We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality for a decent price”

Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good quality for a decent price”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed a really comfy and clean room. The shower was just perfect! and for a correct price. The only thing is that the reception is not opened all the time... so you have to be lucky to be able to ask something special to the owner.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    6
    1
    8
See reviews for
2
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Stayed two nights at end Oct here. Room was clean, with TV, AC, free Wifi, private bathroom and reasonably priced. Got a room for just paying a bit more of a dorm bed.

Some tour price was really competitive when compare with others agencies in downtown.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKGHola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Can't comment on their rooms, but I had lunch there, as the restaurant was situated right opposite from where I stayed. It was possibly the worst Chinese food I've ever had anywhere (the best thing I could say about it is that it took them about three minutes to "prepare" it). When in addition to what was already way overpriced they applied a 10 % service charge, I couldn't help but to tell the lady who had apparently prepared it that it hadn't been to my liking. She shrugged it off - as long as I paid she clearly didn't give a sh** whether a customer was satisfied or not. This place is a tourist trap.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eurotrash77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We chose this place for one night (no reservations, just walked in off the street) because we got into La Fortuna late and needed a place to stay quickly. We were traveling with our 19-month-old daughter and needed to get her to bed after a long day. The staff were friendly, and the price was reasonable. However, the room seemed a bit stale and old, and the bedding looked like it needed replacing. While the beds were comfortable, the room was sparse on features (like a chair), and the window coverings needed updating. All in all, it served our purposes as a place to crash for the night, but if you are going to base yourself in La Fortuna for a while, I wouldn't stay here for long.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globeteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2010

This place was terrible. The people that own it are should not be in the hotel or service industry. We needed to have our bags held for the morning until our bus came for us to leave and they wanted to charge us the rpice of the room for the day! Then the rooms smelt, the walls were paper thin so sleeping was not an option and there were spider webs and spiders in all corners. Not very friendly or clean.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire_n_chris_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Clean room, minimal decoration, but the price was really good, we were not going to stay in our room most of the time, there are so much to see and do, so that was fine for us. not far from town.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LWNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2008

We had had a horrible day prior to arriving at Pura Vida, but luckily it turned around then. Our bag had been stolen on the bus from San Jose to La Fortuna (NEVER leave your bag in the overhead shelf on a bus), and when we got to town, we had to search for the police station to submit a report. The police directed us to a hotel across town that was fully booked, and they directed us to the hostel next door which was also booked. Luckily they directed us to Pura Vida. It was exactly what we needed. We paid $40 for a nice room with a huge shower with hot water. There was also cable TV. We had dinner here twice, and both times were excellent. The staff was very friendly and helpful, even let us make phone calls about our stolen bag. The hotel is a 5-minute walk from "downtown" La Fortuna (I use the term loosely) so it was a bit quieter here, though there are still some noisy trucks and dirt bikes that speed by. But overall a great place to stay.

  • Liked — big, clean room with big shower
  • Disliked — the noise from the road
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OttawaClaireBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#29 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
#43 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#30 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Vista Arenal
Hotel Villas Vista Arenal
#48 of 68 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant
Address: | 300 Meters West of the Park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 57 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Number of rooms: 124
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing