We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel during your Costa Rica Adventuring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 January 2012

If you are in the La Fortuna area and looking for a great place to call home in between all your adventuring, I recommend staying at Hotel Arenal Rabfer! It's within a short walk to restaurants, shops and vendors. It's a family owned hotel with great home cooking every morning for breakfast...YUM! They are from the area, can connect you with some wonderful adventures, very accommodating and recommend wonderful local flavors for dinner (NeeNee's was our favorite). The rooms are sparse but extremely clean. They take great pride in their business and it really shows.
They welcome feedback during your visit in order to make your stay memorable.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on balcony overlooking the pool are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2011

A sewwt family hotel with very helpfull staff. Nice rooms and a very personal touch. Located very close to the center of Arenal

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CillyStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We decided go to Costa Rica very spontaneously during the peak season- late December 2010. I found arenal rabfer from wiki travel and called them using Skype... they were extremely nice and helpful over the phone and gave us a reservation without a credit card. When we arrived they gave us a discount for paying with cash (only 100$!! For 4 people). The room was clean and had a double and two single beds. Very modern. The swimming pool is beautiful, and breakfast was free. The staff is a friendly couple and their three sons- who speak English very well. The service was excellent, and I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarak2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We loved our stay at the Rabfer.

A very nice family runs the hotel.

The rooms are spotless. The hotel feels brand new. And it's in a great location, right near the center of town.

Also, the pool is heated, which our kids loved!

We would definitely stay there again.

Also, the breakfasts are good. But they aren't large. I could have eaten more.

We think it's a wonderful place to stay in La Fortuna.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainHoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2010

This is a great family run hotel and the staff would do anything for you. They can book many tours for you including the jeep-boat-jeep (which isn't actually a jeep but a mini bus!!) transfer to Monteverde.
It's in a good location just off the main square and near to plenty of places to eat, souvenir shops and a bank.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, perhaps a little on the small side and there was great shower in the bathroom with hot water (Not always the case in Costa Rica!!!)
The pool looked really nice but unfortunately we didn't get to try it as it was pouring with rain for most of our 3 night stay!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomatovine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

We were referred to this place by another hotel. Reservations were easy online (had to provide credit card). The family running this hotel was very hospitable. Stayed 2 nights in a standard room with a/c. The room itself was very basic, just a bed (relatively comfortable with lumpy pillows), a night stand and a TV. No closet or storage space. Room and washrooms were clean.
Located about a 5 minute walk away from centre of La Fortuna, and within tour group pick-up range. Hot breakfast (eggs and pancakes) and coffee were included. Looked like there was wi-fi and a pool.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ludavinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We were looking for a low price place to stay for a couple of days. Someone referred us to Hotel Rabfer which is a family run operation. The family has 3 sons, whose laundry was drying on the railings when we arrived. This is not the Ritz, but is safe, spotlessly clean and quiet. Our room on the 2nd floor had a small balcony overlooking a residential neighborhood. The pool was clean and inviting. A nice traditional breakfast was included, served by the Senora.

It's 2 blocks to the town plaza, which is surrounded by a number of eateries.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeilfromDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#28 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
292 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
834 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#34 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#40 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
117 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#16 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Rabfer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Rabfer Hotel

Address: 468 Street | Between Avenues 333 and 335, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £45 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arenal Rabfer Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Arenal Rabfer born as a family project, hence its name derived from the initials of the names of the children: Randy, Brayan, Felipe and Roberto (Rabfer) _ In a familiar environment and in harmony with nature. owners and partners hope to give special treatment making it feel like casa._ We have a great location, a few meters can find banks, pharmacies, supermarkets, souvenir shops, restaurants and gas stations between otros._ invite you to visit us and who knows scenic beauty and recreation offered by the majestic La Fortuna and Arenal Volcano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenal Rabfer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Rabfer Hotel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing