We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to see Volcanos and have a new experience-you have arrived!”
Review of Arenal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arenal Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2013

How can one describe the wonder and beauty surrounding a Volcano? Spectacular! I did it! It’s a photographer’s delight and no like anyplace you have probably been too. We drove up from Alabuela, Tambor. That was an adventure in itself. But it was the most fun we’ve had on a vacation in a while. We finally arrived at our destination and paved roads to be greeted at the front entrance pointed in the direction reception area. Old cobble stone roads greeted our kidneys on the 2 mile ride up. We pull up and the quint reception check-in area was very welcoming. We saw the dining area and everyone seemed to be and were very friendly.
We got out key and drove our 5 speed poorly underpowered car up the hill to our abode. We take our bags up and notice that there doesn’t seem to be any heating or A/C units. Hmm we just lift 97+ degree weather and no A/C. Well we found out real fast you don’t need any A/C up there. The view from our room took our breath away! It’s high up on a hill and you can see for miles.

It was pretty windy and misty every day. Something about the way the mountains and barometric pressure with wind shifts. Wait I’m no meteorologist. I have to say it was exhilarating. Had a little towel art on the bed and slept so well to the sound of something like rain. But it was mist pounding the windows. It was great. Some may find the bed a little lacking in cushioning, but we had not problems and slept very well.
Breakfast was excellent and included in our travel itinerary, dinner was on us and very reasonably priced with a large selection. The only thing they didn’t serve the volcano drink here? Huh? The view from the dining room was stunning with birds, flowers and a small mammal that I couldn’t identify. They have a book in the restaurant with picture of the animals and birds. A BIG book!

We were minutes from everything. Location was perfect. We drove into the town of La Fortuna and enjoyed one of the hot springs that was very also very popular with the locals. They don’t know the treasure they have-oh yes they do-it was packed. We did find one that was pretty empty and really enjoyed ourselves. We took in the Volcano as you can see it from everywhere. I loved that. It’s a nice hike up the mountain, so be prepared. There are swinging bridges and other attractions nearby. So we hit the jackpot with this location.

Room Tip: you can drive to all rooms as it's hilly all around
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iseektoknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Dear Friends

Thank you for letting all of us of your experience while staying with us, we are delighted and we are motivated and committed to keep doing our best so people like you have a wonderful experience while staying at Arenal Lodge.
Thanks again for taking the time to let us know,
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
There are newer reviews for Arenal Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

The flora and fauna of the place clearly lived up to the photos and reviews! With that, we were very satisfied. We had read of the rough, long driveway, and our rental car fared OK in this regard. The room was poorly lit, with outdated furniture and decorations, and was not what I would describe as clean. The front desk were not the most professional, albeit they were not unpleasant (they charged us for a second horse ride which was cancelled due to rain, but removed it when we reminded them; we had to ask 3 times to turn on the Jacuzzi, and by the time it was on it was too late; etc). The horse ride was fabulous! The breakfast was nice and worthwhile. The restaurant was good, but overpriced - but then, most of Costa Rica's beaten track is expensive! Spa was not operating when we were there. Kids' room and fooseball were pleasant. We chose 3 stars overall, but could have given it 4 had the front desk been a little more eager to empathize or assist. Would only half recommend, with the caveat for dark rooms

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear friends

We thank you very much for your kind comments. We thank you for taking the time to let us know about our mistakes and we deeply apologize for the inconvenience.
We will use your comments to improve our service and will review this with our staff and make sure this doesnt happen again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This Lodge was very disappointing. Had a two night reservation and left after one night. The room was cold, the bedding inadequate, the lighting awful and the food was bland and uninspired. The weather was "damp" . Hotels which rely on the view and location need to offer more than dark musty accommodation. This hotel states it is under new management and I hope they improve their standards.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear friends,

We must say thank you your comments, they will help us improve our services and quality. It is very important to know what exactly went wrong besides what you state in your comment. I would very much appreciate if you have any suggestions or further comments to forward them to me.
We kindly apologize for the inconviniences suffered during your stay!
mgutierrez@arenallodge.com
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel really does have the best views I've ever seen of the volcano. My wife and I just spend one night here at the end of our Costa Rican trip. The room was all hard wood floors and walls with vaulting ceilings and a wonderful balcony. The entire front wall of the room was glass offering a sensational view from the moment you opened your eyes in the morning till the moment you went to sleep.

I'll admit that the bathroom could use an update but that in no means was a deal breaker for us. It was certainly clean enough but it was just old and in need of some new tiles and fixtures but who cares. We weren't planning on hanging out in the bathroom all day. Same goes with the furniture, it's just a little dated but in perfect repair. And I personally hate the cookie cutter rooms you find in big hotels. This place had a real charm to it!

Also this hotel offers a trail right on the property though the rainforest that you can hike safely on your own or with a guide free of cost. They also have horses on the property that go out for tours 3 times a day. We were very glad to find this gem. Happy travels!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11. A junior suite. All the rooms along the strip are fantastic for their views...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captianimpossible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Good afternoon dear friends

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, this is what is all about. We are happy to tell you that we are in a renovation process that will soon get to those small details that you kindly pointed out to us, we appreciate your feedback.
Thanks again and and happy travels to you too!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Arenal Lodge and were really happy with our experience. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the food was good, staff was friendly and we really enjoyed the nature hike with the resident naturalist. He knew every plant, animal, reptile, and bug we came across. The views of the volcano were amazing, I can't imagine a better location to stay. The infinit pool was beautiful and we also enjoyed the hot tubs.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradoheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Hello dear friends, thank you for letting us know about your stay in Arenal Lodge. We feel happy to know that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay. The views from Arenal Lodge are incomparable and we feel lucky to have such a nice location, we love sharing it with our guests and visitors.
Thanks again for your nice comments and we hope to see you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Arenal Lodge is an amazing resort with fabulous views, food, and staff. The chalet rooms are very spacious and the view is like no other. The chalets do not have air conditioning but it is rarely needed there. There are screened windows with a ceiling fan which kept us very comfortable every night. There are hairdryers, shampoo, and shower gel provided. we were missing the refrigerator in our room, but no sooner than I notified the front desk one arrived, pre-chilled. The housekeeping staff were very professional and left towel creations each night.

The drive up from the main road is a bit bumpy (our driver called it the "Costa Rican Tropical Massage or CTM") but once you arrive you know it was worth it. We were able to go on a horseback ride with their guide, Miguel as well as the nature walk. Both activities were free and very enjoyable. Miguel is very knowledgable and pleasant, such a gem! There is a blue macaw named Stephania that is part of the resort. One of the employees, Arturo, made sure to feed her and any other resort "friends" when we were at the restaurant or front desk so our daughter could enjoy the visit. He even caught a frog for her to hold one day!

The breakfast was very nice (juice, fruit, eggs, beans, rice, sausages, etc) and all other meals at the lodge were very good, but could be a bit pricey, especially after adding in tax and gratuity. Everything was very favorable and fresh.

My only regret was that my daughter lost her prescription sunglasses after she left them in the "kids room" at the front desk. 10 minutes later they had vanished, oh well. Our stay at Arenal Lodge was a fabulous one and we plan to return one day!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

God afternoon dear friends,

Thank you very much for leaving your feedback, we really appreciate you let us know that we are doing good. This is the motivation that we need to keep doing a good job every day!
We are happy that you liked the ride through the bumpy road, it make spart of the adventure!! Miguel and Arturo are great at what they do and we feel happy to have them as part of our crew at Arenal Lodge.
We are sorry that your daughter lost her eyeglasses, we looked for them but couldnt find them, we are hoping they would appear somewhere in your luggage.
Again, we thank you and hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I traveled with my fiancee and the only word I have to describe the view from this hotel is wow. It is truly one of the most amazing views I have ever seen. The view is complemented by the beautiful property and friendly staff. There are tons of activities to do in the area as well as at the hotel. An added plus was the restaurant at the hotel, which I thought was the best food I had in the area. When I return to Costa Rica I definitely plan to spend more time at Arenal Lodge.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a view, but make sure you book one, it is worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear friends , thank you very much for letting us know about your experience at Arenal Lodge.
On behalf of lour team, we feel more commited every day of working with our hearts, so that people like you can take back home a little piece of paradise with them, so that they will want to come back in the future.
Your friends in Arenal, sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
6.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,529 reviews
8.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,344 reviews
5.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#19 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,446 reviews
6.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,848 reviews
5.0 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#31 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Lodge

Address: 200 meters NW from the Arenal Lake dam, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £58 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Lodge provides guests with the excitement of staying in an authentic rainforest lodge with breathtaking panoramic views of Costa Rica’s famous Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. Guests will enjoy a casual and relaxed rustic lodge setting with the added value of a complimentary breakfast daily. Located on 2000-acres of beautiful tropical rainforest, the lodge is situated near Arenal Volcano National Park. The lodge is surrounded by rainforest - housing hundreds of exotic birds, small animals and the beautiful tropical flowers and trees of Costa Rica. and is its own local tourist attraction due to its exclusive location with breathtaking panoramic views of Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. The lodge features a full service restaurant with local and international cuisine, gift shop, three heated outdoor Jacuzzis, an infinite edge swimming pool, walking trails, a butterfly garden, horseback riding, a game room and outdoor playground for children, fitness room, sauna, and free wireless high speed internet access. Guest rooms and suites feature cable TV, telephone, coffee maker, clock radio, and all have private baths. Complimentary crib and wheel chair are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Lodge Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing