We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its an experience...”
Review of Arenal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arenal Lodge
Long Beach CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Its an experience...”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

After driving four hours to Arenal we finally got to the hotel. The road up to the hotel was always fun for us, we put on the indiana jones theme song going up or down! Every once in a while we would turn off the headlights at night going up, scary but fun.
When we got to the hotel they had us in the wrong room. We were supposed to have the family room, but she wanted to give us one suite case the family room was taken. Ummm No. The reason I booked the family room was because we each wanted our own bed. After explaining this she gave us another room. Two days later, when we moved to the family suite I wanted to go back to the other rooms.. The family suite is large, but the place smelled of urine. One of the rooms didnt have AC and it was musty. Apparently an animal came in from the rain and made himself at home. When I returned to the front desk to ask to go back to our old rooms, she almost said no, but Miguel interjected and said anything to make us happy. Good thing too, because when I went back to get my things we found out there was a leak in the roof. It was a bit of a hassle, but it wasn't that big of a deal.
Miguel is the guy who does the nature walk and the horse back ridding. You do have to sign up at the front desk for this, you cant just show up. Miguel is very knowledgeable and answered all our questions during the walk. I guess we must have been asking so many questions that he took extra time to show us things; like letting an ant bite his skin!! So cool.. I think Miguel was one of the best things about this hotel.

We went to dinner at the restaurant and the waiter we had (the one that looks like obama) was kinda rude and unpleasant. We wish we had the other one who seemed really nice and upbeat. The free breakfast was nice, especially the buffet.

Overall I would stay here again, maybe not so many days. Just enough to do a nature walk and horseback ride with Miguel.

Room Tip: Dont get the family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Csustudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    257
    123
    64
    46
See reviews for
253
321
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Just checked out of Arenal Lodge after a 2 day stay.
The property is extensive so take advantage of the guided hike. My husband took the complimentary horse back ride and said it was very good and he enjoyed seeing the entire property. We did not have a drop of rain but also did not see much wildlife other then the beautiful birds they feed on the back deck.
The negative was the hotel itself. It was a bit run down and no wifi in rooms. The lighting in the rooms is very dim.
After saying that , I must mention the restaurant is very good and comp breakfast is good.

Room Tip: The junior suites are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess1m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We booked a family suite for the 3 of us. The first suite we were given was already occupied, and so we went back to the desk for a new room. The next suite was not very clean, spider webs in the second bedroom, 2 cups and 2 glasses for the entire suite, air conditioner didn't work, a large brown stain in the 2nd bathroom tub/shower. There was no refrigerator or microwave in the suite, although the room description says that they are included. We eventually got the air conditioner fixed and they brought us more glasses and cups, however the refrigerator or microwave never showed up. The room service meal ( burgers and frys) was marginal, but the server was very promt and pleasant. My wife asked for an adjustment on the bill when we checked out because of the problems and missing items, but they said they would give us a 30% discount on the room service bill, about $9US dollars. The breakfast buffet was pretty good and the staff was friendly and helpful. I think that this was once a great hotel, but is now being neglected and not well maintained. The front desk was not very helpful and indifferent to our concerns and issues. We would never stay here again, nor recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't book a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skip f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We visited Arenal Volcano Lodge and were very impressed with the gardens, the hotel was very quiet as we were there in low season but the gardens had so much wild life.
We were traveling with a baby and the staff at the hotel really did make sure that we were confortable and the quick service in the restaurant made the evening a lot easier.
The hotel is beatiful and the view from the pool is excellent.
La Fortuna has a lot of tourism and this hotel is nice that it is away from all of that..

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We spent 4 days at Arenal Lodge earlier this week. The grounds are beautiful. There are flowers and exotic birds everywhere. The hotel is set on 2,000 acres. If you enjoy the outdoors, this is the place. There are hiking trails into the rain forest (done in paving bricks, no less...) There was a free guided nature tour into the forest which ended at the hotel's own enclosed butterfly garden. The free horseback riding was also guided with spectacular view of the volcano and lake below. The food in the restaurant was delicious. We ate there several times and there was nothing we had which we would not have ordered again. The morning buffet was extensive including made to order omlettes if you like. Our room was a bit careworn. WIFI is only available in the lobby and the hotel is a tad isolated, but that should not be an issue unless you intend to go back and forth into town frequently. We did not really find it an issue. However, the staff was great and we still had a great experience. Would go back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This is one of the neatest, most beautiful places i've ever been to. The staff is super helpful. They will come out and personally show you plants and animals native to their region. They have a free nature walk everyday, and you get a free horseback ride. The restaurant is delicious, and accomodations are exquisite. This is not a 5 star facility if you are looking for pampering, but if you want an adventure mixed with relaxation you get it here. It is about 20ish minutes away from town, but after exploring whatever it is you do during the day all you can think about is driving up that mile or so twisty road that takes you up the mountain to the lodge. Fall asleep to frogs, and wake up to Stephania the macaw. That's all i'm saying because I don't want it over crowded next time I go, and I will be back.

Room Tip: The rooms around the main area don't have ac. You do not need it since it is low 70's at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlee8979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at Arenal Lodge on 12/29/11 - 12/31/11, at the beginning of our trip to Costa Rica. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Lodge. Pros were being out in the countryside and away from the crowds at the bigger resorts or La Fortuna, beautiful grounds, plenty of birds, and great breakfasts. Cons were that our standard room was very basic and close to the lobby, so while that made it convenient for meals, it was also a bit noisy as we could hear dishes rattling in the restaurant and people nearby. We felt it was a good value for the price. Another plus was that you couldn’t miss the entrance from the main road going around the lake as they have good signs and a guard house at the turn-off from the main road.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryschroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
5.5 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#20 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
5.5 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
6.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
5.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Lodge

Property: Arenal Lodge
Address: 200 meters NW from the Arenal Lake dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Lodge provides guests with the excitement of staying in an authentic rainforest lodge with breathtaking panoramic views of Costa Rica’s famous Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. Guests will enjoy a casual and relaxed rustic lodge setting with the added value of a complimentary breakfast daily. Located on 2000-acres of beautiful tropical rainforest, the lodge is situated near Arenal Volcano National Park. The lodge is surrounded by rainforest - housing hundreds of exotic birds, small animals and the beautiful tropical flowers and trees of Costa Rica. and is its own local tourist attraction due to its exclusive location with breathtaking panoramic views of Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. The lodge features a full service restaurant with local and international cuisine, gift shop, three heated outdoor Jacuzzis, an infinite edge swimming pool, walking trails, a butterfly garden, horseback riding, a game room and outdoor playground for children, fitness room, sauna, and free wireless high speed internet access. Guest rooms and suites feature cable TV, telephone, coffee maker, clock radio, and all have private baths. Complimentary crib and wheel chair are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Lodge Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing