We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in La Fortuna with great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arenal Hostel Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Best place to stay in La Fortuna with great staff!”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This hostel resort was my favorite place to stay on my two week trip to Costa Rica. Best deal for your money. The resort will set up activities every day for you with numerous different option. Each day and provide transportation to get there. We did an ATV tour near the volcano and a scenic river by raft trip through them. Rooms were big and comfortable. Great pool with bar and snack bar. Great location with volcano view. Best staff of any place I have been in my traveling experience. They made us feel at home and allowed us to have a good time. Manuel at the pool bar was fun and made great drinks! Alonso and Jesse helped set up our other activities and got us a great deal for them. Augustine on the ATV tour was experienced and made it fun. Thanks Arenal Hostel resort! I will definitely recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktaud14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    159
    77
    29
    30
See reviews for
60
154
130
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stow, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

In my opinion, this hotel is the best value in la fortuna. The staff at this hotel could not have been more accomidating. Jesse, was always around to ensure we made the most of our stay and enjoyed plenty of activities during our stay. He highlighted the "must sees" of the area and was very very friendly. Alonzo also makes up this wonderful staff. Alonzo is very friendly and knowledgeable. When driving our group to different activities he gave us extra information about the history of Costa Rica and went out of his way to help us plan an itinerary for the rest of our travels in Costa Rica. Manuel is another smiling face you will run into at Areneal hostel resort. He is the bartender at the wonderful pool. Prices could not be better for his hand crafted cocktails.
I've stayed at another hotel in the la fortuna area before. However, after staying at the hostel resort I will never stay anywhere else. I hope to run into this wonderful group of people again in the near future! Pura vida!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23O_H_I_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed here one night a private room for two was $30 as I can remember. They gave us a drink upon arrival and enjoyed laying in the hammocks, and views of Arenal Volcano. They have a swim up bar and it's clean, safe parking and a mini resort!

Room Tip: Dorms were less than the private room. The Private room we had was upstairs across from the office a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World Traveler P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kreuzberg, Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

First Hostel of my Costa Rican Adventure that lasted 3 weeks. I have to stay its still my favorite. Jesse runs a first class place it makes crazy to book tours or just chill at the hostel. The hammocks and pool were very nice. The dorm was nice only negative the shower wasn't working well in the six bed dorm. Also I need to give shout out to Alsono the in house tour guide, book your tour hikes with him. He loves his job speaks great English and just is wonderful human being. Waiting for Taxi Boat Taxi he translated and showed me documents from the 1968 Volcano. It was amazing Jesse give Alsono more tours if you can. Just a great place good vibes Pura Vida!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Initially, we were very impressed with the Arenal Hostel. Sonya who welcomed us was so incredibly helpful and hospitable, even introducing us to a group that has rented out most of the rooms. Unfortunately, the next day after we packed up, we left our bags in our locked rental car in their theoretically secured and gated parking lot after being reassured it would be safe. We returned an hour later to find two of our bags stolen.

Naturally, the Hostel took zero responsibility for the theft. They called the police for us and that was it. We should have been wiser, but they should have offered better advice and at least try to help us in some way.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkB_onTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortunaAssistence, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Hostel Resort, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
This is Jesse Your host here at the Hostel. I would like to say that we were very sorry to hear that your bags were taken from your car. Unfortanatly there are people in this world that do those kind of things to good people. We take every precaution we can to make sure those things don’t happen. We have security in our parking lot at night and check it frequently in the day. We called the police and are hoping they find the person and your bags. The rental car had not been damaged so the person that took the items probably had a copy of the key from the rental car. We have a gated entrance and nobody can come enter our facility unless they are staying with us. We always suggest for our guest to keep their items in the room or our laundry until they are ready to check out. Again we are very sorry and all here at the hostel hope the police will locate the items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paderborn, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2012

It feels more like a resort than a hostel, with its clean pool, the bar, the palms and the hammocks, ... . Rooms and bathrooms are spotless and they had the cleanest fridge I have ever seen in a hostel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, too. It is not the cheapest hostel but well worth the price if you want to relax. It is located in the centre of La Fortuna.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bounty2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This hostel was great. Jesse was super welcoming and friendly. Definitely helped you find good deals and stuff to do around La Fortuna. The pool was great, so was the bartender, Manuel. Hammocks were super cozy. I felt extremely safe at the hostel. It was at a great location. Walking distance throughout the entire town. Very close to excursions. They didn't mind that my friends (who were staying at a resort that didn't allow visitors) came and hung out by the pool and in our room. It was a nice hostel and I would definitely recommend it to anyone staying in La Fortuna.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielle l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,507 reviews
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,884 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,432 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Hostel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Hostel Resort

Property: Arenal Hostel Resort
Address: La Fortuna, San Carlos. | South side of catholic church, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 75 Speciality Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Hostel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Hostel Resort, besides standing out for our excellent location in La Fortuna, is a place that characterize for making the difference, where day by day we work as a team to provide our guests a unique experience in boarding and adventure. The charisma of our team members and their renowned assistance, is what makes Arenal Hostel Resort a place to come back. Arenal Hostel Resort was born with the idea of making a new concept in the area, where a good price and the quality of lodging, were the fundamental aspect that would identify us. As well as a point of meeting to make friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Arenal Hostel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hostel Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing