We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gringo Pete's Too
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
San Bosco Inn(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Fortuna(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Hotel El Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Rabfer Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Arsol(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Monte Real(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arenal Montechiari(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Luigi's Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regina Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
59
56
33
16
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
56
33
16
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjuan carlosdouble room with private bathla fortunacosta ricaswimming holestayed nightsvolcano arenallaundry servicedormtoursriverwaterfallhikebirdsclouds
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Simple place, with basic rooms, and good value for money. Nice garden at the back, and the facilities are reasonably good. Quite close to the centre, so most things can be easily accessed. Excellent choice for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Gringo Pete's for 3 nights in La Fortuna. You won't find a better place for this kind of money anywhere in Costa Rica! The rooms are simple, but since you're spending most of your time out doing activities in the area it doesn't matter. The kitchen is well stocked and very clean.

Pete himself is quite the character and full of knowledge on the area. If you're going to book a tour be sure to do it through the hostel as it was much cheaper than anywhere else in town!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferKolbuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Great price and a great help with booking and adventure advice

We stayed here after leaving another hostel near by. Great to have Pete openly admiring he takes commission on things you book through him, but not as much as others. His tour information was spot on open and honest and he had the best value ones in town.

Night time free hot spring is a must do, very reasonable price and drinks included.

Pete has a lot of rules some are easy to understand some less, there in place to make the hostel good for everyone. He is a character and if you are reasonable person with any social skills you should be fine to stay here.

If your worried about it just stay at gringo pete's 2. Pete doesn't live at that one but the staff and the place are real good also.

I can defiantly see how some people had negative reviews here, but I loved the place, I'd stay there again and I'd stay there for a longer time!

Try it

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Fatwreckfat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I nearly cancelled my booking after reading mixed reviews of this place, but I'm so glad I didn't. It offers brilliant value for money in the incredibly touristy Arenal/La Fortuna area. Sure , the rooms are basic, (a small bed, side table and no air con), but as La Fortuna is the kind of place where you'll be out on tours all day, it makes a great value crash-pad. My room was on the top floor on the side of the road and was a little noisy until about 10pm when the traffic stopped, but after that there was just the sound of the river and crickets. The shared shower and toilet were right next to the room and were very clean. By far the best thing about the top-floor rooms is the amazing view of Arenal Volcano- great photo opportunities from the balcony. A lot has been said in other reviews about the 'rules' in Gringo Pete's, and it is true that there are a lot of 'reminder' notices about the place, however, if you are the sort of person that checks out on time and cleans up after yourself, they're not exactly challenging to follow. The staff can book you onto hiking trips or visits to the hot springs, as well as onward transport- I booked both and received great service and value-for-money.

Room Tip: If you are getting a private room- ask for an upstairs one for great views of the volcano.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine1981London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We kept on asking what the catch was since its only $5 a night to stay in this lovely hostel.
Its spacious and it has everything a hostel needs to function properly. Tours can also be organised from here too at a discounted rate.

The kitchen is well equipped and the owner gringo pete is quite an interesting fella as well.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank JosephFoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews