We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Arenal base!”
The Riverbank: An oasis of calm in the middle of everything!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Riverbank: An oasis of calm in the middle of everything!
Wide shot of large fully equipped kitchen and dining area. Master bedroom: Queen size bed, colorful artwork and yard view.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
69 reviews
The Riverbank: An oasis of calm in the middle of everything!
Wide shot of large fully equipped kitchen and dining area.
Master bedroom: Queen size bed, colorful artwork and yard view.
Bathroom with laurel wood counter.
Second bedroom: Unique full size bed with single top bunk.
Clean, elegant, fully equipped kitchen and dining room.
Spacious living room with volcano artwork and cable tv.
Very tranquil, secluded backyard full of iguanas, humming birds, exotic fruit trees and flowers!
So many different flowers, and so beautiful!
This is a Cherrie's Tanager perched in the back yard.
The view from the balcony this morning.
Volcano and Sleeping Indian, shot from balcony of The Riverbank at dusk.
'Trumpet of Angels' blooms bi-weekly, flowers a foot long fill the night wth incredible fragrance.
Huge iguanas in the trees in the backyard. Every day!
My absolute favourite flower; a rare type of Parrot Flower growing in the back yard.
An old wheelbarrow's retirement: Used during the building's construction now it holds bansai trees!
Check out this little guy who showed up in the backyard!
The Arenal Volcano makes its own weather and changes constantly.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jen370
Durham, New Hampshire, United States
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Arenal base!”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was a great place for our family of five. Within seconds of arriving, William was showing us all the edible plants in the yard and hunting for iguanas to show the kids, while the kids played with his friendly dog. The apartment was clean, attractive, and well-equipped, with a view of Arenal from the living room and one bedroom. Better yet, it was 5 minutes from the town center and its park, restaurants, and shops.

William and Laura were extremely helpful with recommending and setting up activities for us. He encouraged us to book a tour with Giovanni, and it exceeded our (high) expectations. Project ASIS was a hit as well, as well as the free, beautiful swimming hole within walking distance that he directed us to. Our security deposit was returned promptly.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
There is so much wildlife and things to see right in the backyard, and we love sharing it with our guests. That is one of the great things about this location; the river runs right along the property so it is very tranquil and yet when you cross the bridge you are only one black from the park in the heart of our little town. It was lovely to meet you and your family. Thanks for staying with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoici
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“so far our best family vacation”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

this is our second vacation in Costa Rica. we thought the one last year was the best one but is turns out that this one has earned 1st place now.:)
we booked The Riverbank through Tripadvisor more than 8 months ago due to the beautiful reviews. we are a family of 4 with a 13y/o son and 8y/o daughter and love to experience the local life and culture of the places we go.this was the reason why we did not book a typical hotel/resort. this is exactly what we found by booking this apartment from Casadecostarica.
the apartment is very clean and spacious with 2 bedrooms and one bath and a nice balcony with the view of Arenal Volcano. Wi-Fi is very good in the apartment. it is located in the center of the La Fortuna city. walking distance to restaurants and grocery store.
we had tours scheduled every day and William and Laura helped scheduling them ahead of time so we did not have to do that once we were here. we did not rent a car.
transportation from the airport was arranged wit Laura and William.
everything was very smooth
we plan coming back next year for spring break and bring friends.
maybe rent one of the houses they offer.
thank you for a great vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
It was such a pleasure having your family stay with us! We had a wonderful time getting to know you. We're so happy you mentioned booking your tours ahead of time. This is great advice for future guests as it prevents so many problems with last minute decisions, last minute scrambles to book activities and problems with activities being over-booked or sold out. Planning in advance lets you spend your time enjoying your vacation rather than wasting it running around and trying to make last minute payments or worse still, missing out on your preferred activities! Thanks again for providing other travelers with this valuable advice. We're looking forward to hosting you again as well as your friends. The more the merrier! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: our hosts!
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Mar 2015
Awww... that is so sweet of you! :-) And you pretty much just summed up exactly what our philosophy is about renting; it's not just the property that you rent which is important, it's the EXPERIENCE that you have while renting it! This is exactly why we work so hard to help our gusts plan their trips to their personal tastes, (as opposed to offering cookie-cutter packages,) and why we take the time to get to know our clients personally whenever possible.

Plus, it's fun! :-)

You were wonderful guests and we genuinely hope tha tyou will be here to stay with us again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rebecca s
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect for us!”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

we are a family of 3. 40,52 and son of 22. we enjoy nature neat stuff and there is lots of life in that area and right in the yard of place. We did not find it easily since there is no address or sign saying the riverbank. We enjoyed visiting with william and Laura. They had a well appointed kitchen. Even a blender! I think a rice cooker would really make it perfect. I felt like i was at home. the couches are wood and foam pillow. We are used to more plush furniture. When we went to the next place they had a fabric comfy couch. Too bad it smelled like hot garbage. I know now why it has to be like it is. Maybe some larger pads for back would be great. We are working on a plan to move down and that area captured what we liked. William turned us on to a really great guide that took us out for more local real animal spotting. you could tell he really loved what he dose and is friend to the animal. My son had the experience of a life time seeing his sloth just out and about. Just loved it all and a girl named Noellie? She was a real gem. she will make a mother in law proud one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: allllll of it
Liked least: that we had to leave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2015
We're always happy to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. As dozens of previous guests have also written, we set a standard that literally nobody else can match when it comes to helping our clients to plan and enjoy the most enjoyable, stress-free vacation possible.

We really enjoyed hosting this family, and we spent a LOT of time with them... they were wonderful. We do have to say that it is not at all hard to find The Riverbank; we provide all of our clients with directions, this lovely family simply didn't read or print them! ;-) The Riverbank is one and a half blocks south of the eastern side of the park at the center of town... not even one turn needed!

We are very happy to read their endorsement of Geovanni; he is spectacular. The many tour companies in the area offer a variety of hiking/bird/animal watching tours at lower prices, but Geovani is a legend. So talented that he is literally the ONLY guide in the area to offer a money back guarantee. We love him and all of our clients who've used his services love him too!

We have 10,000 clients per year across all of our various properties. Because of that we get great discounts on tours and our clients get special treatment wherever they go. Let us help you to have an amazing adventure.

Hope to host you soon, Pura Vida!! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judybookd...
Santa Cruz, California
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Wonderful attention to detail shown by owner”
Reviewed 25 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We usually look for housing with kitchens because my Crohn's Disease makes eating out problematic. Typically, we find one or two pots, a few plates, and little else. William and Laura have equipped the kitchen so well that we were able to cook semi gourmet meals [my husband is a great cook]. The attention to detail in this equipping [matching plates, measure cups, colander, and more] shows up also in the furnishing. There are quality towels, toilet paper, blankets and beautiful wood furniture.
The only caution is that, if you want couples privacy, it isn't possible because the bedroom walls don't extend to the ceiling. You will hear everything done in the entire 2 bedroom unit even with the bedroom door closed.
The sound of the river out back is peaceful , delightful, while the road noise on the balcony can be a bit loud.
I highly recommend this lodging as long as you don't need privacy.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2015
William here, I'm happy that you enjoyed the kitchen. :-) I started this company by accident; I was a superstar academic, inventor/patent holder and Fortune 500 consultant. This company began because I had a friend who was about to lose her vacation home here in C.R. and I offered to help her. I saved her home and she started telling her friends, which lead to an avalanche of calls and emails and now this. :-)

I say all of that only to say this: I equip my properties in such a way that I myself would be comfortable staying in them. I am a gourmet chef, (I almost had a show picked up by the FOOD Network,) and so I've always had the idea that if I would be happy staying there as fussy as I am, then so would anyone else. If these folks could only manage SEMI-gourmet meals in one of my kitchens, then either weren't talented, or weren't trying! ;-) Just kidding of course.

We really enjoyed hosting this lovely couple and their service dog. We were very happy to help in lots of extra ways, it gave me a lot of pleasure to loan them my own juicer during their stay for example.

We do hope that they decide to stay with us again in the future! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
Reviewed 14 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This place was fantastic. My husband and I stayed here with our 10 month old baby, and it was nice and spacious for us. The location is amazing, a quick walk to anything in the town of La Fortuna. The view of the volcano from the balcony is fantastic (when it isn't clouded in). Laura was away, but William was great and very approachable. They thought of everything as far as we were concerned, the kitchen was well equipped and they even had the first day's coffee there and ready for us. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2015
Thanks for taking the time to post such a lovely review! Your family was adorable and you were great guests. We're so glad that you enjoyed yourselves and we hope that we'll have the pleasure of hosting you again soon! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEVADA
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing