked out so that we could go on a hike to the waterfall and Cerro Chato (the trail heads about a 40-min walk or short cab ride away).. Also a cool swimming hole/rope swing a short walk away! The only bad thing was that we only were able to stay here for one night due to our minimal time left in Costa Rica! This place is ideal for anyone who doesn't need all the bells and whistles, but just a relaxing time in some beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devery T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Right outside of the village La Fortuna, on the road to the waterfalls (that costs a steep $10 Per Person entrance fee) these are very attractively built wood individual "cabinas" in a pretty private garden setting. They are situated right on the road to the waterfalls and I was initially concerned about potential noise but there was hardly, any except for the owners German Shepherd occasional barking. Rooms were quite spacious, clean, modern and most of all, at least in our new room we had a very comfortable mattress providing a good night's sleep. There is a small rear porch with chairs and a typical hammock overlooking the adjacent pastureland. Small refrigerator and sink, small TV but the room has spotty internet reception. Beautiful wood floors and walls throughout. We chose to have breakfast each morning for a relatively pricey $7USD because the Cerro Azul is not really walking distance into La Fortuna. However, it was well prepared, substantial and attractive....served on the owner's covered front patio across the street where he and his family lives overlooking the well established garden with tropical birds. The owner and daughter Tatiana were friendly, helpful and genuinely seems to care about their quests. I would seriously consider staying here if ever in La Fortuna again however the hot springs and pools at Los Lagos were amazing.....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keimanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Highly recommended. My wife and I stayed 4 nights at Hotel Cerro Azul, and it was truly phenomenal. Wooden small cottage was very clean and spacious, and it has privacy. They have the large garden with tropical trees, and you can watch a wide variety of beautiful birds and butterflies come by, which we loved. In the morning, we woke up to the sound of birds singing softly. Location-wise, easy access to downtown--about 20 minutes of nice walk. 40 minutes to La Fortuna Water Fall on foot.

Tatiana and her family were super friendly and helpful, and they made our stay very enjoyable. She gave us detail explanation about the area, kept us updated on our tour reservation, and even offered fresh fruit drinks (yummy!) while waiting for bus. Her father kindly showed us his lovely horse and home garden. There is no better place to stay in Arenal. Memorable experience.

An art gallery is close to the hotel. They had beautiful wood works at very reasonable prices. If you are looking for souvenir, buy in Arenal, not in Airport.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Masa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,530 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,344 reviews
4.0 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,882 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,311 reviews
3.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul

Address: 1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £46 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul is located 1.5 km from the beautiful town of La Fortuna on the way to the waterfall. The great natural beauty of the area will entice you to live the forest's most wonderful experience. Enjoy the comfort, peace and harmony assured by lodging with us in our cabins, surrounded by exotic gardens, birds and wildlife typical of the region. Delight yourself strolling along our trails towards Fortuna River and appreciate the perfect sight of the Arenal Volcano and Cerro Chato ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing