We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not fancy, but we really liked it”
Review of Cabinas Las Palmas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabinas Las Palmas
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not fancy, but we really liked it”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

La Fortuna is a pretty rustic place mostly and this hostel was no luxurious resort, but it was a very good experience. Everything was clean and the beds were pretty comfortable. Francklin, the owner, helped us book the tours we wanted and all our transportation. When we wanted to go to the waterfall and asked him to call us a taxi he said "Oh I'll drive you there in my car." He drove us there and picked us up again after, which was super nice of him. He didn't push the tours on us that we noticed, but he did get us a better deal most days. Only one day were we unhappy with the price of a tour.

I would highly recommend this as a good, cheap place to stay in La Fortuna. Very centrally located!

Room Tip: We didn't mind the ground floor. Easy access to the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherMW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    25
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
10
41
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

All the reviews who talk about the owner trying to coerce you into taking him up on one of the tours on his list. Luckily my spouse is Costa Rican and we just said she had a headache and we were going to take it easy and sleep. He was clearly frustrated, but reluctantly did not press further.

Our room had a minimalist, quite rigid bed. There was a TV and a fan. Restroom was in OK shape. But for the cost, I really couldn't complain. We needed a budget spot, and this one was clean. It could have been worse and I still wouldn't have complained. Who comes to a hotel this cheap and thinks they're going to get top of the line service?

OH yeah, and I could see the volcano out of my window. Winner.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I'm not one to leave a bad review, but I believe it is my duty to do so in this case. The owner/manager was a nightmare. Sure, if you spend hundreds of dollars on his tours, he'll love you. But if you plan on just being a guest at his hotel, prepare for a very unfriendly experience. We cannot recommend this hotel to anyone, and definitely would not return here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

San Pedro, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is an awesome place to stay if you're just looking for a quite room to sleep in between adventures. The staff is very helpful if you're looking for stuff to do, and the rooms are clean and quiet. The upstairs rooms have an amazing view of the volcano. The rooms have a fan and a tv.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Averi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2013

16 friends and I went to this place recommened by the school we are studying at in San Jose. This hotel was wonderful and clean and there was even AC and hot water. Francklin the owner, was so nice to all of us! We were able to go to Baldi Hot Springs because of him and he drove us there and picked us up! We got a great deal too! The following day we hiked to the waterfall in La Fortuna and asked him to pick us up and he had no problem doing that for us! He was so sweet, I would certainly stay here again when I come back to La Fortuna!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed here 3 nights during our honeymoon. The hotel is clean and well priced but only the upstairs rooms have views of the volcano. The salesman, Tony was friendly but his constant talking got tiresome and he got very pushy over booking tours etc - he would find us around the town and start telling us what to do next in the middle of the street. The owner, Franklin, however totally ruined our trip. He was incredibly rude from the moment we arrived and refused to even shake my hand to say hello. We didn't trust him especially when he lost our spare key and was thumping on our door accusing us of stealing it - why did he need a key to our room so badly? In the end we paid our last night but actually moved to Gringo Pete's down the road. We preferred to pay more to be away from the place. The only unfriendly Costa Rican we met on our trip.

Room Tip: In April you will definitely need air con as it is very humid. There is a supermarket next door and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank St_abu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We (3 females) stayed there for 3 nights, we got a really nice deal. The room was nice and clean with a fresh smell, not humid. Top scale compared to some of the other places around the block. Frank the owner was really nice and friendly, even gave us a ride to a car rental place and then back to the hotel. Beautiful view of the Arenal volcano right from your door, all we had to do was open the door and enjoy the view. It's in the center of La Fortuna, about one and a half block from the bus stop, one block off the park.

The only thing, or complaint that i can think of was that his wife didn't take well to us single girls around her husband and as result our roon was not clean daily and we basically had to ask for towels and paper toilet. Otherwise, it was one of the cleanest (We cleaned our own room, i asked for a broom and took out the trash) places we stayed on.

Room Tip: Best place to stay at La Fortuna. Best price and prime location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Volcan
Hotel El Volcan
#53 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#29 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cabinas la Catarata
Cabinas la Catarata
#4 of 73 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Choza Inn Hostel
La Choza Inn Hostel
#16 of 43 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arenal Backpackers Resort
Arenal Backpackers Resort
#7 of 73 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mayol Lodge
Mayol Lodge
#11 of 43 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Las Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Las Palmas

Property: Cabinas Las Palmas
Address: Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas Las Palmas 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Cabinas Las Palmas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Las Palmas Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing