We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Extreme Cerro Chato hike

It was better than we expected. A true adventure! We were in the jungle for 4 - 5 hours, then to... read more

Reviewed 22 June 2018
LauraCleveland
,
Fraser, Colorado
Spectacular Waterfall at Volcano

This was a spectacular Waterfall in Volcano area. Walk 500 steps down in to canyon to see... read more

Reviewed 25 March 2018
abollwerk
,
Parker, Colorado
Read all 350 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around La Fortuna de San Carlos
from US$28.00
More Info
from US$134.00
More Info
from US$70.00
More Info
from US$18.00
More Info
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
206
99
29
14
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
99
29
14
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green lagoon crater lake observatory lodge climb down amazing hike up hill covered in mud costa rica trail shape swim jungle shoes steps
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2017

The trailhead says this is difficult and should take 2 hours total. The difficult bit is accurate, as this is more of a scramble than a trail. It is muddy in areas and you should watch what you grab onto for leverage (we came upon a snake near the top). It took us closer to 2.5 hours, but we stopped a few times for water breaks. The view of the lake is not that spectacular, and if we had more time we would have trekked down for a swim. Hiking down in the mud is tricky if you are not agile. Their suggested distance for the hike (as well as some other hikes around the area) seemed to be less than what it was in reality. I notice there are a couple people who posted that the trail is now closed. We entered via the Arenal Observatory on June 22, 2017 (which costs $10US each to access the grounds) and it was open at that time. Maybe best to call the Observatory.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Maeter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

I feel SO sorry for anyone that paid for a tour to this lake. First of all it is a HARD climb; steep, muddy. Some points you have to physically pull yourself up and all for... a lake, seriously it's a lake. Has nobody ever seen a lake before?? I honestly don't get this. I am a 26 year old with moderate fitness and I really struggled and what you get at the end of it is a cold, not very beautiful body of water. Costa Rica really will charge tourists for ANYTHING!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Mullen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

A great (uphill) hike through the jungle! It is steep in places, but do-able for most. We hiked into the volcano and even took a swim in the lake. Unfortunately, it was cloudy and rainy that day, so we weren't able to enjoy the views--but I still recommend it! We followed up with a soak in the local hot springs (a great way to relax after a hike)!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank MereG828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Our guides Augusto and Elesere from Arsenal Adventurs were fantastic! The hike is good hard work, and the rewards are fabulous: swimming in a crater lake, swimming in the waterfall pool, seeing a beautiful sunset at the Observatory Lodge, and laying in a thermal fed river with fabulous warm water rushing over you while drinking a local drink and getting a volcanic facial. Unbelievable day! Plus, the 20 people in our group were from all over the world and they were fun and so interesting.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Green Lagoon start to top. Difficult scrambling style hike without "trail" style switchbacks. Very muddy on our date. Great views, wildlife birds, jungle top of trail. It was too much to walk down to the Observatory as part of the day.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews