We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Nearby Hotels
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$332
Bookit.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lavas del Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$531
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$123
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$127
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$204
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$81
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$529
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$117
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,469)
Filter reviews
2,469 results
Traveller rating
1,852
472
93
27
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,852
472
93
27
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslava barswim up barmaster suitearenal volcanocosta ricala fortunahot springssteam roombeautiful hotelpool areathermal waterrooms facespring poolsrain showeralfredohot poolsour honeymoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
971 - 976 of 2,469 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We decided to stay at Royal Corin from the positive reviews and so we did not have to venture out for the hot springs, but we felt that our 3 night stay was too short!

The hotel’s main feature was the hot springs with 6-8 pools, steam room and sauna and pool bar. The room was spacious with a large balcony – all rooms looked out to the pools. The restaurant served some lovely dishes and service in general was good.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 412 (4th floor) and the views of the pools in our balcony was beautiful.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GhianV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Simply stated, this is a great property, and the rooms are spectacular. The staff is friendly and eager to please. We did have a not so great spa experience as we were booked for the last reservation and we're told to pay and tip in advance of our treatment because they were closing. Also, our detox beverage was served before our treatment so they could close promptly. So while we were trying to relax, we were rushed... Go figure. Overall, great location and staff. If they focus to pay attention to details they would be great.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John JI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My stay here was incredible. The staff is very personal and will cater to every specific detail. The rooms were immaculate. The food was delicious. The staff were top notch. This hotel provides a much more personal experience compared to the larger resorts. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danderson126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here after another hotel screwed up our reservation and had to put us up somewhere else for a night. I am actually glad the screw up happened. Although different than the experience we were looking for and booked (I like all the wood many other hotels in the area use), it was a fantastic place. They have their own hot springs water on grounds, in at least 4 different jacuzzi pools. There is a swimming pool with a swim up bar (hot springs water). Two rectangular pools to the side have very cold water. Iguanas were lounging in some of the hot water that fed into a "pond" right by the jacuzzi. That was fun to watch. We were in a suite that was very roomy for the three of us. The king bed was huge-would easily sleep 3 adults. Bathroom was roomy with an awesome shower. A double tub faced the large windows and had a tv on one end. We didn't use it, but the teen LOVED it. Great view of the volcano from room 409. The included breakfast had awesome fruit (of course), pancakes, bacon, fried eggs, cereals and yogurt, and asserted breads. It was just okay (I'm a vegetarian and also shy away from dairy, so this can be a bit tough to rate breakfast as great from a hotel to be fair). The couple next to us had to return their coffee cup because it had lipstick on it. Service was excellent. Aside wee getting ready to leave we watched a toucanette in a tree on the grounds. This will be a place we return to when in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingFamily20102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel is average but for the asking price it is not worth it unless you can get a deep discount. There are so many hotels in La Fortuna that I would have to believe there are better options. I am sure this hotel was rocking (along with all the other 100s of hotels in the area) when the lava was flowing down Arenal but now I am pretty sure you could show up the day of and find a decent place to stay. This hotel seemed to be a locals place as we were the only non-Spanish speaking guests that I knew of. Below are some pros and cons for you to decide yourself.

Pros:
1. Great view of the volcano
2. I asked for a quieter room on a top floor and they accommodated
3. Breakfast was good and had a nice place to sit outside
4. The room was clean and had AC
5. Good location if you don’t mind being on the main road and have a car. It is between the town of La Forturna and Hanging Bridges, Observatory Lodge and the dam

Cons:
1. The main pool was almost too hot to go in. I know these are “hot springs” but a cooler option would be nice
2. Two pools did not even have water
3. The other pools (other than the main pool) had a green tinge and looked like they have not been cleaned in ages. I didn’t see one person go in them
4. The staff (other than the pool bar guy) were not very friendly
5. From our room the Bali Hot Springs sign across the street lite up our room at night. Almost felt like I was in Vegas looking at all the neon signs between us and the volcano

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the top to avoid pool noise. Also ask for a good view of the volcano
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacShep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy C, Front Office Manager at The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you very much for giving us its opinion about our facilities, the temperature of the swimming pools for being a thermal water they are kept between 39-40 C, which for some persons the thermal sensation is very high while for others it is very pleasant. We have a swimming pool with temperature ambience (28 C) which has been working with normality as well as all other swimming pools for which your comment surprises us. for being natural thermal water produces algae that give a green colorartion to the water, however, we have cleaning up process every 24 hours of draining and filling as it cannot be used any type of chemicals. We are going to take into account all considerations and we hope to have your visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews