We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our trip!”
Review of Posada Del Arenal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Posada Del Arenal
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We had a wonderful experience at Posada Inn! We were in La Fortuna for two days and wanted to make the most of our time there. The people at Posada went out of their way to accommodate us: cooked us special requests (empanadas), showed us cool places to explore that are not in the guide books, set up an awesome excursion to the hot springs as well as a guided hike, recommended good local eats, even took me to the pharmacy when I had a headache and showed me what to ask for. It was a very welcoming place with a personal feel.

The set up is very nice as well. The rooms are clean and airy, there is a cute kitchen and outdoor breakfast area complete with hammocks, and beautiful landscaping. Walking distance to everything and next door to a awesome bakery that is open 24 hrs. I highly recommend Posada Inn!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

This hostel was a breath of fresh air! After walking up and down the main street Elaine (who works at the hostel) waived to us to come over. The hostel rooms were nice and bright, the room we stayed in had a private bathroom and a double bed on the second floor of the house. The view from our window was lovely and set up the perfect base for exploring La Fortuna. We paid $10 each for each night and we were not disappointed. Breakfast was included every morning that included fresh fruit, gallo pinto, bread and eggs cooked to order plus tea or coffee. Elaine was friendly informative and fun. She walked a group of us to the La Fortuna River and was always at the hostel to welcome us back. I highly recommend this hostel to travelers who like to rest during the night and explore all day. Also, tickets to Baldi Hotsprings including dinner are $25 at La Posada which is the cheapest price in town.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erikaavellaneda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Lets start with the basics. The Posada Inn is budget accommodation in La Fortuna. It has some rooms with shared bathrooms and others set back away from the road with private bathrooms. The rooms are basic but spacious, clean and have hot water. It is lovely and quiet with a tranquil garden. A fantastic breakfast is included in the price (eggs, toast, fruit, rice and beans, ask for some of Carmen's amazing sausage!) and it is served in the covered outdoor kitchen which you are also free to use during your stay. At $15 pp a night forthr private bathroom rooms with all this it is incredible value.

What really makes this place special is the people. The manager Carmen is so friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. We were booked to stay for 3 nights but I became unwell on the first night and Carmen and Elaine (who runs costaricainnature.com and helps out here) were so good to us as my wife got more concerned about me. In the end we were forced to travel to San Carlos to hospital where I had an emergency appendectomy. We were away for 3 nights but they kept our room and watched our things and kept on touch checking up on how we were and what was happening. On our return they moved us to a downstairs room and really took such great care of us till we left.

If you want a luxury hotel then look elsewhere but if you want to stay in the best place in La Fortuna look no further - and be sure to say hi to Carmen and Elaine!

Oh they also organise great tours and can provide you with a wealth of great local information.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mptopham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This place has everything
Clean rooms, best prices. The breakfast has fruits, typical Costa Rican rice and beans, bread, juice, coffee, eggs.and if you have a special request, they accommadate you .You won't go away hungry. I like the shared kitchen. It has all the items you need to make your lunch and dinner..Carmen helps with all your questions and cooks awesome...
I will stay in Posada Inn while visiting La Fortuna for sure..

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Very nice room with clean bathroom.
Breakfast is absolutely amazing! Every day we enjoyed delicious fruit and the best gallo pinto in town.
And there are hammocks in the garden...perfect for relaxing after a long day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolijnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

After learning that our room was given away by another hostel in town and walking all over the town to find another place to stay, Posada inn was a breath of fresh air. We meet Carmen the receptionist, she was very nice and helpful and was able to book us a room. The room was just what we were looking for, a clean bed, bathroom, and hot water. With a extra bonus of breakfast in the morning (typical tico breakfast)! All for $13 pp. We would recomend this inn to backpackers looking for a nice clean place to lay your head down for a couple of night, it is certaintly worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpb0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

My room w/private bath was very very clean. $11/day!!The meals here were great. Home cooked by a great lady and mom named "Neadia". She would put fresh fruit out in the yard and we would watch 20-40 colorful birds swarm in to eat the fruit while we had our meals

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaska99503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.5 mi away
EcoHostel
EcoHostel
#16 of 74 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Fortuna Rooms
La Fortuna Rooms
#20 of 44 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
8 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Choza Inn Hostel
La Choza Inn Hostel
#16 of 44 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cabinas Las Palmas
Cabinas Las Palmas
#29 of 44 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arenal Bromelias
Hotel Arenal Bromelias
#22 of 44 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabinas Dona Alicia
Cabinas Dona Alicia
#22 of 74 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Del Arenal

Address: Calle central | Main road, 250m east of La Fortuna central park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £14 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Del Arenal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada del Arenal, we are located in the center of La Fortuna. The supermarket and local stores are only 200 meters west on Main Street and walk a little further to find a bank / ATM, cafes, excellent restaurants and bars, all within walking distance. We have a very safe and quiet environment, so come to relax and enjoy our hospitality. Parking. Tour Desk. Communal Kitchen. Wi-Fi and Free Internet. View of Arenal Volcano. TV on the Back Patio. Private Baths with Hot Water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Posada Del Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Posada Del Arenal Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing