We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loud and clammy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chill Out Backpackers
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“loud and clammy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

The rooms are well equipped, even with a tv but our first room was very clammy and in the bathroom there were fungis on the wall and it smelled very strangly.
The kitchen was very disorderly and there was not enough space to put your things to andeven no table for eating.
The stuff is very friendly.
One thing we missed was a community area to hang around and relax.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volcanolakeadventure, Manager at Chill Out Backpackers, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Hi everyone! We have MOVED and are around the corner 100 meters from the bus stop! We have asked TripAdvisor to change the location but as many of you know that can take some time. Please see our new location which is around the corner and we'll take great care of you like we did when we managed the location across from then Just Good Food!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    12
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
26
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swift Current, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

Loved this place! Lots of tours available through this hostel at a great price, (including a pretty cool free tour to a rope swing over a waterfall!), plus all the information and help you could possibly want. The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating, and worked in coordination with a restaurant across the street - Just Good Food - which was delicious and convenient. Private double room was cheap, and clean and the use of a communal kitchen was great!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Chill out backpackers is a fun cheap place in La Fortuna. It's clean and tidy. They have hot water and a clean kitchen...if you have been traveling through central america for a while this is very exciting. The owners and stafff are very nice and super accomadating. Everyone always asks you how you are and is always ready to invite you somewhere. They also book tours and in my opinion they offered some of the best prices. You will miss out if you don't go there.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

Very clean rooms, fan, tv, great area of town. Was only going to stay one day, but these guys have the best tours and prices available. We booked everything though them and saved alot of money and time by doing so. Very friendly people, free tours to Hot Springs and an awesome rope swing. Best prices on tours through the while country. White water rafting, bungee jumping, volcanoe tour, Drake Bay adventures. Eric has the in if you want to have alot of fun and save some money and time haggling over prices. Stop in and see him!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indy833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

Central location in the happening. Part of la fortuna, clean rooms and bathrooms, very personal staff who will help you out with anything you need including tours and tranfers Can't ask for much more. Close to all the good restaurants and supermarkets. Great option for those on a budget! Enjoy

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bayley88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calamba, Philippines
Level Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed with their sister company in monteverde an they give you a promo price if you do make this reservation thro them.
We were greeted right away and we were given the room that was recommended to us bec it is quieter there.
We were in LaFortuna during the earthquake so its aplus its still standing when we got back from the hot springs.

(-)
Water doesnt get as hot as you want though. And theres a funny smell in the kitchen but thats it.
(+)
Theres pcs you use and wifi reaches your room.
We were happy for the cabled tv.
Bfast is nice.
Near restaurants and souvenier shops.
And so far one of the cheapest laundry service we have encountered in our trip in central america

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

The name says it all. Cheap, adequate accommodations. Okay breakfast. The hostel next door was noisy.

They also arranged an excursion that included a guided hike in Arenal Volcano NP, dinner and an evening at Baldi Hot Springs for $50 a person (we had 17 people), which was perfect. First, if you have priced these separately, you know this is a good price. We were unavoidably delayed, but they were flexible with our start time and the guide even turned it into a partial night walk.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBoomer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.3 mi away
Arenal Backpackers Resort
Arenal Backpackers Resort
#8 of 72 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.2 mi away
EcoHostel
EcoHostel
#13 of 72 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Choza Inn Hostel
La Choza Inn Hostel
#15 of 42 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mayol Lodge
Mayol Lodge
#11 of 42 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Amistad Hotel
La Amistad Hotel
#36 of 72 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
#15 of 72 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chill Out Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chill Out Backpackers

Property: Chill Out Backpackers
Address: 100 meters W of the bus stop | Next to Gringo Pete's II, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 119-5655, Costa Rica (Formerly Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 72 Speciality Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chill Out Backpackers is under new ownership and moved location. We are the ultimate and economical place to stay in La Fortuna with rooms only 10 dollars per person. Free Breakfast, Free Internet and Kitchen use is included. Located in the center of La Fortuna, only 100 meters west from the bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chill Out Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chill Out Backpackers Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing