We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for the price”
Review of Cabinas El Buho

Cabinas El Buho
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabinas El Buho
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good value for the price”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

For $25/night you get clean basic room with private bathroom, fan that works and that's all you need. It's within walking distance to the main street with all the amenities. The Wifi didn't work from our room but we went out on the balcony, sat on a bench and the connection is stronger there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicademusVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I had to change some money in the bank and I asked for some recommendtion where to stay in La Fortuna. El Buho is clean, the bed was comfortable, the street was quiet. The owner and her family is very kind and helpful. The walls of the room are quite thin and the bathroom is not very well separated from the room, but all in all for this price I was totally satisfied with the accomodation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bloomabonyeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Cozy little place, hot water, balcony with view of the volcano and cable (if you need to know what's going in the world). We paid what I believe was a local rate which was $12/night...we both speak Spanish but are not Costa Ricans. What this means to you is that the price is obviously negotiable. It was a great spot, walking distance from town. There was a small grocery store near and free parking....Renting a car in the Cloud Forest was well worth it! Pura Vida!

Room Tip: We had the corner room, great view! (there is no pool or fitness center, that's what the hot spr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpragalz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Mmm so i´ll start with the positives....friendly staff,fairly cheap, free Pura Vida soap, towels.
But there are plenty of other Cabinas around for the same price and I would recc going to one of those.Just grotty room i´m afraid, bathroom with clear glass(didn´t matter much as I was on my own).However the shower water was piping hot which was great.But there was ahorrendous bug problem,ants and some sort of prehistoric locust creature(again not really the fault of the htl as such lol).When i return to La Fortuna which is stunningly beautiful btw I´d def go back to Arenal Backpackers Resort as it´s amazing,no comparison to be honest.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livvyinthestars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I only stayed one night, but the room was clean, the shower hot and the view of Arenal was great! Also, the owners were friendly, helping me book activities and showing me the iguanas that live in a nearby tree! My only (minor) complaint was that the curtains didn't block the light from the streetlight nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tara42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed at El Buho for 2 nights. It was pretty difficult to find, since it is a few blocks away from the main drag of La Fortuna, off of a dirt road. The room was fine if you aren't planning on hanging out there are all, it is fine for sleeping and showering. Our sink was outside of the bathroom, there was no toilet paper, and the mirror was tiny (an no a/c). All in all it was fine for a total of $20 a night for 3 of us.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

When we booked El Buho we were rather apprehensive, as $10 each a night for the double room, en suite, seemed too good to be true. However, when we were shown to our room (Room 8) we found it to be clean and with a great view of the Volcano. The en suite facilities were adequate, with plenty of hot water, and the ceiling fan worked well. The bed was comfortable but there was a slight tendency to sag in the middle.

The hotel staff were friendly and were very keen to show us all the iguanas in the tree beside our (shared) balcony. There was a television that we didn't use, but we could sometimes hear the tv in adjoining rooms. Free coffee was available. WiFi available.

It was a short walk (5 minutes) into La Fortuna town where there are lots of bars and restaurants, and travel companies keen to sell excursions to you. El Buho recommended Red Lava travel, but we didn't try them because of the Tripadvisor reviews.

All in all, we were very pleased with our stay at El Buho

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etlddfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
Cabinas Las Tinajas
Cabinas Las Tinajas
#43 of 73 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Fortuna Rooms
La Fortuna Rooms
#21 of 43 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabinas Dona Alicia
Cabinas Dona Alicia
#28 of 73 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Central Loft
Hotel Central Loft
#15 of 43 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada Del Arenal
Posada Del Arenal
#28 of 43 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Amistad Hotel
La Amistad Hotel
#33 of 73 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas El Buho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Buho

Property: Cabinas El Buho
Address: 150 m north east of the Catholic church, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 73 Speciality Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Cabinas El Buho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas El Buho Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing