We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house for a family vacation”
Emerald Estate: aptly named due to the lush greens throughout this gem property.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Emerald Estate: aptly named due to the lush greens throughout this gem property.
The double doors open to the large living room/dining room and kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Emerald Estate: aptly named due to the lush greens throughout this gem property.
The double doors open to the large living room/dining room and kitchen.
Breakfast bar with overhead wine glass rack. Fully equipped kitchen.
First bedroom with king bed, satellite tv and view of pool area.
Shared bathroom with double sinks, stand alone shower, jetted tub and bidet.
Bedroom 2 with 2 single beds. An extra mattress is available for larger groups.
Newly constructed 3rd semi-private bedroom: queen bed with single top bunk.
Large open-concept great room. Newly constructed 3rd bedroom within living room.
Beautiful wood dining table with built-in Lazy Susan.
Bedroom 4 with 2 single beds. Each bedroom has an individual a/c unit.
Master bedroom with king size bed, satellite tv and ensuite bathroom.
Master ensuite bathroom.
Patio with picnic tables, seating area, and entrance to cabin to the left.
Separate cabin; queen bed with single bunk, satellite tv and kitchenette.
Cabin satellite tv and kitchenette. Door leads to ensuite bathroom.
Cabin bathroom with separate entrance to bbq area.
Enjoy sitting in the shade, playing badminton, swinging in a hammock or lounging around.
Coconuts. Just ask us to cut one down and taste a 'pipa' as the locals call it.
Pineapple plants.
Relax by the pool in a lounge chair or hammock area on the other side.
Sip on a glass of juice while lounging under the mango tree.
Beautiful hibiscus flower.
Pink lady flowers. Amazing colours!
Red ginger flower hedge lining the property.
Book your stay today at this beautiful 6 bedroom luxury house with large pool :)
Evening sky with trees silhouetted above the pool. Great photo opportunities at the Emerald Estate.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pangaea4m...
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Great house for a family vacation ”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

" This home was the perfect place to enjoy our family vacation. Just waking up to the beautiful flowers, wildlife and trees was great. In addition to that we had more activities to do than time to do them all. Nohelia, the customer service rep was extremely helpful and attentive. She had an answer and solution to every question or challenge we had. It was an awesome week and we made great memories at Arenal Emerald Estate."

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2018
Thanks for sharing your great experiences at the Emerald Estate. The property is located only 6 km outside of town so you have the feeling of being in the rain forest with the trees and birds but also close to the excursions. La Fortuna is the adventure capital of the country so there are plenty of adrenaline inducing activities. At the same time, there are a number of hikes and nature tours. We can help arrange whichever type of activity you like and get you a discount too! We hope you are able to return to La Fortuna to make more wonderful memories :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EJHarney
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful, Relaxing Home with Gracious Hosts”
Reviewed 3 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Our two families, 9 people, enjoyed our stay at Arenal Emerald Estate. Very comfortable, well-appointed, great common space, and terrific outdoor. Location is 5 minutes from town and activities all an easy drive. Bill, Laurie, and Nohelia were gracious hosts. Nohelia put together a full-set of activities from ziplining to river rafting, as well as sourced a chef to hire to prepare breakfast and dinner which enabled us all to simply relax

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazey27
ny
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice large house, beautiful grounds, but beware the owner ....”
Reviewed 25 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The house is large, with AC in each bedroom, the lighting is dim - even with all the lights on - this is due to the large great room/kitchen which is all wood. The grounds, pool, and landscaping are extraordinary. The connections with the tour groups were terrific, I agree with their recommendations. Also, please book the van from the airport. It is about a 3.5 hour ride from Liberia around the windy lake and well worth it to find the house which is in a remote location about 5 minutes from downtown La Fortuna. The gated entry and private large lot make you feel safe. Unfortunately, we inadvertently left the back sliding door unlocked one day and William had a fit. He was pretty angry that we left out his lounge chairs (who puts them away every day?)our shoes and towels to dry (there's no dryer or any place to hang damp things) He was very afraid someone would come and steal his one TV and his croquet set - maybe it's not a safe area? - also no extra garbage bags, or soap. We did have a chef (extra cost) who was great. I feel William also nickel and dimed you, as noted when you ask for anything extra. The video of the non- refundable deposit should tip you off - other rentals don't have that. I can't recommend this house because of the owner, as I'm sure he will respond to all my negative criticism. If you look at the other reviews you'll see how he responds to the negativity. Too bad tho, the house really is ok.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2018
We'd like to let the reader know that TripAdvisor/Flipkey asked if we would like to have this review deleted due to the personal attacks against William. We've decided to leave it up, even if it means a drop in the search rankings due to a 3-star review as opposed to our usual 5-star ones.

There are three major issues which we feel compelled to address in response to this reviewer's post.
1. The poster is correct about how hard we work to provide our guests with a “dream” property worth much more than we charge for it as well as how much time and effort we give to our guests free of charge helping them to book activities and tours at a discount and otherwise delivering Customer/Client Service normally found at high-end hotels as opposed to at a rental. With more than 15,000 clients per year we receive volume discounts from all of the local businesses/attractions of between 20-30% when we book things for guests. We give half of those discounts to our guests, getting them better service at lower prices than they'd be able to get on their own.
2. Security: When I met with this group about leaving the estate wide open, it became instantly obvious that the reviewer had unrealistic expectations about what renting a self-contained estate in a foreign country involves. She was CLEARLY used to the consequence-free mentality at “big-box” resorts that is only possible because they surround guests 24/7 with a team of staff in a fake environment that is walled off from the local community. (We DO have another, more expensive estate with full-time on-site staff which this reviewer rejected in favour of the Emerald Estate's lower price.) That lais'afair attitude simply doesn't work when renting a vacation home. Even here in the safest country in the world, common sense is still required. This group didn't just inadvertently leave a back door unlatched; they left the estate wide open, (including very large windows in three of the bedrooms,) and several thousand dollars of our property outside. My only comment regarding TV's was that it would have been possible for anyone to make off with half a dozen SHD smart-TV's in a few seconds, each one of which is worth much more than their $500 security deposit, which was returned in its entirety. (The reviewer's comment about there being only one TV is an easily disproved falsehood, please view the Arenal Emerald Estate video on you - tube for proof of multiple Satellite Smart TV's throughout the property.) When we confronted them and gave them the choice between either locking up or paying a much higher security deposit this poster first claimed that I was lying about the windows etc, then that my partner failed to review security with them during checkin and then ultimately attacked me for “expecting us to be your security guards when we're your paying guests!”

3. Which leads us to this reviewer's personal attacks against William. We are by far the largest, most professional and most successful vacation rental company in the area with more than 15,000 guests per year and we did not achieve this in just a few short years by abusing our guests. But we don't let poorly behaved guests abuse us either. With so many clients we do meet all types and we do occasionally suffer blackmail in the form of threats of bad reviews: Our response is always the same to these people, we tell them to write whatever they'd like. In fact we are very happy that she posted this review for one very simple reason: We would like to encourage anyone who sees her comments as reasonable or acceptable in any way to look for accommodations elsewhere, as they will not be a good fit for the Emerald Estate, nor for any of our many other properties.

A few quick, minor factual corrections with regard to this poster's comments: We don't “nickel and dime” guests. Unlike many other rental companies we don't over-charge our clients by “bundling” services (like chefs or daily cleaning and linen changes,) into our rental prices. Instead we rent all of our properties at the lowest prices possible and then let our guests choose extra services based upon their own personal preferences. There are obviously plenty of extra garbage bags, soap and other consumables. ;-) 2. We are the only vacation rental company in the entire area which provides our guests with complimentary full-time Concierge/Client Service. 3. If you stay with us, then you are going to have a very, VERY good time!! We hope to host you soon, Pura Vida! :-D
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois L
Rockville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You are in great hands with Casa de costa rica!”
Reviewed 6 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

I cannot say enough good things about William at Casa de Costa Rica and the customer service he provided. I considered several properties in the la Fortuna area, but found William to be the most responsive of anyone. He helped me plan all the excursions and arranged the transportation to and from the airport. Every personal guide that William arranged was top notch. The catered dinner was efficiently prepared on our arrival day, and delicious. Every excursion that we went on was with a high quality person or company that we were extremely pleased with. William also handled a last minute emergency that we experienced - my daughter's flight was canceled due to snow and we had to re book her flight which led to her arrival 8 hours after our arrival. William checks his email all hours of the day and night. Within minutes of sending my panicked email on our travel day at 6 am, William had responded that he set up this extra transportation. Knowing this allowed me to travel without the stress of worrying how my daughter's travels.
The house itself was very nice, comfortable for the 7 of us and the outside was great with the pool and the beautiful landscaping. The air conditioners work well and do a great job cooling. It's too bad the weather for our trip was cloudy and rainy; we spent more time indoors when not out exploring the surrounding areas. We rented a car while at the house and found it very easy to get to and from our excursions and town for dinners as well as stops at the local supermarkets. I think having a car is key. I do recommend having a driver to and from the airport.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda E
1 review
“Perfect place to reunite with family and enjoy La Fortuna.”
Reviewed 17 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The property is beautiful with fruit trees on sight and a well-maintained pool. The house was very clean, well-equipped and comfortable.
Even better than the beautiful venue and amenities, were the support staff. Laura and William were very accommodating and gracious. We had a late flight that required a late check-in time and they were so accommodating. Carlos and Nohelia were at our beck and call for any other needs. They went out of their way to help us make the most of our stay. Carlos personally helped with booking activities in the area, recommending local food and fun, and was so great with our kids. We consider him a dear friend!
Thanks again for everything! We can't wait for another stay here!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maia F
2 reviews
“Paradise”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This property management went above and beyond just providing a place to stay.
We had car problems and arrived late on check in day and they waited for us with refreshing drinks and a warm welcome. We had and incredible stay and memorable experience in La Fortuna.

The grounds are well kept, the pool is fabulous, the property is spectacular and makes you feel like you are in your own piece of paradise. The home fit everyone comfortably and has a large kitchen for everyone to cook and gather.

The house is located near many top attractions such as Tabacon hot springs resort, also the cold springs and waterfall. Costa Rica is absolutely beautiful and we can't wait to return.

I would definitely recommend this house to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your kind compliments, Maia! :-) It was a pleasure to host you and your group. We're so glad that you enjoyed the property and estate and its grounds. Did you get to know the three sloths on the property? It used to be two, but "Jack" had a baby, so we've renamed her "Jackie" ha ha! :-D

Thank you so much for staying with us, we hope to host you again soon. Pura Vida! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familypat...
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish we stayed with Casa de Costa Rica!”
Reviewed 28 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We actually didn't stay at any of the Casa de Costa Rica properties, but in retrospect, wish we had. William and Laura were so helpful that they gave us great information and helped us book some of our activities anyway.

What I found most difficult about travelling in Costa Rica was getting good information on what was good value and every time we didn't take William and Laura's advice, we wished we had - starting with staying with them! La Fortuna is ideally located to access a wide range of activities and since the roads are VERY winding, it takes a long time to drive a short distance.

Also, I really appreciated that in addition to the usual tourist attractions (that are great!) they also give good advice on how to helpfully visit a local orphanage, and arranged a tour of a nearby indigenous reserve of the Maleku for us.

I highly recommend any of the Casa de Costa Rica properties for those visiting the beautiful Arenal area.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing