We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and superb views of the volcano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Firstly if you are flying in from San Jose late then be prepared for a wild ride up to the hotel! Total darkness, rain and fog and turn your hair white bends in the road. It takes 2-3 hrs to reach the hotel but for me it was absolutely worth it!

We stayed in the Junior Suite and it was a huge room. The bed was bigger than King size, we had two balconies to view the volcano from (and they were nicely screened from the pools below) and we also had a sunken jacuzzi bath in the corner of the room. The bathroom was very large and had a double sized walk in shower (with excellent water pressure). The bed wasn't as comfortable as I would have liked - however we spent a small fortune on our mattress at home so not many hotels can compare.

The property has a main pool and some small jacuzzis - all fed by the hot springs. The main one has a swim up bar but we found we had to get out at times as it was so hot! Not a complaint however as it was lovely to sit in the pool when it was raining. We arrived at the end of a holiday weekend and when the locals checked out that day we virtually had the pool and bar to ourselves. Service at the pool bar was very attentive and they were always helpful. We saw several iguanas and lots of really pretty birds. Sitting on the loungers watching the clouds drift along the volcano peak and catching several long glimpses of the top - which apparently was quite rare.

The hotel itself seems very well kept, the staff all very friendly too. The lobby was always spotless and they cleaned up any wet footprints really quickly.

The food here really is superb, I've eaten many places but I have to say every meal was excellent and to an exceptionally high quality.

The biggest plus was the view - unobstructed volcano views from the room, pool area and especially from the Lava Lounge (sadly it was closed on the night we decided to try it, but we still went in to have a good look).

Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: I would recommend the junior suites, much bigger, more privacy on the balconies too. We were in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BlueWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

813 - 819 of 2,342 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights on the first leg of our honeymoon---very nice hotel. The pools were great and the staff friendly. We stayed in a junior suite---great view of the volcano and a really really nice set up in the room. The food at the hotel is good, but it is a few miles from La Fortuna. It costs 8 USD to get to La Fortuna by taxi--ask staff for great eating suggestions. Overall, we were very pleased with the place and would go back again. It does have some mold issues, though it is in a rainforest and it rains every day so that is going to be everywhere--the staff was actively fighting the mold and we really didn't notice anything dirty or bad about the place---we really liked it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Really loved everything here. The room was fabulous. The staff beyond expectations. The hot water pools there to make you feel pampered. Swim up bar tender went out of his way to meet our needs. Even the iguanas posed for pictures for us. Highly suggest asking staff to direct you to eat where they would eat in the town of LA fortuna. You will not be disappointed. They even arranged transportation. Loved our stay here 2 days.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank suhandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I feel it is my duty to inform everyone that this hotel is dirty and full of mold. The management does not care about their guest and refuses to address the issue. I checked the hotel across the street and it did not have any mold and was a much better hotel all around. You will find the staff is not very customer service oriented. STAY AWAY

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Aquidneck8585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

While this may not have as much zen power as the other larger thermal hotels in the area, this is a great place if you are out and about for much of the day, as we were. The rooms were well appointed with a volcano view ( when it finally cleared) and immaculately kept. The pools are yes, smaller and perhaps not as plentiful as the Tabacon but I felt that for what we needed, 5 or 6 pools are great. They do close at 10 pm, which is great as it can get a bit noisy even though the thick window panes. ( and most people are so tired from the day adventures!) We found the front desk staff, and wait staff every attentive at breakfast. We were not on an all inclusive. So, if you;re looking for a pretty place that does not have "all the bells and whistles" but more than enough for most- this is a wonderful choice. Make sure you go to the penthouse bar. Very cool.

Room Tip: all rooms on volcano view, not sure if higher rooms may be slightly less loud after 9 pm?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CasaBallena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Hotel Royal Corin is beautiful on the inside and kept very clean. It has an interesting Asian theme for art/decor and the hot spring pool was very nice. The room was fine but could have used some updates--the wall paper was peeling in some areas, shower tiles were missing, and the safe had a key instead of a lock code.
Notably, the bed and pillows were very comfortable and the balcony view was awesome! The breakfast that was included was decent and had some variety; however, the dinner food was excellent and although pricy, well worth it. Surprisingly, the outside of the hotel was not kept even remotely as nice as the inside. The umbrellas and canopies in the pool area were worn out, faded, ripped, moldy and dirty. Some of the furniture was falling apart and the roof over the pool bar looked like it had not been cleaned since the hotel was first built. The drinks at the pool bar were okay, and the bartenders were pleasant enough but the ambiance and vibe of the outside area was "blah."
Lastly, the hotel does not have a fitness center, which was also surprising because it looks like the kind of hotel that would have a state of the art facility. Although I took advantage of many active adventures during our stay in the area, I did miss having access to a gym. Overall, my husband and I were pleased with our stay at the Hotel Royal Corin. It was a solid choice, especially for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelB2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our first trip to Costa Rica. Absolutely loved Royal Corin. Everything about this hotel is quality. Great food, room and pools. Loved the swim up bar. Our server Daniel went the extra mile to make us feel welcome. Great complementary breakfast. Food in restaurant was top quality. Would recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: All rooms a great. Face the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,467 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,394 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,903 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Address: | 4.2 km towards the Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £166 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing