We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazinggggggg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This was the best hotel experience we had in LA fortuna de San carlos. The rooms were beautiful super clean super comfy. The staff was super nice. The thermal pools are the best. Our view from our balcony was the best since we had the Arenal volcano right across the street. Another plus was that the town and all the restaurants were no more than 2 minutes ride. Perfect location.... Amazing!!!!

Room Tip: Standard is perfect because every room has a volcano room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giselle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

968 - 974 of 2,334 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is a very nice hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos. I stayed here in April 2013 and we got nice service and ok food. If you come to La Fortuna de San Carlos.

Tips:
1) If you're coming from San Jose-it's a 31/2 hour drive.
2) The pools are heated by the volcano, so the biggest one is 104 F. It has many small and nice hot springs, they range from 104 F to 115 F( the hottest whirlpool), and the mountain sauna is nice but it is dark.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have nice views, look out to the hotel pool and hot springs and the Arenal Volcan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lord H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is not a 'rustic' or 'travelers' hotel, this is the real deal for luxury accommodations, great staff, tasty food, multiple hot springs pools AND one of the best spas I have ever had the privilege of visiting! You will not be disappointed and I will be returning!

Room Tip: They run the best specials in off season on their website that include suites and spa packages- splu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My wife and I came to Costa Rica on our honeymoon because of it's legendary reputation for natural beauty, wildlife, and friendly people. Our first two days we spent in a luxurious, but more rustic environment at a resort on the other side of the volcano. At that location the jungle was accessible directly outside the patio, compete with natural rock showers, and one morning a hummingbird even flew through our room, and the people were in a relaxed environment that they were familiar with and simply acted themselves.

Leaving that environment to come to Royal Corin was, for us, a bit of a disappointment because of our personal expectations for this Costa Rican trip.

The Royal Corin is arguably the best hotel I've ever stayed in anywhere in the world. It's luxurious, it has one of the most spectacular pool and spa areas you will find anywhere, somehow connected to the actual hot springs, though I couldn't figure out how. The whole show runs like clockwork with the staff fine tuned to care for every need. Little dessert plates are left in your room every night which is a nice thoughtful touch. Every angle of the hotel is crafted in immaculate detail, from the koi ponds, and the fountains, everything is LED lighting, and every angle is contemporary and cosmopolitan, wrapped in marble and stainless steel, with fine fixtures and furnishings. Everything for the most part is tweaked and polished. The grounds are impeccably manicured, The massages at the spa were fantastic. The complimentary breakfasts thoughtfully prepared and offered with some more exotic varieties of fruit than typically found at Costa Rican breakfasts. Another viewer wrote that "The hotel checks all the boxes". Yet another "something is missing and I can't put my finger on it."

I'm wondering if I've found out what that is after two days here? I think this place has everything you could possibly dream up in a hotel with every luxury cared for. It has everything, everything except for Costa Rica....

It feels antiseptic. It feels as if the jungle and the wildlife and the smiles of the people have been wiped away with an alcohol pad. The staff seems to be content to do their jobs, but either don't feel like interacting, or have been instructed to lay low until needed or interact as little as possible. The place is perfectly at home, in New York, Miami, or Europe. I would stay here again in fact if my primary goal in coming to CR wasn't to interact with the people, experience nature and wildlife, and get to know Costa Rican people, talk about them and their families. That's why I'm here. I only realized why I was here too late.

If you're not interested in any of that, this could be your place. If you're looking to be pampered and sit in the lap of luxury. I can do that at a thousand places in the US. I came here for something different. Know why you coming to CR before you book the room, if you're looking for something different.

All in all the stay was excellent. Everything top notch. This hotel can compete with any of the most luxurious hotels on any continent. I actually don't have any real complaints and we had a great stay.

The shower heads seemed to be calcified and clogged a bit, and the fancy showers (side jets too!) need a little attention. The Baldi club across the street rocks the house every night and you can hear the music at night from your room. Friday night there was a big party happening up on the fifth floor which was complete with salsa dancing and loud screams of people that went on till 11pm and made it hard to sleep. Management allowed it to run till 11. That was a bit inconsiderate of other guests. (Though we would have just joined in had we not been so tired from the days activities)

The bottom line: If you're looking for European luxury these folks have it down. If you're looking to be embedded in wildlife, nature and culture, book somewhere else.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ShanenNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy C, Front Office Manager at The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Visitor:

Thank you for your comments and appreciation of our facilities and services. Costa Rica is an exceptional country with varied destinations for all tastes and possibilities. La Fortuna de San Carlos, is one of the main attractions not only for the Arenal Volcano but for all the other attractions available in the area. As you mentioned our hotel is a different place in a rustic environment however was built with the comfort of the people who wanted to be in a rural area with all the conveniences of the city, it is important to take into account all the available options of lodging because here we have a variety for all tastes. Once again, thank you for your visit and we regret that "our product" was not within the "countryside" that you were looking for.

Roy Cerdas
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is a very nice hotel. We stayed 4 nights in a large room with a jacuzzi. The bed was comfortable. Pools and setting were great, a superior view of the volcano. The restaurant was good. The only reason this did not earn 5 stars is because of a musty smell in the room that was annoying. The odor may come from the wet climate but it seems that something could be done.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RVingFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy C, Front Office Manager at The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Guest:

Thanks for your visit. Unfortunately during the rainy season, we have high humidity in the area and this causes the problem you noticed in the room, however, that all the days thoroughly cleaned all the spaces sometimes the problem persists, we are taking appropriate steps and we hope that it would not be repeated.

Roy Cerdas
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Large Comfortable Rooms.
Great Pools (hot & cold) & Pool Bar
Restaurant is also very good. Especially dinner
The staff was extremely helpful in arranging rafting & zipline activities.
View from the Vocano-facing rooms is fantastic

Room Tip: View from the Vocano-facing rooms is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoniEssakow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We came for 2 nights and stayed for 5. This place would get 5 stars in Canada or U.S. I was surprised by another reviewer that said go to Benedictus for dinner, we did and preferred the hotel restaurant by far. Very comfortable beds, nice hot springs, view of the volcano,great food. What more could you ask for? Only little problem was the wifi was very weak in the last room at end of the hall. Love this place, wish we could stay longer.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ron7136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy C, Director de Recepción at The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for your visit. We are pleased to find that our services meet with your expectations and that you have decided to extend your stay. Thank you for your preference and recommendation with respect to our restaurant. We regret the inconvenience with the WI FI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,446 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,369 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,897 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Address: | 4.2 km towards the Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £165 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing