We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pastoral place with an amazing outdoors kitchen”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Sierra Arenal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A pastoral place with an amazing outdoors kitchen”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived following a recommendation from a friend. We love this friend now.

This place is amazing. The rooms are clean, the shower has a powerful hot stream, the beds are big, and the AC works. You get a good view of the volcano from the balcony, and, since the hotel is on the outskirts of the city, it is quiet.

But the best thing about this place is the outdoors kitchen. It has everything you need, and more. The kitchen is even equipped with a full size BBQ. The kitchen also contains all the necessary ingredients for making a decent breakfast, including fresh milk (!). And it is all included in the price.

Bottom line: we've been to more expensive places during our visit to Costa Rica, and none of them compared to this place. If you are looking for a refuge for a good rest after the day's activities, look no further.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gilad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    11
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in a 2nd floor room with a balcony view of the Arenal volcano - $45/night. We were very pleased with the quality of the room which included a/c and a small refrigerator. The outside communal kitchen area was very pleasant, clean and well stocked and offered a great opportunity to talk with other guests. Our room was in a newer building in the back of the property so you could not hear noise from the backpackers hostel next door. In addition to volcano views, you looked over a beautiful manicured lawn area which was bordered by "jungle" on one side with lots of birds and other wildlife.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bvastag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

There were 3 of us and we got a huge 5 bedroom room with private bathroom and AC, fridge and TV to ourselves, for $60 per night. Balcony with view of the volcano. Everything was super clean. The kitchen was well stocked and kept tidy and clean. Free breakfast was actually pretty decent, eggs, cereals, toast, fruit, juice and coffee. The family who run the place were extremely friendly, we booked a couple of tours through them and they drove us there free of charge. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabsanddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ein Shemer, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. We took a room on the second floor with a balcony and great view to Arenal althuogh a bit more expensive (45-50$ per night) it's worth it! The room was big and clean with ac, small frig and a safe. Has all you need but the place is a bit dull had no charm to it. The owners son was very helpful with tips and advice about what to do in the area, when etc. Bottom line a good and inexpensive place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shiriep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Myself and my three friends had an awesome stay here. the staff were exceptionally helpful and prompt in all of their services. rooms were clean, air conditioned, and breakfast was great. location was also good but I guess it's a small town so it's hard not to have that pegged. the hostel next door was also fun to visit, but it's nice not to be a part of the party zone. overall great stay, best in Costa Rica so far!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chatman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed at the hotel for three nights in La Fortuna and we loved the view outside our room of the volcano (although it did have cloud over the top all the time!) The garden by the hotel is nice and there's lots of lovely birds that you can see whilst eating breakfast. The self service breakfast had bread for toasting, eggs, fruit juice, coffee and tea and fresh fruit which was great. They also let us use the pool next door at the Hostel. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizSlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed here three nights. The hotel is reasonably priced and very clean. You can chose a room on the main floor or one with a balcony. We chose the balcony where we could sit in the rocking chairs and admire the view of the volcano. There's an outdoor kitchen where you can go and prepare your own breakfast. There were even fresh eggs every morning. We're budget travellers and loved the fact that we could also use the kitchen to prepare our supper as well. There's also a fridge and a safe in each room. This hotel was a great find.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissBeams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arenal Rooms
Arenal Rooms
#21 of 73 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Rio Danta
Hostel Rio Danta
#37 of 73 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Posada Del Arenal
Posada Del Arenal
#28 of 43 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Central Loft
Hotel Central Loft
#15 of 43 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabinas Las Tinajas
Cabinas Las Tinajas
#43 of 73 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sierra Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sierra Arenal

Property: Hotel Sierra Arenal
Address: 300m Oeste de la Iglesia Catolica, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hotel Sierra Arenal Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing