We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arenal Hostel Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Friendly staff, clean rooms, great drinks. We all agreed that it was the best out of the 5 hostels we stayed in on our trip. It is close to a lot of stores but the best prices and most authentic restaurants are about 4 blocks past the church.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RadicalDira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

Nice spacious room (air conditioning!) with patio chairs and hammocks outside. Beautiful courtyard with bar and fountain. Breakfast was reasonably priced and was a good Costa Rican buffet breakfast (lots of food). The secure parking was really nice. The hostel is set back from the road, so look for the hallway under their sign. If you are looking for peace and quiet, maybe not the place, but a nice mix of friendly travelers to socialize with. Would definitely recommend this hostel for your stay in La Fortuna.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Clean, well run/maintained place in all aspects.
Great staff and guests; in a nice central area, with easy access to good restaurants, parks, supermarkets..
Many aspects were like a luxury hotel.
Grounds were really outstanding.

Room Tip: Diverse room types were available, from bunk beds to lots of doubles. Ask what type of beds preferr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We've stayed for two nights here and had a really nice time.
The room was really clean and the bathroom was huge.
The hostel grounds are very beautiful with many hammocks and chairs to relax on. They also have their own parking area and a shared kitchen that we've used that was really nice and clean.
The only thing that bothered us is that we got a room on the ground floor right next to the kitchen where the workers came early (at around 5:30am) and we could hear them talk and listen to music through the door..
So if you have the chance, ask for rooms upstairs or at the opposite end of the pool/kitchen/bar area.
Also, the swimming pool is really small, you can only kind of sit or stand there but definitely not swim.. Still, it has a swim-up bar where you can enjoy the refreshing pool and a drink :)
Another thing to take into consideration is towels. They don't give you any, but you can rent a towel for 10$ for your entire stay and replace it whenever you want a dry and clean one..

Over all, it's great place for its price

Room Tip: Don't take the rooms that are close to the kitchen/bar/pool area, they are pretty noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I was extremely surprised at the quality of this hostel. The grounds, rooms, pool with swim up bar and staff were all top-notch. We got a free welcome drink on arrival, got heaps of helpful advice from the staff and therefore had a chill, relaxing night!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angie_travelpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great hostel, really friendly staff. Definitely one of the nicest hostels I've stayed at, especially in Costa Rica. Met some great people there. Great place to stay for lonesome travelers. Owner is great at recommending things to do and see and very resourceful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hostel is awesome, amazing atmosphere with hammocks, trees, a pool with a swim up bar. Rooms are clean, nice, wooden-cabiny. No complaints. Good Location. Staff was very friendly and helpful with organizing tours. Definately one of the nicer hostels I have stayed at, and I always am keen to look up reviews to make sure Im staying at one of the better places and this did not dissapoint.
Security gates are great too,. its all locked up at night with a security guard for extra safety (who will also let u in if you come back late).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,584 reviews
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,027 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,378 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#32 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Hostel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Hostel Resort

Address: Sobre Carretera Principal #142 | South side of catholic church, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 Speciality Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £16 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arenal Hostel Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Hostel Resort, besides standing out for our excellent location in La Fortuna, is a place that characterize for making the difference, where day by day we work as a team to provide our guests a unique experience in boarding and adventure. The charisma of our team members and their renowned assistance, is what makes Arenal Hostel Resort a place to come back. Arenal Hostel Resort was born with the idea of making a new concept in the area, where a good price and the quality of lodging, were the fundamental aspect that would identify us. As well as a point of meeting to make friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Arenal Hostel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hostel Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing