We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Costa Rican Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We love Rancho Cerro Azul and would highly recommend it! We stayed here for the first time two years ago and came back in July for another great experience. Don Alvaro and his family are wonderful hosts. The cabins are very nice, comfortable and clean. Each cabin has its own back balcony with table, chairs and a hammock. The quiet cabins are surrounded by lush greenery, tropical flowers, and if you're lucky you'll see a gorgeous view of Volcan Arenal on a clear day. We opted for the typical Tico breakfast each morning. It's so nice to walk across the street to the family's home for delicious coffee, fresh fruit, and gallo pinto on their front patio. The family does a great job in making you feel welcome and happy at their place. A true Pura Vida experience! We'll definitely go back to Cerro Azul for future trips back to La Fortuna.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I recently visited Arenal for the first time this summer and decided to stay at the Hotel Cerro Azul due to all of the high reviews on TripAdvisor - we were so glad that we booked our stay here! Hotel Cerro Azul has a great location - very close to town (within walking distance) but enough removed so that there is total peace & quiet in the morning/evening hours.

The cabins are adorable - ours was relatively spacious, clean, and had a great little back deck with a table/chairs and hammock - perfect for coffee in the morning or happy hour at night. The cabins overlook a sprawling property that borders up against a river - we took a dip in the river on the first day, so refreshing/invigorating! You can hear howler monkeys and lots of other creatures from your room.

Breakfast was extra (I think $7/pp), and we opted to get breakfast one morning. It was good & pretty tasty, but portions were small. We opted to go into town the remainder of our trip for this reason - we felt we got a better breakfast for a similar price at certain restaurants (we loved Rainforest Cafe). However, if you are looking for convenience and nice personal service, the breakfast at Cerro Azul is just fine!

The staff at Cerro Azul was very friendly and helpful when booking and throughout our stay. If we ever return to Arenal, we will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Traveler3381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at Rancho Cerro Azul in August 2014 and were extremely satisfied. It is located on a beautiful property and really does have a ranch-type feel. Alverro and the rest of the staff are very hospitable and friendly. The rooms and bathrooms were all clean. There is an optional breakfast (American or typical Costa Rican style), which if you choose to take it, is very delicious.

Alverro is also very helpful in helping to find tours/guides for things to do in the Arenal area. I came away fully impressed and recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in beautiful Arenal.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed there two nights. It was close to town with a great view of Arenal. My kids liked swimming in the river behind the cabins. The breakfast was very good although not cheap. I especially liked sitting in the hammock reading a book and watch the hummingbirds come and go from the gardens out back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

WOW. We were SOOOOOooooo relieved to arrive at our cabin here after two days of crazy travel . Our "mini house" was pristinely clean, the owners were incredibly nice, and breakfast was superb. So peaceful. We were secretly happy that it rained all afternoon so we could relax in bed and in our hammock listening to the raindrops.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zoebrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our family spent two nights at the Hotel Cerro Azul and enjoyed our stay overall. The staff were very friendly and the cabanas were nicely maintained and comfortable (if not huge). The back porches were especially nice for relaxing with a drink and a book. As it was very humid, we were glad to have air conditioning. The breakfast was definitely worth the $7 - good quality and delicious - especially considering that restaurants in La Fortuna are pretty expensive, overall. Actually, based on my research before leaving, a lot of the lodging in La Fortuna is fairly pricey (for a family of five) which made Hotel Cerro Azul a very good value indeed.

Lastly, the young woman with whom we interacted most at Hotel Cerro Azul had excellent English, and we were impressed that she had learned her English from the local high school and never lived in an English-speaking country - kudos to Costa Rican public schools!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank K_Alice_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This place is remarkable. An oasis in its own right. We spent three weeks in Costa Rica and this was the best place we stayed. We walked to and from town every day, sometimes twice. The staff is small, professional, and very helpful in suggesting activities for anyone who wants an honest, local opinion. We stayed 13 out of our 21 days in C.R. and did not want to leave this gem!

Room Tip: Ask for the cabin furthest north.. #8. From the deck there is a great view of Volcan Arenal.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,530 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,344 reviews
4.0 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,882 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,311 reviews
3.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul

Address: 1 km sur y 600 m oeste de la iglesia Catolica de La Fortuna, sobre la entrada principal de La Catarata. | 600 meters west from the road entrance to La Fortuna Waterfall, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £46 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul is located 1.5 km from the beautiful town of La Fortuna on the way to the waterfall. The great natural beauty of the area will entice you to live the forest's most wonderful experience. Enjoy the comfort, peace and harmony assured by lodging with us in our cabins, surrounded by exotic gardens, birds and wildlife typical of the region. Delight yourself strolling along our trails towards Fortuna River and appreciate the perfect sight of the Arenal Volcano and Cerro Chato ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing