We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for carnivores.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nene's Restaurant

Nene's Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood, South American, Central American, Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for carnivores.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Really great atmosphere in this place, friendly service but swift without feeling hurried. My ceviche and shrimp (if you're British be prepared. ..this is not actually shrimp sized!) were fantastic. Tasty and beautifully presented.
However, and I really think Nene's need to think about this. ..my husband's vegetarian choice was limited. His 4 cheese pasta looked bland and colourless. He said that it was ok but didn't rave about his meal like I did. It is a shame as we would have returned tomorrow based on my meal alone.
CR is full of amazing vegetables. Is it impossible to create something home-cooked and tasty that doesn't rely on cheese, eggs or soy sauce as flavouring?
Just a thought.

Helpful?
1 Thank JaneAnneRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    348
    162
    40
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great vibe and delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Adorable restaurant tucked into La Fortuna. One of our tour guides recommended it and it was great. Filled with a lot locals and tourists but not too crowded.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nisfornancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our driver told us about Nene's so we visited for lunch. It was great food, cheap prices and great service. My husband said it was the best burger he had in Costa Rica (and he had a LOT of burgers).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was located in a somewhat quiet part of La Fortuna but not too far away from the main street. The food was amazing, I had chicken with a Portuguese sauce which I thought was alright but after stealing a few bites from my sister's seafood rice, I went to heaven. The food is fresh, delicious, and reasonably priced. There are a variety of dishes from cultural backgrounds other than the traditional Costa Rican dishes, which really allows you to switch things up and try their take on other cultures' dishes. My other sister had pesto pasta, which had a twist to it, and not a bad twist either. The service was also excellent, our waiter could speak bilingually and he was very, very polite. The restaurant is very clean and has a relaxing setting for you to enjoy a nice meal. Visit Nene's if you're in the area!

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best ceviche anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

On a recent trip to Central and South America, my husband and I went to La Fortuna do do some shopping. The weather was very hot and humid. Nene's Restaurant had been recommended to us - especially the ceviche. So we went for a nice cold cerveza to help cool off and decided to have a snack. My husband had the soup and declared it delicious (I know - who eats soup on a sweltering hot day?). I had the ceviche. It was amazing! I just kept saying "This is the best ceviche I have ever eaten!" Honestly, I nearly licked the dish. Just sorry we weren't able to go back for a full meal. Service with a smile. It was a fun place. I hope to go back some day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TX341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nene's Restaurant also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Nene's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing