We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt very comfortable here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Hostel Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Felt very comfortable here”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We really liked this hotel. The rooms are huge and clean, the staff very helpful and friendly. The garden area with the pool and the bar make it easy to get to know other people who are staying there.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nischu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    159
    77
    29
    31
See reviews for
60
154
130
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My first experience with Arenal Hostel Resort was as a friend of a guest, and the staff was still so welcoming. They let me join their morning adventure to the free swimming hole (Alonso took great pics of everyone using the tarzan swing), hang out in the hammocks/use the pool in the afternoon, and booked a tour for me even though I wasn't staying there!

After that it was a no-brainer that I'd check in when I needed a place to stay in town. Really clean 6-person dorm with AC and comfortable beds for $12. The only bad part was the clogged toilet. Told Jesse the owner before I left on a tour and it was fixed by the time I got back, so props on the quick service.

Small hostel filled with solo backpackers, groups of friends, and couples looking for an affordable but nice place to stay. There are hammocks and rocking chairs for relaxing and a swim-up bar with music for socializing with other guests and staff. One free drink/shot after arrival and $2 cervezas.

Jesse, Alonso, and the rest of the staff were amazingly helpful and really friendly. Good vibes all around, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alda8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2012

This is by far the best hostel in La Fortuna. Jesse and the crew are super friendly and helpful. This is a very social hostel where most guests get to know each other within a few hours. The hostel is lots of fun and there is always something going on in it (the music stays on past 10pm). It feels more like a hotel resort than a hostel while maintaining hostel prices. Excellent experience.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are most quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bernardino
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

My friends and I were supposed to stay at a sleezy looking hostel down the street, but when we got locked in our room because the door broke we decided to trust the vibes and head somewhere else. So we wandered here, good job us. This place has a very cool courtyard, hammocks, a small pool, swim up bar, TVs, and basic rooms surrounding the courtyard. They were almost booked for the night so the 4 of us were put in a 6 person room with two other girls who had been staying there previously. The room had AC, THAT ACTUALLY WORKED! We each got a free drink, and the manager Jesse made us feel right at home. You can order pretty much whatever you want to eat and they deliver to the hostel, plus you can order reasonably priced drinks as well. Makes it easy to relax. Highly recommend, only thing I regret is we stayed only one night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkercrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The host was very welcoming the moment you step into the door and the staff was very eager to help out where they could. The locals and Americans were the nicest people and I really felt safe. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is in the area!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puntarenas, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Super great value! A peaceful and beautiful garden right in town! Best staff!
The dorms are very nice and clean with A/C. Each dorm has 3 bunks beds with its own private bathroom, big shower and hot water. They have private rooms too.
Beds are comfortable, there is space enough compared to others places. The common area is really awesome, nice pool and pool bar, hammocks, kitchen with everything you need even sugar and salt...The kitchen get cleaned by the staff after each meal!!!
The staff is extremely helpful, I had a computer charger problem, an employee made a call and someone dropped a new adapter for me to use there. They will organize really great tours for you and even show you some good place to go for free (check the swimming hole) and walk you there.
They took us on an great intense hike as high as we could go on the volcano, we played games with the bartender, anyway we had a great time...
I highly recommend this place...
They work really hard for you to have fun.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This hostel resort was my favorite place to stay on my two week trip to Costa Rica. Best deal for your money. The resort will set up activities every day for you with numerous different option. Each day and provide transportation to get there. We did an ATV tour near the volcano and a scenic river by raft trip through them. Rooms were big and comfortable. Great pool with bar and snack bar. Great location with volcano view. Best staff of any place I have been in my traveling experience. They made us feel at home and allowed us to have a good time. Manuel at the pool bar was fun and made great drinks! Alonso and Jesse helped set up our other activities and got us a great deal for them. Augustine on the ATV tour was experienced and made it fun. Thanks Arenal Hostel resort! I will definitely recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktaud14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,510 reviews
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,435 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Hostel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Hostel Resort

Property: Arenal Hostel Resort
Address: La Fortuna, San Carlos. | South side of catholic church, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 75 Speciality Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Hostel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Hostel Resort, besides standing out for our excellent location in La Fortuna, is a place that characterize for making the difference, where day by day we work as a team to provide our guests a unique experience in boarding and adventure. The charisma of our team members and their renowned assistance, is what makes Arenal Hostel Resort a place to come back. Arenal Hostel Resort was born with the idea of making a new concept in the area, where a good price and the quality of lodging, were the fundamental aspect that would identify us. As well as a point of meeting to make friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Arenal Hostel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hostel Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing