We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Extreme Cerro Chato hike

It was better than we expected. A true adventure! We were in the jungle for 4 - 5 hours, then to... read more

Reviewed 22 June 2018
LauraCleveland
,
Fraser, Colorado
Spectacular Waterfall at Volcano

This was a spectacular Waterfall in Volcano area. Walk 500 steps down in to canyon to see... read more

Reviewed 25 March 2018
abollwerk
,
Parker, Colorado
Read all 350 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around La Fortuna de San Carlos
from US$28.00
More Info
from US$134.00
More Info
from US$70.00
More Info
from US$18.00
More Info
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
206
99
29
14
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
99
29
14
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green lagoon crater lake observatory lodge climb down amazing hike up hill covered in mud costa rica trail shape swim jungle shoes steps
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2017

A great (uphill) hike through the jungle! It is steep in places, but do-able for most. We hiked into the volcano and even took a swim in the lake. Unfortunately, it was cloudy and rainy that day, so we weren't able to enjoy the views--but I still recommend it! We followed up with a soak in the local hot springs (a great way to relax after a hike)!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank MereG828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Our guides Augusto and Elesere from Arsenal Adventurs were fantastic! The hike is good hard work, and the rewards are fabulous: swimming in a crater lake, swimming in the waterfall pool, seeing a beautiful sunset at the Observatory Lodge, and laying in a thermal fed river with fabulous warm water rushing over you while drinking a local drink and getting a volcanic facial. Unbelievable day! Plus, the 20 people in our group were from all over the world and they were fun and so interesting.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Green Lagoon start to top. Difficult scrambling style hike without "trail" style switchbacks. Very muddy on our date. Great views, wildlife birds, jungle top of trail. It was too much to walk down to the Observatory as part of the day.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

The trail up to the crater and view of Arenal is badly eroded once you can get into the forested area. The hurricane in November and subsequent rain has made this trail very hard - a scramble or climb in places. The climb down to the crater is difficult.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank PubLover7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We completed the hike up the side of the volcano for the second time this year and enjoyed once again. It is a strenuous hike, take lots of water and some foods as there is none available once on the trail. It costs $12 per person and the views and lagoon are well worth it.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank kira983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews