We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Very nice experience”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The staff upgraded us to excellent rooms, and we were on the all inclusive drink/meal plan. The drinks tasted great but were light on alcohol content. Surprised that the lunch menu was same as dinner.
Snacks at the pool swim up bar tasted great but took long time to get. We enjoyed having the hot tub jacuzzis in addition to the main pool, which provided a sense of having the place to ourselves.
Loved the stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beth20131957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,634
    434
    88
    26
    25
See reviews for
581
1,176
39
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Royal Corin for the first 3 days of our honeymoon and were blown away. From the free upgrade to the master suite, fresh juice on arrival, and luxurious restaurant and pools, we felt treated like royalty. Everything was clean, safe, and relaxing. Staff were super friendly and accommodating, no matter what the request. The view of the volcano is outstanding and drinking a huracán in the hot-springs fed pool was the epitome of luxury.

Breakfast was the best meal we had in Arenal. Perfect mix of Costa Rican típica and familiar favorites. And the FRUIT!

Don't forget to meet Valentina and Alfonso, the huge iguanas. The wonderful groundskeeper let us feed them lettuce!

The only downside was our beautiful room had a mildewy smell, but I think that's expected in the rainy season when nothing fully dries. Cleaning staff did a great job!

Bottom line: Expensive hotel but totally worth it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Larkin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Nice hotel, beautiful landscaping around hot springs. Close to town. Junior suite was very spacious and clean. The only down side of room is the A/C, it didn't cool very well. Restaurant, was expensive and food was not great. Had better food in town at reasonable price with taxi fair. Getting pool towels was a little inconvenient. They required you to check-out / check- in towels or else there would be a fee.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelerscandg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights while visiting the Arenal Volcano area. Overall an enjoyable experience. The property is a tad older (probably 20 years old) but well kept. The rooms are clean and somewhat modern to Costa Rican standards. There are several hot spring pools and smaller hot springs on property.

The restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is a buffet and good amount of options. Lunch and dinner offer the same menu if you have the dining package.
Food is excellent.

My biggest complaint about this hotel is the service from one employee, Christopher. He misinformed us about our dining package and also had unfulfilled requests. Other staff was very helpful. When we checked out, this employee watched us load three large heavy suitcases. Not acceptable for a hotel that claims 4+ stars.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellaDonnainDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

unexpectedly lovely and tasteful. pools incredible and the hot springs a nice touch - very upscale.. the iguanas around the pools were striking. room and view lovely.
staff were accommodating and the town was accessible via a short cab ride. make sure that you get the Sea Bass at Viquez in town

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Firstly if you are flying in from San Jose late then be prepared for a wild ride up to the hotel! Total darkness, rain and fog and turn your hair white bends in the road. It takes 2-3 hrs to reach the hotel but for me it was absolutely worth it!

We stayed in the Junior Suite and it was a huge room. The bed was bigger than King size, we had two balconies to view the volcano from (and they were nicely screened from the pools below) and we also had a sunken jacuzzi bath in the corner of the room. The bathroom was very large and had a double sized walk in shower (with excellent water pressure). The bed wasn't as comfortable as I would have liked - however we spent a small fortune on our mattress at home so not many hotels can compare.

The property has a main pool and some small jacuzzis - all fed by the hot springs. The main one has a swim up bar but we found we had to get out at times as it was so hot! Not a complaint however as it was lovely to sit in the pool when it was raining. We arrived at the end of a holiday weekend and when the locals checked out that day we virtually had the pool and bar to ourselves. Service at the pool bar was very attentive and they were always helpful. We saw several iguanas and lots of really pretty birds. Sitting on the loungers watching the clouds drift along the volcano peak and catching several long glimpses of the top - which apparently was quite rare.

The hotel itself seems very well kept, the staff all very friendly too. The lobby was always spotless and they cleaned up any wet footprints really quickly.

The food here really is superb, I've eaten many places but I have to say every meal was excellent and to an exceptionally high quality.

The biggest plus was the view - unobstructed volcano views from the room, pool area and especially from the Lava Lounge (sadly it was closed on the night we decided to try it, but we still went in to have a good look).

Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: I would recommend the junior suites, much bigger, more privacy on the balconies too. We were in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights on the first leg of our honeymoon---very nice hotel. The pools were great and the staff friendly. We stayed in a junior suite---great view of the volcano and a really really nice set up in the room. The food at the hotel is good, but it is a few miles from La Fortuna. It costs 8 USD to get to La Fortuna by taxi--ask staff for great eating suggestions. Overall, we were very pleased with the place and would go back again. It does have some mold issues, though it is in a rainforest and it rains every day so that is going to be everywhere--the staff was actively fighting the mold and we really didn't notice anything dirty or bad about the place---we really liked it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Property: The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Address: | 4.2 km towards the Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing