We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque scenery, view of volcano”

Cabalgata Don Tobias
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The excursion, which takes place 100% on horseback, begins at the farm stables of Don Tobias. There, a professional team of guides prepares visitors with relevant information. Children's equipment is also available. Almost all of the excursion takes place on private land, crossing rivers and jungle, crossing second generation forest and primary forest, as well as beautiful pastures some of which are used for cattle, visitors will see the magnificent Arenal Volcano that accompanies the Visitors throughout the trip. Departure: 8:30 am or 1:30 p.mDuration: 3 hours Includes: Transportation, guide, equipment, water.Sugested Equipment: long trousers, cool shirts, binoculars, cameras, sunscreen and repellent Of insects.
Montreal, QC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Picturesque scenery, view of volcano”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The view was extraordinary on our ascent to a viewpoint of the Arenal volcano. Unfortuately my horse (Muneca) wandered to the right and lagged behind.while another horse kicked one person. Other horses were better.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Stephen96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    20
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful ride not much education”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This was an amazing horseback ride but our guide did not speak English so we didn't get to ask many questions and the ones that we did ask weren't answered correctly. He tried but it just would have been better if we got a little education, history or conversation with the tour. If you are just looking for beautiful views this is great.

Helpful?
Thank wgechter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well turned-out horses and a spectacular tour”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I can hardly believe these are livery horses. Not your usual scruffy, dirty, lazy horses. These were well kept, wonderfully mannered, and smart horses. The stables are immaculate.

The tour itself is beautiful, the views are stunning, the properties you ride through are full of plants and animals and the guide was great at spotting them. But really, the best part was the horses!

We had a private group ride of just our family. As the most experienced, I rode at the rear. I was the "photographer" of our group. My horse stood stock still while the rest of the group rode well ahead and I pulled out my bulky camera to take photos. Hundreds, and she was so patient. I have never ridden such a well behaved horse. And when I asked her to catch up with the rest of the group, she willingly cantered after them.

The kids have very little experience riding and these horses were perfectly behaved for even the most novice rider.

If you like horses, you definitely want to ride here. If you are indifferent about horses but want a fun activity, you will STILL want to try this out!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Bermudian4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“fun ride, beautiful views, great guides”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We decided to go on this tour having not been on a horse in over ten years. The horses were extremely well trained and healthy. Our guides were very knowledgeable about the area and all of the wildlife. We saw beautiful views, rode directly through a field of cattle, and rode through places I never thought a horse could go! It was about 3 hours long. I highly recommend this trip.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank rochellec36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Outstanding experience!”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Our family of 5 including kids aged 6,10 and 12 absolutely loved it! Gentle horses spectacular views! Best activities above ziplining and atvs! A must do activity!!!

Helpful?
Thank Momofthree0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-arenal-springs, Guest Relations Manager at Cabalgata Don Tobias, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
thank you very much for your lovely comments, how happy we are that you've enjoyed this tour, and thanks for recommending.
I mention to you that will be ready next time our new thermal river project and will be totally free to all our guests, we hope you soon and thanks for everything.
God bless you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cabalgata Don Tobias also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Cabalgata Don Tobias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing