We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hostels I have stayed in.”
Review of Gringo Pete's Too

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gringo Pete's Too
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best hostels I have stayed in.”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Gringo Petes one was full so we stayed in Gringo Pete's too. We were greated by the friendly staff, they took us through all the available rooms so we could choose which ine we preferred. Then we were given a delicious rum and fresh juice as a welcome drink.
The staff told us about a free waterhole close to the hotel for us to swim in and where the free hot springs were.
The rooms are huge, clean and all with private bathrooms. All for $7 per person. The kitchen is well equipped and there is a huge supermarket next street over.
It's in a great location and has an amazing view of the volcano.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennykyna84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    56
    32
    15
    39
See reviews for
4
73
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caldogno, Veneto, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Very cheap and friendly staff!! The rooms are simple and very basically but I don't need else!! Carlos suggests us nice trips and he is very avalaible!!! He bring us to see a bradipo!!The kitchen was simple but very nice. There is a wide space in which you can chat with oder people!! Damiano e lelia

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skizzy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

The rooms are very basic, ours had no sheets and the sink leaked - BUT - we had a private bath with hot water for $14USD!

The staff are very knowledgable in regards to the tours and if you book with them you get a great rate!

Only stayed for one night and I wouldn't have wanted to stay for any more since the room sucked.

The mattresses are rock hard.

But for $14 it's not bad!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam777Jewely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Gringo Pete´s is a nice place in a quiet part near downtown La Fortuna. The stairways and the placing of the rooms made it feel a bit like Pipi Longstockings Place, which I like a lot. Marta gave a quick tour and in the kitchen and the terrace I felt right at home. The rooms are small, but clean. Prices have doubles since the Lonely Planet 2010 edition, or those were the dorm-prices. Nevertheless the 12 dollars for a room was fair: most places in Costa Rica are noisier.

Pete is a great guy. He makes jokes all the time and his loud laughter made me think of Santa Claus. He gave some honest advise on what there was to see. Ad they got some good discounts on trips and fares...So if you are looking for a budget place to stay, I can defnitely recommend this one!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveLikeTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is a review for “Gringo Pete’s TWO”.
There must have been changes made in Gringo Pete’s because I couldn’t find majority of the negative reviews posted on this site. The staff must have changed.
The location of the hostel is OK. It is just of the main drag, next to a small river and close to a fully stocked market, restaurants, and two blocks from the bus station. However, it is also located on a road that can get a bit busy in the morning. So the rooms immediately facing this road can get a bit noisy in the mornings. The rooms in the back are fine.
The hostel itself offers an excellent value for the dollar. It has all the facilities of a good hostel. Most rooms have private bathroom. Only a couple of the cheaper single rooms have shared bathroom (with hot water – depending on how much water you turn on…the least water the warmer it is). Free coffee and a strong Wi-Fi are available all day. My room and all common areas were always clean and cleaned daily. Each room has a fan.
Staff was one of the best I have encountered during my travels in Latin America. Most spoke at least some English. Especially the manager/tour guide in charge was exceptional. He is not only an excellent host but also a very good tour guide and will answer any of your questions about Volcan Arenal Park and Costa Rica. I can certainly recommend them for tours as well. They have very competitive prices and knowledgeable and bilingual guides.
I was not thrilled with the mattresses and pillow, but for this price it was still acceptable.
For Costa Rica, in its category (Hostel) and for this price Gringo Pete’s is easy 5/5, even with the hard mattresses.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back, away from the street. are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank povetron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I am surprised so many people are so-so on this place. I loved my stay here. I wish there were more places like this throughout Costa Rica.

The proprietor/manager was an extremely nice, congenial guy who gave me good recommendations and didn't care when I and the other ex-pats partied somewhat loudly until midnight. My solo room was very Spartan - a clean but rigid bed, a working fan, a clean room, shared (clean) bathroom/shower with warm-ish water, free WiFi that actually worked, free coffee, all for $7/night!

I was travelling solo, and this was the type of place that is best for solo travelers. There were probably 3-5 Americans, 4-8 Europeans, all between 25 and 35. We were all strangers but managed to come together to party.

Also this place is super close to the embarkation point for all of the tours, etc., and a block away from an amazing Tico soda called "La Casa de Hormiga."

I travel a lot... if you like no-frills travel with the basic amenities (WiFi, not freezing water, clean rooms) for super budget prices, this is the archetypal place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I have to agree with a number of the poorer reviews that have been left by fellow travellers. Gringo Pete and his staff are a rude, antagonistic group of folk. I stayed here for one night, and although I left an hour before checkout time, I was told off for making myself comfortable in the garden for an hour after breakfast rather than leaving the premisis immediately after I'd finished eating. It seems as though Pete enjoys the conflicts that come with owning a hostel. If you can afford it, pay the extra couple of dollars to stay somewhere else within this fantastic town.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrooMarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.0 mi away
EcoHostel
EcoHostel
#15 of 75 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Choza Inn Hostel
La Choza Inn Hostel
#13 of 41 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#6 of 75 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
#14 of 75 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
#8 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gringo Pete's Too? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gringo Pete's Too

Property: Gringo Pete's Too
Address: Off the Main Road, 350m From Bus Stop Away From Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 11000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 75 Speciality Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Gringo Pete`s Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Gringo Pete's Too Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing