We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hostel rocks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arenal Hostel Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“This hostel rocks”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Arenal Hostel Resort was awesome. Jenny was great and set up my tours for me. I had to switch rooms because is decided to stay longer and it was to a larger room with full size beds. They didn't charge me more money. They treat their guest great. I would stay there again. I would recommend the Arenal Hostel Resort to anyone going to La Fortuna.
I made a good friend.

Thanks
Jenny


Jeffrey

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cowboys93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    157
    76
    28
    26
See reviews for
58
151
127
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

There are some great stuff about it and some not so much. We got a private room right next to the kitchen/pool/bar area and couldn't sleep past 7am when everyone headed out for breakfast as the walls are super thin. Except that everything was great! The kitchen is good, the location is great and the secure parking is awesome. At least 3 supermarkets in 5 minutes radius. Butcher shop and a fresh fruit stand right next to the parking lot. The grounds like many other travellers said are beautiful and very well maintained. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Beware that the night guard only speaks Spanish so we had some trouble communicating when we arrived late at night. We never ate from the bar/local food stand but all the food is frozen and we've seen the cook lady drop the food a few times on a few different occasions on the floor and then pick it up and serve to customers regardless

Room Tip: Do not stay in any rooms near the kitchen pool area unless you don't plan to sleep in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wacko_654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed at this hostel for four nights in one of their 6 bed dorm rooms and truly loved the experience. The staff and bartenders were all friendly and spoke good english. The location of the hostel was very convenient. The supermarket, laundromat and many restaurants were all within short walking distance. The hostel itself has a good design and there are many spots to privately sit and chill outside of your room. And there is a morning breakfast buffet that is quite tasty, I ate it everyday that I was there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derrickrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Outstanding in so many ways. Stay here. Everything from the service, location, and overall beauty of the place makes it easily the best hostel I've ever stayed in. My only complaint, if I had to make one would be the rooms are quite dark.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLynn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati, oh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My sister and I stayed here twice during my trip. The first time, we had made an error in booking and somehow ended up in a large "family" room with 5 double beds. The second time we had a normal "private" room near the bar/pool area. If it was high season, I think it may have been noisy in that second room, but the white noise of the AIR CONDITIONER!!!! drowned any noise out for me.

The pool is small, but a welcome cool-off after a long day of bus travel, and the bar and common areas are very comfortable and encourage mingling. The staff has EXCELLENT English and are very helpful and accommodating. A very full breakfast buffet was available for a small fee ($7USD when I was there).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is a nice hostel for budget travel. I occupied one room, and found that it could have more character - the interior is plain (i.e., nothing). But the garden, the atmosphere, the friendly staff well make up for the quality of the room.

Sometimes I did not have hot water (it was warm), but this is a minor problem for Costa Rica and for a hostel. These guys are very good with security - once I checked out, they remembered I am not a guest anymore when I stopped by to pick my bags. That might not sound quite friendly, but definitely is very safe.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Volga981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Friendly staff, clean rooms, great drinks. We all agreed that it was the best out of the 5 hostels we stayed in on our trip. It is close to a lot of stores but the best prices and most authentic restaurants are about 4 blocks past the church.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RadicalDira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,794 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,345 reviews
3.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
#15 of 73 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Hostel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Hostel Resort

Property: Arenal Hostel Resort
Address: La Fortuna | South side of catholic church, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 73 Speciality Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Arenal Hostel Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Hostel Resort, besides standing out for our excellent location in La Fortuna, is a place that characterize for making the difference, where day by day we work as a team to provide our guests a unique experience in boarding and adventure. The charisma of our team members and their renowned assistance, is what makes Arenal Hostel Resort a place to come back. Arenal Hostel Resort was born with the idea of making a new concept in the area, where a good price and the quality of lodging, were the fundamental aspect that would identify us. As well as a point of meeting to make friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Arenal Hostel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hostel Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing