We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience in Arenal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
hozkhar
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great experience in Arenal”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Me and my wife and 2 daughters spent a weekend in this hotel and were really ihappy with the place.
The view of the volcano is amazing, the service is good and the hotel is very nice.
In our room we requested for 2 cribs for our girls and they even gave us a crib and a single bed for my oldest daughter for free.

The breakfast was included in our fare and the variety of the food was really good. We tried the " Emperor restaurant" and finished very pleased with the food, the service and the price.

The pool area is nice and have many options for kids and adults.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hozkhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy C, Front Office Manager at The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear hozkhar:

Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased that your visit was enjoyable and you enjoyed all the amenities of our hotel. In behalf of all the staff at Royal Corin look forward to visiting in the near future.

Roy Cerdas
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,634
    434
    88
    26
    25
See reviews for
581
1,176
39
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

After wanting to visit Costa Rica for 10 years, I finally made it this September. I arrived at Royal Corin in the pouring rain, and it was wonderful to find myself in such a luxurious place. I ended up with a wonderful room, the views of the volcano and hot springs were amazing. Herman at the front desk took care of all my needs, and personally made my stay a roaring success. He quickly and efficiently arranged all the tours I wanted, without which I might have missed the experiences I went there for. What a pleasure it was to have the hot spring pools right there to dip in any spare moments between tours, without having to travel outside the hotel to enjoy them. I had not planned on getting a massage in the spa, but so glad I did. I get massages all over the world, and never know what to expect - they can range from great to horrible. I was lucky enough to have Carolina, who gave me the best massage I'd had in years! When I arrived I was in a lot of pain and walking slowly - when I left I was free of pain and walking well. She was awesome! The restaurant and bar staff seemed to be on Tico time, but that was minor. I will definitely stay at Royal Corin on all my following pleasure trips to CR!

Room Tip: I didn't have time to try the fitness center so couldn't rate it. All rooms have a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JANET N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy C, Front Office Manager at The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Janet N:

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our comfortable facilities as well as service and constant concern of our staff for your comfort. Especially, thank you for having chosen our hotel as a travel destination and we hope that on your next visit to the area, have your visit again to offer you our services.

Roy Cerdas
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The second day of our stay we went to the Spa to get a massage. At the end of the massage my mother got trapped in the bathroom because the door knob got broken. The hotel staff was very nice and they seemed truly worried about the situation. One hour later (my mother was still trapped in the unventilated, small and hot bathroom) the manager came and reprimanded one employee that was trying to help because he was damaging the broken door knob!! What is more important, at trapped guest or a door knob?

After a long wait, and my mother desperate inside, one employee had to climb to the roof, get inside the small bathroom and disarm the door from the inside. As soon as my mother was freed we were anxious to get out of that place. At our check out the manager was very rude to us and charged us the room and massage. At this time, a week later, we have not gotten any refund or apology.

Also, the air conditioner at my parent's room did not work since the first day. We reported it and someone came to fix it without success. Again, we did not get a discount, room change or apology for this.

Apart from that, the staff (except for the manager off course) was very kind and friendly.

I stayed at this hotel on September 14th, 2013 with my family. Reservation #19751, we got 3 rooms for 7 adults.

I definitively don’t recommend this place. Please don’t stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gaby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy C, Front Office Manager at The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Due the situation the Manager on Duty, took the solution that was the response that he consider to be most effective and efficient, unfortunately any mechanism is exposed to fail or be damaged. Referring to do not make any charge per stay and service, it was a decision that is not taken on the basis of the situation, however was granted a late checkout of the rooms. We regret that this has caused a great displeasure and we offer you our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I stayed there for nine nights. The rooms were very nice and clean. The staff was great, they were very helpful in finding activities for me to do and giving directions to attractions in the area. The issue was the bartender at the pool bar was very slow and more interested in his phone. The location is very good, a lot of things to do nearby and the views of the volcano are second to none. The restaurant was very good and the free breakfast was also very nice. Overall a great hotel and I definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed at the Royal Corin for 2 nights on our 7 night visit to Costa Rica.

The Good: the rooms are very nice, the usual amount of spaciousness, a very nice shower with 3 different settings (an overhead rain shower, a removable shower head and multi spray shower coming out of 6 small jets/sprays from the wall (a word of caution, our shower leeked a bit under the door). We were greeted with a very refreshing cocktail at check in. They have excellent free wifi. The heated by hot springs pools were very nice after a day of exploring. Every night a knock on the door around 5:30 would bring a pleasant small sweet delight. Not only was our room made everyday but they actually change the sheets every day! Complimentary bfast was good. Happy hour from 6-8, 2 for 1 drinks, any drinks you like. Dinner in the restaurant was good (I would say on par with dinner that we had at Don Rufinos). Amazing views of the Arenal Volcano. Extremely nice staff ( the grounds keeper who speaks zero English pointed out one of the many iguanas on the property "Evita". When Evita would not stop for pictures he went inside and came back with a banana to feed her so she would stay put for photos, very special).

Cons: our room was smelly. Very smelly. It could be because the air was turned off prior to our arrival due to low season but it stunk. We aired out the room and turned on the air but after 2 days it still slightly smells. I recommend bringing fabreeze or Lysol or a candle. It's really unfortunate that it was so smelly.

In our 2 days we journeyed to La Fortuna waterfall, did the sky trek zip line, ate at the hotel restaurant, ate at Don Rufino (we tried to have dinner at Benedictus because of the great reviews but they're closed until November 1st, boo.

I will write a review of Don Rufino separately but in a nutshell it was good, not great, also not too too pricey.

Also the zip line was awesome! We also signed up for the sky walk but we cancelled due to extremely heavy rain.

The fortuna waterfall is amazing! A rough walk down about 1/3 of a mile worth of steps leads to a gorgeous waterfall and a nice cool pool for swimming ( not directly under the falls it's actually very dangerous). The walk up is a doozy too. $10 for entry to the falls, a must see if your legs can make the trek.

We loved la fortuna, it was an amazing part of our vacation. We also spent time in Playa Hermosa and Manuel Antonio National Park, I'll review these places separately.

A fantastic vacation


  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dillsmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy C, Front Office Manager at The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thanks for your comment, we are pleased to know that your stay was generally pleasant. Usually at this time of the year for being rainy season humidity increases and is a bit difficult to control it. We will try to improve this aspect for future customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Hotel and view are lovely- pools lovely although some pool areas are in disrepair. Staff very friendly except at pool side bar compared to remaining staff. Rooms great clean!- small issues with maintenance for lighting in shower stall and bathroom. Overall wonderful

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nursealert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Clean, well appointed Luxury Hotel. Amenities, particularly the hot-springs, services and personnel were very good and responsive. Rooms are very good and clean. Security and restaurant food was good and service was very good. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. Would not hesitate to recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor was very good, connectivity was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,790 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Property: The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Address: | 4.2 km towards the Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing