We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's in a name?!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Fortuna Backpackers
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Before you go here make very sure that you don't actually want Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna. Very close in name but that is where the similarities end. We turned up expecting a lively, funky hostel with a bar and ended up staying the night in what essentially appeared to be a garden shed because we felt stupid and a bit guilty about the case of mistaken identity. The hostel is very small and people seem loathe to make a sound. Perhaps that's because you're essentially in someone's home. My husband had to ask for towels from the owner as he lay on his bed watching TV with his wife. In the morning I tiptoed through the "communal" kitchen where he and his son were having breakfast. There was no backpacker banter; the few other guests were holed up in the dorm. That said if you take the room itself at face value there's nothing really wrong with it. If you book a private you'll get passible cleanliness, a comfy bed in a quiet neighbourhood and a functioning, cold, shower. Just make sure it's where you meant to end up!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinchoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

La fortuna backpackers is not the most luxurious place but it is quiet, clean and most off all, the owner is amazing!!! he helped us book tours and even got us a pretty good discount on transport. He was very happy and helpfull, I higly recommend this hotel for the quality of the service and for the nice and quiet atmosphere!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank -Penelope-vacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Spent a night there. Since the dorm room I booked was full, they gave me the single room with private bathroom. Nice on their part. It is a small hostel and did not get to hang out much as most of the guests where family members traveling together. The host (a young woman) is very nice but not a good source of information about tours and hangouts, which would be useful in a town that is all about that. Nice little patio to chill in the morning or evenings coming back from hikes. Don't get the breakfast, it is cheap but not cooked there, just walk 2 blocks to the soda next door and you will find same food for cheaper (it is where they buy it anyhow). Good experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The owner made the end of our trip just what we needed. He took care of us from the moment we arrived to booking us our way out. Travelling gets exhausting when you don't plan ahead and just go with the flow so it was a nice break having someone book everything for us.

Thanks Andrew, we had a blast!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed in a room with private bath. We had a complimentary breakfast as we booked our Arenal volcano hike with hot springs with them.The staff speaks little English but was very friendly. We had to switch on the fan as it was hot and mosquitoes were buzzing around. It was quiet at night. A typical backpackers hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinkBear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We experienced a lousy night in this noisy place. We stayed in one of the private rooms. One of the mattrasses was very smelly and the blankets were not very clean. No attempt was made to add any atmosphere to the hostel. The room most likely used to be a storage room. The owner is very helpful and friendly, though. If you go to La Fortuna search a little harder to find better value. We could recommend La Choza Inn behind the church.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LennieSuus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We experienced a room with private bathroom. All very simple but nice. 
There's no breakfast included but the kitchen is well equipped and there is a pleasent outdoor dinning area.

We loved the fact that they give free laundry with 3 nights stay - super convenient! 

Recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zararock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
6.5 mi away
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
#8 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,562 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,574 reviews
4.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#6 of 76 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
651 reviews
4.5 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,368 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fortuna Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fortuna Backpackers

Address: 75 mts Norte del Banco Popular | Frente a la Escuela La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £8 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fortuna Backpackers, is a familiar Project, with the idea of creating a place where the visitors can lodge in a friendly, clean, safe and low budget space; where they can enjoy all the natural attractions offered by La Fortuna, San Carlos; here converge big touristic attractions, including the majestic Arenal Volcano, accompanied by the hot spring, whitewater rafting, waterfalls and the tropical rain forest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Fortuna Backpackers Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing