We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Local Food”
Review of Soda Viquez

Soda Viquez
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, South American, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Local Food”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I was torn between which rating this restaurant deserved. I feel it is rather inexpensive and the food is good. However, I feel the place can be a little cleaner. The menus are a bit on the dirty side. You don't want to eat after touching them. There was a cat walking around. I am an animal lover, but I am also allergic to cats. The cat didn't seem dirty at all but I also don't feel it is not appropriate for a restaurant to have a cat walking around while guests are eating. No one at the restaurant seemed to mind though. Some people might find the staff rude but I feel it is more of a language barrier. I witnessed one having a difficult time communicating with a guest. Since I am fluent in the Spanish language I had no problem and felt they were very friendly.
One thing that was disappointing, is that I believe the juices they serve are in no way natural. They seemed too sweet as if poured from a bottle.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,144
    511
    139
    41
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great local place!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our group of 8 ate at Soda Viquez our last night in Costa Rica - it was the perfect end to a perfect trip. Soda Viquez is a "local" type place, serving typical Costa Rican fare. The service was very friendly and efficient. Each one in our group really enjoyed their meal. This is not a gourmet restaurant by any stretch, but serves very good food at reasonable prices, in a friendly and open atmosphere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent, authentic cuisine”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

skip the overpriced touristy places in Fortuna and go here. Excellent food - get the tropical shakes - very friendly staff and good prices.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Staff”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Food was awesome - especially the casado plate. This is a place that many locals, such as taxi drivers and hotel staff, go to eat. English is barely spoken here. Had a great conversation with "Rosa," possibly one of the owners.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank williamk888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
binghamton ny
Level Contributor
138 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Food&Experience”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We ate one night at Soda Viquez based on the recommendation of one of our tour guides. We were glad we listened to him. The restaurant is quite small and can be busy. It is a family run business and it may take some time to get your meal but you shouldn't be in a hurry anyway; your on vacation. The food itself was very good and the tenderloin with garlic was excellent. If your looking for a fancy, upscale place, this is not for you. But if your looking for good food at reasonable prices; and, if your looking to experience dining in a "real" Costa Rican restaurant, I would highly recommend Soda Viquez.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank creagh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soda Viquez also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Soda Viquez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing