We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place near La Fortuna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Catarata Eco Lodge S.A
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Nice place near La Fortuna”
Reviewed 16 March 2011

This lodge is right outside La Fortuna. It is close enough to La Fortuna that you can easily reach the town (and all the adventure activities that originate there). Price wasn't bad, we paid $207 for a three night stay in a double. This price included breakfast (pancakes or scrambled eggs, + fruit plate), but we skipped it one day because we hurried out to the Desafio Canyoneering adventure (which serves you a giant lunch at the end) The rooms were quiet (though you can hear a lot of birds!), and each one has a hammock outside. My only complaint with the room is that the light bulbs were so dim (especially in bathroom) that you could barely tell that they had been switched on!

We did not have a chance to use their pool, but saw others swimming in it, and it looked clean. They put fruit out on trees near the restaurant each morning, this attracts a wide variety of colorful birds, it is worthwhile to look for this bird display.

The staff was helpful. We got to La Fortuna long before the allowable check in time, but the lodge allowed us to keep our bags at the front desk so we wouldn't have them in our vehicle while we parked at the zipline tour.

The La Fortuna waterfall is just up the road from the lodge. It is well worth the $10 admission to hike the 500 steps down to see this waterfall.

This lodge had a couple large groups come through while we were there, so be careful to park where you won't get boxed in if a Tourismo bus is also in the parking lot.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enyedy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
hello dear!! thanks for your review!!! well we fixed the lightbulbs for other kind of!!! so most customers will enjoy thanks to your advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    54
    31
    3
    1
See reviews for
32
52
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

This lodge was great. The rooms are resonably priced, very clean and the garden is beautiful. The lodge restaurant was really good too. The hostess Anna was really helpful and nice. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebDizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
hey thanks for recommend us!! her name is Hannia just to metion it!!! :) come back and visit us!! :) all the reviews are very helpful!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

A comfortable room which was good value for money with a huge breakfast and a good pool! A little way out from town but if driving not too much of a problem around 5 minutes. Good staff who give comprehensive information and speak english, not biassed towards commission, so always better

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
thanks for this review and recommend us!!! This is what we love, give to people the best of the best!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2010

We spent three nights at La Catarata. The rooms were a little small but perfectly adequate for a couple or a couple with one young child. The hotel rooms are grouped in pairs around a beautiful garden; two rooms to a cabin. Outside each door is a veranda and hammock. The garden was very peaceful and a wonderful place to watch toucans, parrots and hummingbirds. The rooms, the pool and the restaurant were immaculate. There is a fantastic view of the volcano from the grounds. You can walk to the waterfall. The service was very friendly and helpful. We were allowed to use the hotel computer, all questions about the area answered enthusiastically, given free coffee when we asked, charged very little for having our laundry done (some places charge $5-10 a load).

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank magnolia54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
thanks for reviewing us!!!! we are very happy that you enjoy when you staid here!!!!
thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

Catarata Eco-Lodge was clean, with beautiful flowering bushes, trees, & colorful birds everywhere. We really enjoyed the peace & quiet there. Everyone at the hotel was very accommodating. Victor was especially helpful, made suggestions on activities and was very patient to answer all our questions regarding the area. The hotel is located just a few minutes from downtown La Fortuna and a short hike to La Fortuna Waterfall. When we schedule our next trip to Costa Rica, we will definitely stay at Catarata Eco-Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank df246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catarata-Eco-Lodge, Director de Recepción at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, 7 September 2010
Hello, Thanks, we're still waiting for you, One minute is one minute, was great have to you in here and all our guest, thanks. see you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

This lodge is for the rustic lovers. It is located a few minutes drive from the town and is surrounded by the animals. We the landscape is very natural. The rooms are very small and basic with a double bed and single bed, but clean. What makes this place stand out in my mind was the service from the young lady who manages the front desk, support desk as well as being the watiress. She was friendly, helpful and helped us work on our spanish. She is a true gem! The breakfast was included in the price. You were given a choice between 3 types of breakfast were were filling and yummy. We also ate dinner there which was an excellent value and a yummy meal (compared to the tourist trap restaurants that we went to in town). There was a basic swimming pool, which was nice to cool off in.
This is a good place to go if you like being surrounded by nature and not requiring/wanting a lot of room space.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurebug13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
hello, thanks!!! this on 2009, now on 2014 you will have many more good services!!! all our staff very friendly and helpful!!! our chef will cook for you as best he can!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Catarata Eco-Lodge is a set of apartment-style rooms set in a beautiful garden full of flowers, birds, and a lovely pool. It was to be the first stop of our itinerary, and we were attracted by the promise of a quiet location and pool, and the fact that it is Costa Rican owned and run, with an ecological ethos. The place exceeded our expectations: We loved it. Spacious clean rooms with great showers and a good view of the famous volcano; a lovely setting; and warm and friendly staff who made us feel special.
I was worried about the lack of air-con in the rooms, but we found that the ceiling fans do a perfectly good job.
The kids loved the pool and spent many happy hours in it. We walked into town and felt glad we could return to our hotel oasis.
The walk up to the Fortuna Waterfall was fun. The walk into town took us about half and hour the kids, but should be about 15 mins, and a the taxi back was cheap. When we wanted to go further afield we got a taxi to come and pick us up at the hotel.
I made use of free internet access. The food was simple but pleasant: A choice of breakfast including traditional Costa Rican (loads of fresh fruit), and a good selection of evening meals satisfying children and adults alike.
All in all a real jewel of a place, excellent value for money, and somewhere we'd all love to go back to.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodwormuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thanks for your message, after the last 5 years we were working a lot to give the best service!!! so come back!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,886 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
7.7 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catarata Eco Lodge S.A? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catarata Eco Lodge S.A

Property: Catarata Eco Lodge S.A
Address: 1 km South from The School of Z-13 | Alajuela, Costa Rica, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 75 Speciality Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Catarata Eco Lodge S.A 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the shadow of the Arenal Volcano , away from the noises of the city and from the highways, will be able to discover the captivation of returning to feel the nature, the singing of the birds and the creek of the sound of the gully. you can walk up to the majestic La Fortuna Waterfall, to share with the villagers, to walk along the National Park Arenal Volcano and in the night to relax in the thermal waters - mineral of the resorts of the zone, among many more things ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Catarata Eco Lodge S.A reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catarata Eco Lodge S.A Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing