We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PURA VIDA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Hackensack, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PURA VIDA”
Reviewed 8 March 2010

As we walked into the open lobby of the Royal Corin, we realized our research has paid off. We requested an upgrade to a suite and are glad we did. They had to clean it so they had us spend the 1st half hour in a standard room(it was very nice but tiny.) The 2 balconies were great places to sit and read or relax. The sectional sofa in the room was great too. The jacuzzi that was in the room is the most powerful one you will have there. We took advantage of it every night too soothe our bodies after doing activities all day. The bed is enormous.

We couldn't have asked for a better staff. From the concierge help at the front desk, Julio, German, and everybody else were great. They put you at ease taking care of taxi's or reservations for tours or restaurants in town. They were very accommodating. The bartenders, which I spent a lot of time with, were great. The servers in the restaurant
were ion top of your coffee and juice in the morning and were very pleasant to talk to. Everybody greeted you with a smile.

The pools are great, the warm water is very soothing. The only issue is that I don't think the cool water pool is maintained as well as the other hot spring pools. While at the pool you will notice the staff working diligently cleaning the rooms from top to bottom. The jacuzzi on the grounds were not very bubbly but were nice to sit in. You can have your privacy if you wish.

The breakfast in the morning was very good.The first couple of days was a buffet, but then we got the tipical breakfast for the next 3 days.The fruit was very good and the eggs very fresh. Maybe a little variety would be better. Lunch is okay. The pizza so so. Salads were okay. Dinner was decent. It was very quite at the hotel so we ate in town most nights, but the meals we had were okay at the hotel. Seemed to be a lot of cream based sauce which seems odd at a spa type place. Definitely take advantage of The Lava Bar happy hour. The free appetizers are very good and the 2 for 1 drinks from 6-8 are better!
Some nights we were treated to a little dessert in the room.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TallPaul88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,663
    439
    88
    26
    25
See reviews for
592
1,194
40
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nj
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2010

The hotel was very nice, the hot springs were great, the spa was wonderful!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curtina44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Great trip to the Arenal area... The hotel was very nice, clean, with a very helpful and friendly staff. Got one good view of the volcano when the clouds parted, seems like all rooms would have a good view... Nice pool area with a swim-up bar, not overly crowded like some of the other hot springs in the area. Decent restaurant with breakfast included, not sure the dinner was worth the price, but overall pretty good with good service. Rooms were very nice, large, and a balcony with a great view of the volcano. Nice to have internet access and a tv to stay somewhat connected (heard some of the other hotels in the area didn't have tv or internet). Overall very nice, price may be a bit high, but worth it for a nice vacation!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRowan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2010

We stayed here for one night on a trip through Costa Rica. Our expectations were blown away.

The room was huge, with an amazing view of the volcano (20% of which was in the clouds), an awesome shower, and a jacuzzi that didn't quite work so well (the electronics apparently shorted out in ours). The balconies were roomy and well-kept.

The restaurant had awesome food and terrific service. The pools... WOW, were awesome! You can choose between 3 different temperature waters (pumped in from the volcanic hot springs, as I understand it) - we liked the hottest of the three.

You will not be let down here!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acjcoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

My wife and I just recently returned from a stay in CR and spent 3 nights at the Corin. We stayed in a master Suite and were absolutely stunned by how awesome the room was. We did not have a single complaint about the room at all. It was cleaned perfectly every day and if you were in your room around 7pm, the staff came by with desserts. We were only around once for this.

The hot springs pools were amazing and a perfect spot to just hang out. The weather wasn't cooperating with us with clouds and some rain, but you could still hang out at the swim up bar...surprisingly a lot of people at the hotel would be hanging out there in the afternoon/evenings. Saw the staff cleaning the pools one morning, so you know you don't have to worry about dirty pools. The little pools with waterfalls flowing into them were great to hang out in as well.

The staff was amazing and were ready to help you out with anything...from calling taxis to making reservations for you at local restaurants. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant but did order a pizza and sandwich at the swim up bar. Drinks were reasonably priced. Ask Diego at the swim up bar to make you a Guaro (facil?)

We went to the spa and got some massage treatments. My wife said she got the best pedicure here that she has ever gotten in her life. The spa is really amazing as well. I think some folks on here said that it was expensive, but if you factor in the amount of time involved, i think its on par to regular spas in the US. In fact, i think you may get twice the amount of time for the same amount of money here.

The only downside about the spot is that their happy hours are in the 5th floor lava lounge which was empty the whole time i was there. They should change it to the swim up bar where most everyone hangs out at in the evenings.
All in all, if you're looking for luxury in your trip, definitely stay here, you will not be disappointed. The hotel is definitely a 5 star hotel...so if you're looking for something rustic and traditional, you won't find that here.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darshan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alkreitner
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We were delighted to having had the opportunity to stay at this hotel. The hotel, which I learned is less than 2 years old has features that really show a lot of thought was put into its design and certainly the well trained staff genuinely understands what hospitality is all about. Starting with the front desk team, they were delightful. Very helpful with area restaurant recommendations etc. The design and landscaping of the hot water pools was simply magnificent. Upon entering, we had our Goldilocks moment. One was a bit too cold, one a bit too warm and one was oh so perfect! Of course we then switched between the pools for added delights. The room itself was reflective of the thought put into the hotels construction. The shower was in and of itself an experience! Colored lights, music channels, water delivered from either a handheld, a "rain shower" or mulitple jets on the wall. While the hotel is not an expansive property, we never felt cramped nor crowded. We had just come from the 5 Star J.W. Marriott at Guanacaste and the Hotel Royal Corin did not compromise a bit in providing a comparable refined experience. Curiiously they don't yet have an exercise room, but we were told that would be coming. The wife was more than willing to forego here daily exercise regimen once she had the opportunity to "take the waters" in the hotel's variety of hot water pools. Bio Info - I'm a Lifetime Platinum guest with Marriott and have travelled frequently throughout the Caribbean.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alkreitner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2010

This is a perfect place if you want to stay close to town. Very nice rooms with an awesome view of the volcano. Good food at the restaurant and 2 for 1 happy hour at the Lava Bar! The best thing though was the service. EVERYONE had a great attitude and worked to make sure you had a wonderful visit. Because you are close to town there is road traffic but we were there to stay busy and not hang out at the Hotel all day.

My only complaint would be the club music played at the Hotel Pool. Upon arrival, after a long day of driving we checked in our room only to hear the boom, boom of club music. Maybe I am just getting old (48 yr) but it seemed out of place with the relaxing hot spring pool area.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Teach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,825 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,222 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,366 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort

Property: The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
Address: | 4.2 km towards the Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Corin Is the best answer if you are looking for a comfortable and luxurious destination in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica. Located in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, we offer great service with accessible rates to enjoy Arenal Volcano, fun & entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Corin Hotel
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing