We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in a tropical garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Catarata Eco Lodge S.A
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Living in a tropical garden”
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Catarata Eco-Lodge is a set of apartment-style rooms set in a beautiful garden full of flowers, birds, and a lovely pool. It was to be the first stop of our itinerary, and we were attracted by the promise of a quiet location and pool, and the fact that it is Costa Rican owned and run, with an ecological ethos. The place exceeded our expectations: We loved it. Spacious clean rooms with great showers and a good view of the famous volcano; a lovely setting; and warm and friendly staff who made us feel special.
I was worried about the lack of air-con in the rooms, but we found that the ceiling fans do a perfectly good job.
The kids loved the pool and spent many happy hours in it. We walked into town and felt glad we could return to our hotel oasis.
The walk up to the Fortuna Waterfall was fun. The walk into town took us about half and hour the kids, but should be about 15 mins, and a the taxi back was cheap. When we wanted to go further afield we got a taxi to come and pick us up at the hotel.
I made use of free internet access. The food was simple but pleasant: A choice of breakfast including traditional Costa Rican (loads of fresh fruit), and a good selection of evening meals satisfying children and adults alike.
All in all a real jewel of a place, excellent value for money, and somewhere we'd all love to go back to.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodwormuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thanks for your message, after the last 5 years we were working a lot to give the best service!!! so come back!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    53
    30
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
50
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2009

The lodge is located a couple of miles outside of La Fortuna, close enough if you have a car like we did, but it might be somewhat inconvenient if you don't. It has a very beautiful setting in a rural area, fairly close to the La Fortuna Waterfall. The service was friendly upon check-in and the rest of our stay.

The grounds are beautiful and well-maintained. There is a nice, small swimming pool. The rooms are large and decently furnished, but very dimly lit to the point of annoyance. The water is hot, and the rooms were clean. There was a friendly security guard present during the evening, although I doubt one was necessary. Breakfast is free, but it can be a mixed bag. Stick with eggs and gallo pinto, and stay away from American-type things like pancakes. You can use their business computer for free Internet.

This hotel was fine and I certainly don't regret our stay, but I didn't LOVE it. Going back to La Fortuna, I would probably try a different place.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
thanks, right now are many changes, Wi-Fi acces, good food with our chef!!! and many more!! after 5 years everything is better"""
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2008

I recently stayed at this eco-lodge and want to echo "davenaff"'s review. We also found it clean, nice, quiet, and would stay there again. Victor at the front desk speaks very good English and was helpful and patient as we tried to plan our days. Although there are no public computers, they allowed us to use their business computer to access the internet during off hours. The lodge is situated 1.5 km down a very bumpy dirt road (although passable even in heavy rain) in a residential and agricultural area. there are 2-3 other eco-lodges also on this road. It is a a not-so-easy 2.5 km walk uphill to see the waterfall, but worth the trip (watch out for tourists who cannot ride horses trying to ride horses- can get dangerous).

Although we did not have a car, I might recommended getting one. The taxis to the hanging bridges are $20 each way, $4 each way into La Fortuna (although we walked), $10 each way to the hot springs,, and $20 each way to go to the west side of the volcano to see the lava at night. I saw car rental places in la Fortuna.

  • Liked — Clean, quiet, eco-friendly
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Atrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Hello thanks for this comment, the roads are in asphalt now!! easier to drive, just a few meters not asphalted, !!! Victor say thanks!!! this recommendation is very helpufl for us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2008

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at Catarata Eco-Lodge (not to be confused with the much larger Las Cataratas Resort nearby). According to our guidebook, it is run by a local sustainable development association.

- Walking Distance (2 km uphill) to the Cataratas Waterfall - a must see (and must swim in!) in Fortuna.
- Views of Arenal Volcano
- Nestled in nature. We fell asleep with the sounds of cidadas, woke up to birds chirping each morning and listened to neighborhood roosters while eating breakfast at a covered outdoor patio (could get annoying if this isn't your thing). Birds fluttering around.
- Friendly staff. However, they don't speak much English. They were very happy to help with our planning, but didn't offer much advice unless asked.
- Very pretty garden surrounding the property. Small pool to lounge at, but you're better off going to Tabacon for long-term lounging.
- Simple, clean rooms.
- Breakfast is included, and other meals can be purchased. The menu is pretty simple, but it is inexpensive and good.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank davenaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
One of the older reviews!!! but great, now our staff at the office them speaks english and like to help people that come at first time ( :) also always)
Thanks for this is a great comment for us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2007

This is a nice, simple little lodge a few minutes outside of La Fortuna in the Arenal area of Costa Rica. The host is very nice, and the whole place has a gentle, peaceful mood. This is a basic accommodation--nothing fancy, but simple and clean. Very tasty typico breakfast. You can see Arenal and Cerro Chato from the property, and it also has a small mariposarium (butterfly enclosure). The grounds are well kept and hummingbirds visit the flowering shrubs near the rooms, and the feeders near the dining area. Walking distance to the waterfall. We stayed here without a car, and it is about a 20-minute walk to town. We did not eat dinner at the Albergue, but they do offer it and we heard good reviews of it from other guests.

Note that there is another hotel nearby with a similar name--Hotel de la Catarata. Our cab driver accidentally took us there, and it took a few minutes for us to realize the mix up. If you take a cab, emphasize you are looking for "albergue" not "hotel" la catarata.

The Albergue can also set up trips with local guides. We did a night tour of a nearby wildlife sanctuary (we were the only 2 people on the trip) and had a great time--saw tree frogs, a sloth, and some other cool critters.

Stayed January 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank JSvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catarata Eco Lo... S, Gerente at Catarata Eco Lodge S.A, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thanks so much by your review, we must inform to our guests that we removed the butterfly garden, and now you can find us by Catarata Eco Lodge name, if you come by taxi thats the name, we have restaurant and a beautiful pool!!!! thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bijagua
Hotel Bijagua
#1 of 43 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catarata Eco Lodge S.A? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catarata Eco Lodge S.A

Property: Catarata Eco Lodge S.A
Address: 1 km South from The School of Z-13 | Alajuela, Costa Rica, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 73 Speciality Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Catarata Eco Lodge S.A 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the shadow of the Arenal Volcano , away from the noises of the city and from the highways, will be able to discover the captivation of returning to feel the nature, the singing of the birds and the creek of the sound of the gully. you can walk up to the majestic La Fortuna Waterfall, to share with the villagers, to walk along the National Park Arenal Volcano and in the night to relax in the thermal waters - mineral of the resorts of the zone, among many more things ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catarata Eco Lodge S.A reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catarata Eco Lodge S.A Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing