We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple & comfortable”
Review of Hotel Vagabondo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vagabondo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simple & comfortable”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

It's clean and quiet. They've gone to some effort to make the rooms interesting, with the walls painted funky colors and lots of art hanging on them. The adjacent restaurant is comfortable; I particularly enjoyed a salad I had there my first night. The water pressure in the toilet was low. There are a few other restaurants in walking distance, and the waterfall is a medium-length hike.

Room Tip: Rooms in back are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohheyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    50
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
27
62
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metro Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed at Hotel Vagabondo for 7 nights at the beginning of January.

At the beginning of our stay, we had a very small room containing a full sized bed and a twin sized bed with barely enough room to walk around them, and no room to walk in between them. However, the room was clean, with A/C and a TV, plus a lovely tiled bathroom and lots of storage space. After we stayed a few days, we were upgraded to a much more spacious room with a nicer TV and even more storage space. The pool was clean and refreshing. Outside of the rooms there is a lounging area with a hammock, rocking chairs, and a small table.

The staff at Vagabondo were so friendly. We had a particularly friendly housekeeper, Maritza (sp?) who helped us with many things. She did our laundry during our stay and I swear our clothes have never been cleaner, or more neatly folded.

Breakfast at Vagabondo is basic, but nourishing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamelaksch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights and had the best time. It's a 20 minute walk from the town square and has a fantastic view of the volcano. It's a great location because we were so close to everything but had a more private quite atmosphere.The breakfast is sooooo good and they had a few options which was really nice. It's very very clean and the pool is really nice to have. The staff are so welcoming, friendly and helpful. It's a nice small hotel so we got know them all very well. This is our first visit to Costa Rica and it far exceeded any expectations. Highly highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GoShaynaGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Really nice, small and quiet hotel with pool and great rooms. If you choose a "tipical breakfast"- I guarantee you will not regret it. Really nice and clean place, great staff and good prices and you have a very good view to Arenal volcano from here! Also- if you are planing to by a food in the shop- the big shop is just 5 min walk from hotel to the La Fortuna side.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ieva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Hotel Vagabondo is quiet (for a while we wondered if any other guests were even there!), friendly, and beautiful. Our room was extremely spacious, exquisitely furnished and very comfortable. The staff cleaned our room thoroughly and changed our towels daily, and were super accommodating and as helpful as could be. We had a dream-worthy pool in front of our room (that we used a lot), I still have cravings for their complimentary breakfast (the fruit just melts in your mouth, we raved about the juice every day, and the gallo pinto is delicious), and the A/C was SO welcoming to come home to after hikes! It is a bit of a dark and sidewalk-less walk into town, but it was so worth it. Plus it's a walkable distance to the hot springs (Baldi, Eco Termales, etc. are about 20 minutes away if you walk towards the volcano). The view is impeccable, laundry is very reasonably priced, and the on-site pizzeria was extremely convenient for nights when we were too tired to change and go into town.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadedoctopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

My wife, father in law, and sister chose to stay at the Vagabondo for 4 nights in January 2013 after deliberating between this hotel and La Bijagua which is down the street and priced similarly. WE chose Vagabondo primarily b/c the # of great reviews it had and available pics, Bijagua seemed to be newer and less established. We have grown very fond of staying in smaller B&B hotels and the Vagabondo did not disappoint. The complex comprises approx. 8 rooms, both double and single, a pool, hammocks, parking, gift shop, and an attached restaurant/wood fired pizzeria which was a highlight of our stay. We had two double rooms around the back by the pool that were wonderfully decorated with local art and most every amenity you would need including showers, toilets, fans, A/C, and a safe. A woman named Janelle (spl?) works the morning shift and was a pleasure to speak with and very helpful. She and another woman we did not have the chance to meet serve breakfast every morning (included with the room rate of $54 for January) which consisted of fruit or rice/beans and eggs, toast, juice, & coffee. Perfect for starting the day as you will likely be walking/hiking quite a bit during the day. In the evening, we were served dinner by Erol (again spl?) who mentioned being a fill in for the primary waiter who helped us get cabs, gave advice on night life, and was generally just nice and helpful all around. We ended up eating at the pizzeria three times during our four nights there as it was incredibly delicious. The pizzas and pasta were prepared using hand made, fresh dough and were quite possibly the best I have ever eaten. We had no problem recommending it to another group of travelers we met. If you prefer to eat out, there are a number of small and large restaurants near the hotel within 10 min walking distance. There was one sleep less night when a dog's barking went on for hours at a neighbors home behind the complex but it was not the hotel's fault and probably due to the owner being gone for the night as it did not occur again. Also, the hotel is located to the west of Fortuna approx. a 15 min walk to town and a 4 min cab ride which would cost about 3 USD. We walked it on two occasions and while it was short compared to some of the hiking we did, it is not a walk you would be doing without good reason or while inebriated. However, it is convenient to many of the tours you will be doing which are west of Fortuna near Arenal volcano. i.e. you will need to head west of town anyway. One block from the hotel is a large grocery store with beer, snacks, vegetables, meats, etc...basically any and everything you will ever need easily within a 5 min walking distance. We stopped here pretty much every evening to stock up for the night or next day. I would have no problem recommending this property to other travelers and would stay here again without hesitation. I took an awesome video walk through of the property which will give you a great idea of what to expect but TripAdvisor won't let me post it. Feel free to contact me through my profile if you'd like a copy emailed. Happy travels!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of complex walk out to pool and are away from the street but beware of neighbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank longhorn2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quebec
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

There are no words to describe how great the food here is, we stayed a couple of nights (me and 2 friends), the staff and owners were really friendly, the place is so relaxing, hot showers, comfortable and nice rooms! all very clean. And has a nice view of the volcano arenal. I would definetely come back here on my next trip to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
2.5 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
2.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
2.0 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vagabondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vagabondo

Property: Hotel Vagabondo
Address: | 1.5 km oeste del parque de la fortuna sobre carretera hacia el Volcan Arenal, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 00123, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vagabondo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the Vagabondo Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos and gives us a taste you contact us The rooms have a simple decoration to Italian style, with wooden furniture, feature garden, pool, restaurant and parking Also include Air conditioning or fan, TV, WIFI, safe, private bathroom and shower, plus breakfast included ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Vagabondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vagabondo Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing