We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location!!!”
The Riverbank: An oasis of calm in the middle of everything!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Riverbank: An oasis of calm in the middle of everything!
Riverbank 1 open concept living and dining room with fully equipped kitchen. Riverbank 1 Master Bedroom: Queen size bed, large window opens to yard and river.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
69 reviews
The Riverbank: An oasis of calm in the middle of everything!
Riverbank 1 open concept living and dining room with fully equipped kitchen.
Riverbank 1 Master Bedroom: Queen size bed, large window opens to yard and river.
Even the corners are pretty... more art, little touches to add to your stay.
Riverbank 1 bathroom with laurel wood counter.
Riverbank 1 Second Bedroom: Custom designed full size bed and single bunk.
Riverbank 1 Dining table and living room leading to balcony with volcano view.
The first meal on the new, hand made, laurel dining set;  chicken/spinach salad w/ caviar and
Rare Black Laurel wood, used in the creation of hand made furniture just for The Riverbank
Rustic, hand made end tables and bedroom units add to the unique comfort and charm of The Riverbank.
Very tranquil, secluded backyard full of iguanas, humming birds, exotic fruit trees and flowers!
So many different flowers, and so beautiful!
This is a Cherrie's Tanager perched in the back yard.
Riverbank 2 Master bedroom: Queen size bed, colorful artwork and yard view.
Riverbank 2 Second bedroom: Unique full size bed with single top bunk.
Riverbank 2: Wide shot of large fully equipped kitchen and dining area.
Riverbank 2: Bathroom
Riverbank 2: Clean, elegant, fully equipped kitchen and dining room.
Riverbank 2: Spacious living room with volcano artwork and cable tv.
The view from the balcony this morning.
Volcano and Sleeping Indian, shot from balcony of The Riverbank at dusk.
'Trumpet of Angels' blooms bi-weekly, flowers a foot long fill the night wth incredible fragrance.
Huge iguanas in the trees in the backyard. Every day!
My absolute favourite flower; a rare type of Parrot Flower growing in the back yard.
An old wheelbarrow's retirement: Used during the building's construction now it holds bansai trees!
Check out this little guy who showed up in the backyard!
The Arenal Volcano makes its own weather and changes constantly.
Mosquito nets donated to the orphanage by thoughtful guests.
Some of the projects that we have funded in whole or in part at the Hogarcito...
More playground equipment...
The water tower helps to maintain both water pressure and and supply 24/7.
Classroom supplies and equipment
Thank you banners to some of our guests for their generous donations to the Hogarcito
Presented by the Director of the shelter, received by us on behalf of our generous guests!
It's true, we really do make the extra effort. :-)
Here's what some recent guests had to say.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
aliciamen
South Gate, California
1 review
“Great Location!!!”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We just got back from the Rivebank apartment. There was 4 of us so plenty of room as it has 2 bedrooms. The property is clean and well maintained, and is literally like a 5 min walk to many food options and the center of La Fortuna. That was our favorite part of this rental was the proximity of shops, restaurants, markets, really everything you need is close. The yard area is nice, we saw hummingbirds, and many different types of birds in the area each day which was really cool! There's a few large trees right by the river where you can see large iguanas sunbathing daily as well. When we arrived Nohelia was there to check us in, she was very helpful and informative with eating options, the property and activities if we were interested. She also spoke great English. Also William the owner who actually stays next door was great with emails prior and after our stay. He made sure everything went well during and after we left. The apartment has a full kitchen though we didn't cook anything, and basically has everything you would need to make your stay comfortable. The balcony view is amazing! With a great view of Arenal volcano, and seating for 4. We truly enjoyed this little town of La Fortuna and our stay with Casa de Costa Rica Riverbank property. We would definitely come back again and recommend it to our family and friends. Until next time Pura Vida!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2017
Thank you for leaving us a review, Alicia. You mentioned all the highlights of the condo; closeness to town, views of the volcano, Nohelia our customer service specialist. It was a pleasure to host you and your family and we look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheekerou...
California, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheap accommodation”
Reviewed 27 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

After going through some cumbersome booking steps, I had difficulties getting timely and accurate responses from the host to reserve activities prior to our arrival. They sent me videos upon videos, frankly those were a waste of time to watch. At the end we failed to visit Proyecto Asis. Somehow the attraction was not open on the day we wanted to visit and sold out the next day. We didn't find out until we arrived. This was a big disappointment. We planned to visit Pacuare River which we were strongly advised against. We did it anyway and had the best rafting trip ever. Riverbank is walking distance to downtown which is the best selling point. However, the accommodation is located in a cheap apartment building. Bedroom walls do not extend up to the ceiling. The bathroom was smelly. Ants were present in the kitchen. The futon cover was taken off for washing revealing a cushion torn and infested with tiny crawlers. No one should ever have been allowed to sit on that futon, even with a cover. Even though William and Laura were hospitable during our stay, I found the quality of what we received questionable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Infeasted futon mattress
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2016
We're happy that the guest said that we were hospitable during her stay, as we make an effort to do whatever we can for our guests. However that is the only truthful thing that she wrote in her review, unfortunately.

We've all met people who simply cannot and will not be happy, no matter what. While most of this lovely family was a joy to be around, this particular guest unfortunately fell into that category and nothing that we did could make her happy.

We warned her to book her activities in advance and not wait till the last minute, but she ignored our advice and yet somehow now is trying to hold us responsible for her error in not planning in advance. and the the predictable outcome of not being able to do one of the activities that she wanted The only reason that there were ants in the condo was that the clients were not inclined to clean up after themselves. This simply isn't something that you can do in the rainforest. If our guests do not care to clean, then we offer a very inexpensive cleaning service as an option.

The futon was less than two months old at the time of their stay and had very minor cosmetic scratches. If there were ants in it, then it was because someone was eating in it and left crumbs. The bathroom is not smelly, it is immaculate. The condo is not in a cheap apartment building, it is in fact one of the most desirable and expensive locations in town.

The guest failed to mention that she left the doors to the condo wide open with both air conditioning units running when they checked out. They also left the keys on the table, the TV on, and they even backed over the edible hedge which we planted by hand on their way out.

This reviewer is simply spiteful and miserable. For more accurate reviews of The Riverbank please feel free to read the more than one hundred five star reviews that have been posted by other guests. Trust us the way that more than 15,000 guests per year do in our total of 18 properties and know that we will make sure that you have a wonderful time during your stay... your very COMFORTABLE, not smelly stay! ;-)

Pura Vida, we hope to host you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nolawjh
San Ramon, Costa Rica
1 review
“You have to stay here !!”
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Riverbank was great, we loved this place. Photos are accurate. The whole experience from booking to check out was effortless. This location was perfect for our stay in La Fortuna just steps from town center and easy walking distance to nearby restaurants, cafes and markets. Also, a short drive to locations outside of town. We will definitely stay with Casa de Costa Rica again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sloth crossing the road in front of building.
Liked least: Hated to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillrlev
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“Perfect hub for our La Fortuna adventuring.”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The space was clean and nice and well cared for. The folks who run the place are very knowledgeable and happy to help. They clearly have a passion for what they do! One thing to keep in mind is they do have an extensive booking process that requires printing and signing a lease. I imagine this helps keep them in the clear, but it was much more work than I've ever done to book a place to stay just for a couple days! The location couldn't have been better- right next to town, walking distance from many restaurants and the perfect place for us to crash after our days of adventuring out into different parts of the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuban
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay in a little paradise close to town.”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in January 2016

"Thank you William, Laura and Nohelia for your very warm welcome and for arranging all the tours before our arrival. Giovani was the best! He was so good with my two grandchildren, and his volcano and night tour was very informative. His sanctuary is beautiful. The Sky Trek bridge walk and zip lining was amazing! We enjoyed our stay very much. Your place is so close to town, but with your beautiful garden and view of the volcano you feel like you are in your own little paradise. I was having a hard time finding a place to stay that was close to town. I am so glad I discovered your place. It was a great way to celebrate my 65th birthday with my family. I hope we can return some day."

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: shower difficult to work
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don s
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“La Fortuna great location quiet”
Reviewed 12 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was as good as it gets if you want to spend some time in La Fortuna. Short walking distance to all amenities and the landlord, William will help you out with everything else!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsquare
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place, it was everything we needed”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The Riverbank had an amazing view of the Volcano. I cannot stress enough how wonderful our stay was. We will definitely be staying here again when we return to Costa Rica. William, Laura and Nohelia were super helpful and very friendly. We felt welcomed at all times.

The backyard was beautiful and we were even able to see all kinds of wild life. Beautiful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing