We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hostel experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Hostel Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect hostel experience!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I only spent one night here, but if we'd been in La Fortuna longer we'd have definitely made this our base - it was absolutely perfect!

Room was huge and spotless with a great big bathroom. Was slightly worried about noise as it was downstairs by the pool, but we had no problems at all and slept great.

Bar/pool area is brilliant and we enjoyed a few drinks and a dip there, as well as breakfast which was cheap and yummy.

Best thing about the hostel is definitely the staff, who were super helpful and friendly. Our bags had gone missing from our flight and we asked the airline to send them on to the hostel ahead of our arrival. This was no problem and they staff took care of them and communicated with us to let us know they had them safely.

Location also great for anything in Arenal/La Fortuna area - don't miss the free swimming hole 15mins walk away!

Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    159
    77
    29
    31
See reviews for
60
154
130
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Arenal Hostel Resort was awesome. Jenny was great and set up my tours for me. I had to switch rooms because is decided to stay longer and it was to a larger room with full size beds. They didn't charge me more money. They treat their guest great. I would stay there again. I would recommend the Arenal Hostel Resort to anyone going to La Fortuna.
I made a good friend.

Thanks
Jenny


Jeffrey

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cowboys93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

There are some great stuff about it and some not so much. We got a private room right next to the kitchen/pool/bar area and couldn't sleep past 7am when everyone headed out for breakfast as the walls are super thin. Except that everything was great! The kitchen is good, the location is great and the secure parking is awesome. At least 3 supermarkets in 5 minutes radius. Butcher shop and a fresh fruit stand right next to the parking lot. The grounds like many other travellers said are beautiful and very well maintained. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Beware that the night guard only speaks Spanish so we had some trouble communicating when we arrived late at night. We never ate from the bar/local food stand but all the food is frozen and we've seen the cook lady drop the food a few times on a few different occasions on the floor and then pick it up and serve to customers regardless

Room Tip: Do not stay in any rooms near the kitchen pool area unless you don't plan to sleep in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wacko_654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed at this hostel for four nights in one of their 6 bed dorm rooms and truly loved the experience. The staff and bartenders were all friendly and spoke good english. The location of the hostel was very convenient. The supermarket, laundromat and many restaurants were all within short walking distance. The hostel itself has a good design and there are many spots to privately sit and chill outside of your room. And there is a morning breakfast buffet that is quite tasty, I ate it everyday that I was there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derrickrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Outstanding in so many ways. Stay here. Everything from the service, location, and overall beauty of the place makes it easily the best hostel I've ever stayed in. My only complaint, if I had to make one would be the rooms are quite dark.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLynn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati, oh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My sister and I stayed here twice during my trip. The first time, we had made an error in booking and somehow ended up in a large "family" room with 5 double beds. The second time we had a normal "private" room near the bar/pool area. If it was high season, I think it may have been noisy in that second room, but the white noise of the AIR CONDITIONER!!!! drowned any noise out for me.

The pool is small, but a welcome cool-off after a long day of bus travel, and the bar and common areas are very comfortable and encourage mingling. The staff has EXCELLENT English and are very helpful and accommodating. A very full breakfast buffet was available for a small fee ($7USD when I was there).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is a nice hostel for budget travel. I occupied one room, and found that it could have more character - the interior is plain (i.e., nothing). But the garden, the atmosphere, the friendly staff well make up for the quality of the room.

Sometimes I did not have hot water (it was warm), but this is a minor problem for Costa Rica and for a hostel. These guys are very good with security - once I checked out, they remembered I am not a guest anymore when I stopped by to pick my bags. That might not sound quite friendly, but definitely is very safe.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Volga981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,508 reviews
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,432 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Hostel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Hostel Resort

Property: Arenal Hostel Resort
Address: La Fortuna, San Carlos. | South side of catholic church, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 75 Speciality Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Hostel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Hostel Resort, besides standing out for our excellent location in La Fortuna, is a place that characterize for making the difference, where day by day we work as a team to provide our guests a unique experience in boarding and adventure. The charisma of our team members and their renowned assistance, is what makes Arenal Hostel Resort a place to come back. Arenal Hostel Resort was born with the idea of making a new concept in the area, where a good price and the quality of lodging, were the fundamental aspect that would identify us. As well as a point of meeting to make friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Arenal Hostel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hostel Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing