We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food at a good price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rain Forest Cafe and Restaurant

Rain Forest Cafe and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$30
Cuisines: Fast food, Latin, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We went for lunch with friends. Most of us ordered burritos. They were pretty good and the beers were cold. And the price was reasonable. In a Costa Rica tourist town that's about as good as it gets!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaDaveSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    264
    57
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best coffee good food ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Last year we came here and it set the standard for coffee in all of Costa Rica. Well I've been now to 7 diff locations in this country and have never found better coffee then this place. They only charge 1000 colones too. Very good. The food prices went up since last year but sill not terrible. The food is ok. But this place is deff worth visiting. The wifi also works very reliably. And also great customer service.

Helpful?
Thank Bryant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We kinda assumed that coffee should be really good in CR as it is the country's main export. In rainforest caffe it sure is very good, not unlike most CR. Great coffee, very nice service and pretty good light food

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wacko_654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerhonkson, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Treasure in La Fortuna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

During our trip in May 2014 this was a notable experience for coffee and light fare meals. The service and quality of food was always fantastic. Their chocolate cake is delicious. While I hadn't had a bad cup of coffee in all of Costa Rica, Cafe Rainforest's coffee is specifically delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Ablondieqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Yummy find in La Fortuna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

After a long , sweaty day of the chocolate tour, la fortuna waterfall, etc. we were ready for ice cold water and food before heading back to our hotel. We walked past this place and 1) it was busy and 2) I remembered seeing good reviews on Tripadvisor so we decided to give it a try.

Overall it was a good experience. My daughter had the club sandwich, which was delicious! It had marinated chicken and egg. I had the chicken empanada which was filled with the same yummy chicken that could be found in the club sandwich. My husband had the Milanese which was ok but not very seasoned. The coffees looked great and the table next to us raved about them, but we were just too hot for that.

Another good sign was that the young lady that led us on the chocolate tour was there with friends. Always good to see locals at a restaurant! I would return if back in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hendersongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rain Forest Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Rain Forest Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing