We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I were there again right now” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wish I were there again right now”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Just finished 5 days at the Royal Corin, and it was absolutely wonderful. The hot spring pools were amazing. Breakfast was delicious. Happy hour at the Lava Bar was always welcoming after adventuring all day. Not to mention the incredible views of Volcan Arenal. Staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. Plus you can smoke on the balcony of your room. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the volcano, so you cannot go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dx10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,566
    424
    85
    26
    25
See reviews for
549
1,141
38
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

I actually laughed when I got an email from Royal Corin asking to write a review. I guess they are begging for some bad publicity.

A week before we arrived we received an email explaining that there would be some construction in the parking lot going on but we would be placed on the opposite side of the hotel to avoid any noise.

When we arrived at the hotel we were told the same thing. Then while walking to our room our bellhop sprinted up the stairs after us with another set of room keys saying this room will be better.

We were placed on the top floor over the construction, all day banging, yelling, trucks and bulldozers driving in and out, dumping rocks, backing up and beeping.

Even on the other side of the hotel you could hear the noise.

And when you are having breakfast and lunch in the dining room, the trucks and bulldozers seem to be on an endless loop through the driveway which lays adjacent to the dining area. Loud trucks and machine. Very relaxing.

Thumbs down!

also there's a dog that barks all night, non-stop in the farm next door. Sweet dreams.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy C, Front Office Manager at The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Cfoer:

We are really sorry for the inconveniences’ during your stay at the hotel. We tried to minimize as much we can the discomfort for the maintenance work in the parking lot. All the works were scheduled from 8 am to 4 pm to avoid the noise. The work took 10 day and now is already done. For sure now everyone that come to rest and relax will be not disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

This is an excellent hotel to stay in the Arenal area. The rooms were clean and modern. The beds had wonderful linens and comfortable mattresses. The hotel has very nice hot springs and and a swim up bar.

We travelled with several children, and they really enjoyed the hot springs! Jorge, the maintenance man, walked the children around the pool to show them the resident iguanas and their babies. That was so sweet of him. Thank you!

The complimentary breakfast was delicious and offered something for everyone.

The staff was very nice and communicated well. We appreciated them setting up all of our tours. We emailed them ahead of our arrival and the hotel responded quickly. They also set up our transportation from the airport.

We went on some amazing tours with the kids, We went on the float ride which was fun, but simple. We saw some monkeys, a cayman, lots of lizards and iguanas. We also went to Ecocentro Danaus, the Sky Walk (Hanging Bridges, Sky Tram, and Sky Trek. We did all the "Sky" tours on the same day. I would recommend everything, especially the Sky Trek (zip ling)

The only complaint was that we had requested adjoining rooms in our reservation and also during our email conversations, but the hotel does not have adjoining rooms. We didn't learn of this until we arrived. Consequently, my husband and I had to sleep unexpectedly in separate rooms with children.

Otherwise it was an excellent place to stay. Great value and excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PopcornFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We had a very nice stay. Very nice staff. Good breakfast. Very nice clean rooms with great showers. Unfortunately there was construction going on. Enjoyed Jorge the Gardner and meeting Valentina the iguana

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CRtraveler1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Took my daughter to Arenal for her high school graduation trip. Royal Corin was the perfect choice for us. We were able to arrange transportation from the airport to the hotel. Our driver was waiting for us at the airport, which was a great relief. The trip is long (about 3 hours) but the van was comfortable and cool in the humidity. We stopped at a great mid point souvenir/ coffee shop and I had the BEST cup of coffee which perked me up after the long flights and trip to hotel.
The hotel is beautiful and clean. The lobby very inviting (as was the welcome punch). Our room with balcony faced the volcano and despite being there during "low season", we had great weather during the day and had a great view of the volcano each morning. Breakfast is included and more than enough to get you going. We visited the Lava Bar (top level) several evenings for 'happy hour' and enjoyed the light fare and view. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. I loved the fact that the hotel had a driver "Danny" who took us back and forth to La Fortuna and also to a local ecological reserve. He gave us great suggestions for restaurants and I would recommend Cafe Rainforest, Nene's, Pizzaria Vagamundo.
Everyone was friendly, happy and helpful, which says a lot re: the management. My only complaint, which was not foreseen, was some type of repair being done the day I scheduled a spa treatment in the beautiful spa. It had to be postponed and also moved to a different location, not as appealing as the actual spa. The receptionist did more than her part in making my experience as good as it could be.
We booked all of our excursions through the hotel and after "shopping around" town I decided it was worth it, plus their recommendations were the safest possible. My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claudia3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cos Cob
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

I really love this hotel. The rooms are spacious, updated, love the bathroom and the views. All the employees here were very pleasant. We went to Ecoglide Zipline tour. Loved it. It less than a mile away. It's better than taking a four hr drive to the place and another four hr drive back to a hotel. You would be spending a lot of time on the road. But Hotel Royal Corin made it an easy excursion day for us. After we were done w/ the Zipline which took about 2hours, we went back to the hotel to relax then went back out to enjoy the locals food. Food was amazing. When you're in another country, always try the locals food it's better than hotel food.

***Note: Travelers please take note of this.. Please make sure you tip these hardworking people, especially the cleaning ladies. These people work very hard, leaving a few dollars each day isn't going to hurt your pocket. I'm sure they'll appreciate it. I always leave tip wherever I go.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Buffy1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy C, Front Office Manager at The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
We are glad to hear that you had a good time during your visit in Royal Corin. Thank you for sharing your experience with another clients.

Best Regards,


Roy Cerdas
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

I've been to many other hotels in Costa Rica and I must say that my stay was pleasant and relaxing with no problems. The rooms are excellent with views of the volcano and the sound of the waterfall when the balcony door is open. The room was also bug and ant free and the bed was clean and very comfortable. The only drawback was the 3 and a half hour ride from the airport in Liberia but it is definitely worth the ride. The staff was also excellent and very friendly. There was only one restaurant but the town is only five minuets away and there are plenty of local restaurants in the area. Overall if I go back to Costa Rica I would satay at the Royal Corin again. If your looking for a party this is not the place. It's a place to relax wind down and enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bkt372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,698 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,147 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Property: The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Address: | 4.2 km towards the Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing