We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good steaks!”

Steak House el Tobogan
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 1/4 Novillo Tenderloin Steak House el Tobogán is a family restaurant Characterized by specialty meat originating in the area offering: Tenderloin, T-bon Steak Churrasco steak and a reasonable price, having a menu for different tastes: salads, rice, chicken, seafood, burgers and sandwiches and vegetarian food as well! . why the name Tobogán ? , Because you will find a large slide = Tobogán with a large pissina restaurant that is part of !...
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good steaks!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We went here for dinner after it was recommended by a friend. Great steaks!! The prices were reasonable and the waiter was very nice. Look for the sign with a white cow on it, and located next to a water slide.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    34
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A really enjoyable meal”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights in La Fortuna. Ate in the hotel the first night so keen to do something different. This place was recommended by our guide. Probably wouldn't have stopped there without recommendation as it doesn't look special but we were glad we did. Sat outside under a large awning. Garlic bread followed by Filet Mignon steak and banana Flambe cooked at the table plus a bottle of wine between us. All really tasty and fast and friendly service. Evidently this is a real family run restaurant which was nice. Great value too - cheaper than the previous night but better quality

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeH98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A steak that is really half a cow”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

If you enjoy good steak this is definitely worth a visit. The restaurant itself isn't very - from the outside it looks a bit like a fast food place but the quality and quantity of the steak makes up for it. And its good value for money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not your typical steak house”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

After a long hike to El Choro, I somewhat had this vision of what a perfect steak dinner would be. In my mind I had pictured a large salt encrusted baked potato, sour cream and chives. With that a juicy tender Argentina fillet and a bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon. Maybe I set my self up for a disappointment but this steak house is far cry from what I imagined.

Instead, my perfect imagined steak dinner was reduced to a tough, butterflied piece of meat that words cannot describe. The baked potato was about the size of a golf ball with a fancy swish of sour cream.

I guess I set myself up of disappointment during the hike. Just don't be fooled by a restaurant calling itself a "steak" house and expecting something great.



Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband and I ate here with our college aged children. The steaks were juicy and not overcooked. I had a salad with grilled chicken which was large and I couldn't finish it. Our server, Mauricio was so nice and the service was great. A very enjoyable lunch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Touringdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio A, Propietario at Steak House el Tobogan, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
my friends many thanks for your comments !!!, We are very happy to know that you and your beautiful family enjoyed lunch here in the steak house el Tobogan !
Saludes : Mauricio Antonio ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steak House el Tobogan also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Steak House el Tobogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing