We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A + Accommodations and Hospitality”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
120 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 120 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Lisa P
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A + Accommodations and Hospitality”
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My family of four, including 2 boys ages 8 and 10, could not have had more perfect accommodations for the three nights we visited the Arenal area. I had no idea how much my family would appreciate the extras...pool table, darts, foosball, horseshoes, trails, board games, and private pool - which was immaculately kept! And I loved the beautiful details of the outdoor living space! The bedroom and bath were spacious and picture perfect. Wendy was a joy to meet and was helpful with ideas in our approach to the area. The location of the house is removed from the hoopla of La Fortuna, but in my opinion, it is perfect for feeling the nature and beauty of Costa Rica. And, even though we were 10-15 minutes from the 'main road', we were only minutes away from the Springs Resort, which was great for a 2 day pass to their hot springs and adventure activities. If I had to plan our ten day trip again, Villa Hermosa would be on my family's 'replay' list.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Package Experience of the Guest House
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerryN22
United States
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Jewel in the Countryside!!!!”
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at this location after dark having been delayed in departing San Juan and we were a little concerned about getting in until we saw the gates to the property open and our wonderful host Wendy with a flashlight there to greet us!! A great relief for our first night ever in CR! She showed us around the property...offered us a drink and let us know (after telling her about just flying in and driving to the Villa) about a small store 300 meters up the road where we could get a bite to eat and drinks! Didn't expect treatment like that! Being in the country it is comforting to have the property gated for vehicle protection. Awoke in the AM the sounds of the workers heading up the road the Springs resort for the AM shift. Was very glad of that, as I explored the grounds and sat next to the pool and listening to and watching the dozens of birds that stop and visit the grounds each morning. The landscaping is fantastically maintained to the extent thst it prompted me to take pictures that morning. Wendy is a wonderful host and Misael(sp?) does a great job in cleaning and maintaining the grounds. Will definitely stay here again as the place is special and the host is great. It takes a little while to get there (15 minutes from La Fortuna) but it is well worth the drive to enjoy! BTW, Wendy can also put you in touch with a great guide in Monteverde if you ae heading there next!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendliness of host and the grounds
Liked least: Dirt roads leading to the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericgpe
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Hermosa is the perfect get away from it all. The Villa is beautiful - the décor is exquisite with the perfect touch of Costa Rican culture. The open concept with the outside living room, dining room and fully equipped kitchen gives it a real tropical feel. The private pool is perfect for hot sunny days and when you simply want to have a drink and relax while star gazing. The garden is inviting and perfect for bird watching and appreciating different vegetation, flowers and butterflies. The hammocks were my two boy’s favorite place for a lazy afternoon. Wendy was very nice and gave us a lot of information about the different tours and things we could do. What my husband and two boys appreciated very much was the nicely decorated “man cave” equipped with a pool table, dart board, wet bar with fridge - they had lots of “man only’” fun in there. The Villa is about 15 minutes from La Fortuna by car; suggest arriving during daylight as the road is not lit and can be foggy depending on weather. There is also a charming little Tico village where you can get groceries and go for pizza or drinks about 5 minutes away. Overall an amazing experience! Would love to come back and recommend to any of my friends in search of “Pura Vida”

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private pool, garden and open concept.
Liked least: Distance from La Fortuna and dark road.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie P
Niwot, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“A true Costa Rican experience!”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

First, I'd like to thank all the other travelers that stayed at and reviewed Villa Hermosa. I did extensive research in advance to find the perfect place, and the reviews of prior guests did not lead me wrong. Villa Hermosa was perfect for us! Yes, we were a family of 4 sharing one bedroom area, but the space is large and well laid-out. My family all LOVED the open-air floorplan of the living room, dining room, kitchen area. It truly made you feel like you were experiencing the true Costa Rica. Add to that the fact that you are about 15-20 minutes from a true town, on a remote-feeling back-country road, and you really do feel you are experiencing what few people do. Yet, the space was clean and comfortable, the owner is truly welcoming and friendly, and the groundskeeper was always there keeping the property immaculate. We shopped for groceries each day at a little, local grocery about 5 minutes away, and used the property as a base for exploring the Arenal area. The pool was just for us, and my boys loved grabbing a flashlight and wandering the paths on the property looking for frogs, geckos, and iguanas. I would definitely advise renting a 4x4 to travel safely on the roads, which are very basic, narrow, dirt roads. We had a Toyota Rav4, and felt it was perfect. All in all, I give Villa Hermosa and Wendy, the owner, a definite vote of approval. Wendy helped me plan all my activities in advance, and had confirmation sheets and driving suggestions ready for me each day. It was very comforting having someone there watching out for us, but giving us privacy, too. A perfect place to stay that is REAL!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remote location and the real feel
Liked least: The pool felt pretty cold, but that could have just been the cool weather while we were there.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2016
Thank you Marie & Happy New Year! I am so happy you all enjoyed your stay here...come back soon! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisahmb
Half Moon Bay, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Luxurious, Relaxing, and Beautiful”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Yes, the road to Villa Hermosa is very bumpy, but the drive is totally worth it. Super clean and new, the living/kitchen area is outside with luxurious curtains surrounding the tiled area. I loved sitting outside and listening to the rain. The bedroom is huge if you want to hang out in the air conditioning . The pool is pretty and at night the frogs come out. We played darts and pool in the rec room, all equipment is new. Wendy is super helpful and knows all the local birds. On our drives out to sightsee we saw a sloth in the same tree. Just down the road from the Springs Resort if you want to visit hot springs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAK54
Cypress, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Paradise in the shadow of the Arenal Volcano in Costa Rica”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We leased this vacation rental sight unseen through a Facebook relationship and couldn't have been more pleased. Wendy, our host, was very attentive. The guest house was spotless and well furnished. The pool was beautiful and cleaned every other day. We had plenty of towels and utensils for the kitchen and grill. We weren't sure which tourist attractions we should go to, so she gave us a list to choose from and made the reservations for us. We enjoyed all of them.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sounds of the birds in the trees and the rain on the metal roof.
Liked least: The bumpy, rutted roads getting to it.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelmvb...
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“most comfortable, outdoor living style in beautiful setting”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

owner/host Wendy has really put her heart and soul in this place. A beautiful landscaped property with through outdoor Costa rica style living space. Website description and picture are surpassed by the real experience. don't expect too much sun, as this is the rain forest. We never saw the Volcano in our 4 day stay, but everything else made more than up for this. highly recommended. Wendy's detailed descriptions of directions, area, airport/travel in CR is very detailed and very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: outdoor living and beautiful landscaped setting
Liked least: the weather (but nobody can control that)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing