We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bijagua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Bijagua
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

This family owned and operated hotel was clean, comfortable, safe, affordable, a great location and offered everything we needed plus much more. There is a supermarket, restaurants, and shops right next door. Each room had coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, dishes, utensils etc. etc. etc. Not to mention cable TV, and a beautiful pool with water fall.
I would recommend this hotel to couples, families, singles, business travelers. I was with a group of friends. We stayed in 5 different locations/hotels in Costa Rica and Hotel Bijagua was our favorite!
David (the son) was so warm and friendly and helpful during our two night stay there. He made us feel like family.
If I were still a travel agent? This is where I would book my clients while in La Fortuna for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view of Volcano Arenal, but any rooms is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    53
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
95
127
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The walk to la Bijagua was uphill from town, which would have been fine if we were not so weary from travel. On the bus ride to La fortuna from san jose, the bus had a metal piece that stuck my husband in the butt through both his shorts and his underwear. We were not sure where to go once we got to town, but when we called from a telephono publico in the center park (those at bus station did not work), we were given good instructions and made it just fine. Tip: market outside bus station has free bathroom. Around the corner you will pay, so use the market bathroom to avoid fee.

Anyway, once we reached hotel Bijagua, we were greeted by the owner's son who took us to our room and showed us how the air conditioner worked and where the kitchen was. We were able to use dishes and coffee maker there and had a small fridge in the room. Next door is the market, Super Christian #4, where there is the basic groceries you would find in the U.S. including beer. They also sold water boots, hats, and some toiletry items. The hotel itself is really nicely kept and they seem to be building a small gym on site which will be a nice addition. Our room faced the pool and had a little patio with big solid wood furniture on it. The pool was nice and had a little waterfall running into it. There was someone gardening when we were there and always someone about to ask questions to. In the lobby there is a small library and a computer to use the internet. Our room had excellent wi-fi signal. Now to our room: two double beds, an air conditioner, fridge, bathroom, small open closet, tile floor. There were earplugs provided I am guessing for the rooster that would crow at dawn. We kept our bathroom door shut which blocked the noise of the rooster. Shower had firm water pressure and soap and shampoo were provided. Tip: wrap a towel or something around the wood post of the bed by the bathroom so you don't ram your poor knee into it every time you pass it. The bed was terribly uncomfortable, but we switched to the other bed after 2 nights and that seemed better.
The hotel was fabulous, and the people who run it are helpful and friendly. We got advice from the owner's son as to how much things would cost to do and he was forthcoming and honest with information. He spoke good English which was helpful for me. There were hammocks around to lay in, too. He showed us a lizard he found. When we left, he came out to say goodbye even though we were already in our interbus van. Truly a gem of a guy,  which is so important when you are traveling and you are not familiar with the country. He called a taxi for us once and advised us on bus travel. The location was okay--1.5 km outside of La fortuna proper. It is a good location for the waterfall and the chocolate tour, but you would have to walk or taxi to get into town. There are sodas, restaurants, and gift shops near the hotel so you could avoid going into town if you wanted to. Anyway, I would stay here again for the hosts and the price (roughly $70 per night including tax). The family obviously cares about your wellbeing and want you to have a positive experience. You won't regret staying at Bijagua!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DinoandDelilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My son and I stayed at Hotel Bijagua and we could not have been happier. Very clean efficient rooms. Family who owns and manages is warm, friendly, and helpful. The grounds are a beautiful garden. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmsviolamom .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here with 3 daughters and my brother stayed with 2 kids (all of them 2-11 years old). The rooms are cosy and nicely decorated. Bathrooms are spacious with hot water. Some have kitchenettes, however you can also use a shared kitchen and sitting area which is great if you are travelling with more people. You will find a refrigerator is each room.

The rooms are situated around a very nice swimming pool which is adored by the kids. There is a save parking area.

It is a family run hotel and they are all very kind and attentive. Our A/C did not work and they were really trying to help however due to late hour it could not be fixed.

It is certainly a place I would recommend even for a family of 5 for which finding a hotel with beds enough to accomodate all the members is difficult.

Room Tip: Choose between rooms with own kitchenette or without and you will get a chance to meet other travell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asiakro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this B&B. It is very clean, which I loved. It is family run which gave it a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. The pool is really nice and the grounds are very pleasant with beautiful flowers. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

So far, this is the nicest budget hotel I've stayed at in Costa Rica...and the family was so nice!! It was super clean, had lots of hot water and even an a.c. that we didn't need. It was,really nice and I highly recommend it if you go to La Fortuna !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My daughters and I enjoyed our stay at Hotel Bijagua in La Fortuna. It is located conveniently next door to a market. We stayed in the room with a kitchenette which was convenient with coffee available. One of my daughters was not feeling well so we asked which medication would be comparable to something in the U.S. and Don Jorge took us to the Farmacia where we were helped. We were able to walk uphill from "El Centro" to the hotel in less than 30 minutes. The sodas/restaurants across the street were reasonable and good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vr828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
2.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,698 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bijagua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bijagua

Property: Hotel Bijagua
Address: 1 1/2 km La Fortuna Center Hwy 142 | Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bijagua 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cozy family hotel offers the perfect combination of personalized service and comfort in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica.We have 7 rooms equipped with different features to satisfy all your needs. In addition, it is perfectly located near the spring waters and Arenal Lake so you can live the most unforgettable times.You are going to enjoy the most spectacular view of Arenal volcano which amazes and thrills whoever looks at it. It is just the powerful grandness of nature.gps:10.46852,-84.66245Besides, you will have the chance to choose from our diverse list of tours in our tour office located in our lobby. Nature lovers will know that Hotel Bijagua is the best choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Bijagua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bijagua Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing