We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIS PLACE IS THE BOMB!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arenal Hostel Resort
GreenLeadersGold level
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
“THIS PLACE IS THE BOMB!!!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed in a single room which was big, had air conditioning and a shower! This hostel knows how to vibe! Hammocks everywhere, a sick pool with a waterfall and a swim up bar. The staff is knowledgeable and very friendly! The outdoor activities are SICK! ziplining, waterfall propelling, horseback riding, hiking, hotsprings....oh yeah and there is weed and coke EVERYWHERE in costa rica. The weed kind of sucks (but I did end up finding some bomb in Taramindo) and the coke...well lets just say we're quite close to COLUMBIA

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    158
    76
    29
    29
See reviews for
60
152
130
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I booked a private room which was very large and clean. The bed wasn't super comfortable and the bathroom could have been nicer, but overall this place has enough positives that those things didn't matter. I felt very safe here by myself. The staff was SUPER helpful with booking activities and giving directions. I ended up having a fabulous day of a private jungle tour (I was the only who signed up!), a visit to the hot springs that included dinner and transportation that was all booked at the front desk within a few minutes. So easy and a great day! The location is very close to the bus station which was also nice. The breakfast was good, and a reasonable price, but go down the street to Rainforest Cafe for a great meal that was about the same price and included the most amazing coffee. (I think about that coffee regularly!). Also, the small restaurant near the bus station was my favorite and cheapest meal out of my entire week in Costa Rica. They offer some free activities which I wish I could have worked into my schedule.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RM1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hostel had the friendliest staff in all of Costa Rica. It offers locked gates, room doors, and lockers for security.There is a gorgeous pool with swim-up bar and a beautiful courtyard with palm trees and hammocks. Centrally located right by the bus stop, supermarkets, and restaurants. The staff are happy to book excursions, call taxis, and hang out with you in the bar at night. The kitchen wasn't amazing but served its purpose. You have to pay for breakfast, but the coffee is at least free! Had our time in La Fortuna consisted of simply hanging out in the pool, courtyard, and on our room's balcony, we would have considered it time well spent!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor, north side (main street) have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamberg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I'll start with the Positives and then to the Negatives.
++ Location was Great, the Beauty of the Hostel is Very Nice and the Pool & Bar look Fantastic. I didn't use the Kitchen but it looked nice. The food from the Restaurant is good.

- - Upon arrival they want you to wear a Wrist Band, they tell you it is for "Security" but that may be good for the Hostel but it is not good if you are a Single Female or even a Male for that matter because then a thief or anyone else will know where to follow you from or to. Trust me, it is not a good thing.

- - The first room I stayed in had no Lockers and the Door lock looked like it had been tampered with in the past.

- - You pay a deposit for your towel but what they don't tell you is that if your towel gets too dirty you won't get your deposit back. Seems odd since they will wash it anyway.

- - Although the Bar is very nice and the Bartenders are Great I do feel that since it is still a Hostel the prices were a little too high, as well as their food prices.

- - The 6 bed dorm rooms were Small, they should have only 4 beds in those rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apollo1down
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was the place we paid least and enjoyed most in our 15 days in Costa Rica. This place is charming, close to restaurants and supermarkets, Great bar and cleaning personal, very clean, and very helpful management. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 was because of the beds. We're getting older, and in need of a more comfortable bed to sleep. After this place, we stayed at Hilton Papagayo. Even though we paid 4 times more, we had no free wifi, smoothies were based on syrup and not fresh fruit and everything was designed to get the most money of the guests.
I'm just mentioning that so the management knows that guests are seeing these details and appreciating them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Per L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa cruz, ca
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Loved this place! Excellent helpful staff, great location right around corner from bus station and central in town, an amazing ambiance with hammocks, swim-up pool, little waterfalls-- kind of a Swiss Family Robinson vibe. Perfect name, it is like a cross between a resort and a hostel-- at the hostel price. Nice little kitchen with free coffee. Clean, safe and secure. Only complaint was the beds which desperately need upgrading-- thin squeaky uncomfortable mattresses.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aurabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

There was a kitchen in the room but not real one. I couldn't even use tap because drain isn't connected. And TV reception was not good.
But the bed and the bar, all of the service were perfect. I'm happy to stay there again.
Also security is really good so safe to protect own things inside of the room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz0122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,854 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,487 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,396 reviews
8.4 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
808 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#17 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Hostel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Hostel Resort

Property: Arenal Hostel Resort
Address: La Fortuna, San Carlos. | South side of catholic church, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 69 Speciality Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Arenal Hostel Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Hostel Resort, besides standing out for our excellent location in La Fortuna, is a place that characterize for making the difference, where day by day we work as a team to provide our guests a unique experience in boarding and adventure. The charisma of our team members and their renowned assistance, is what makes Arenal Hostel Resort a place to come back. Arenal Hostel Resort was born with the idea of making a new concept in the area, where a good price and the quality of lodging, were the fundamental aspect that would identify us. As well as a point of meeting to make friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Arenal Hostel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hostel Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing