We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arenal Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$333
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mountain Paradise(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$110
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$123
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Arenal Montechiari(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$100
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$250
US$227
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$81
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Country Inn(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$78
US$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$529
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$123
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (893)
Filter reviews
893 results
Traveller rating
348
289
138
67
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
289
138
67
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutterfly gardenchalet roomjunior suitecosta ricahorseback ridinginfinity poolwinding roadkids roomhowler monkeysjacamar toursan adventureamazing viewsevery morningtour guidetour deskhiking trailssan jose
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 893 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This lodge's location is great, you're able to see the top of the volcan arenal without getting neck pain. The landscaping is well kept and their beautiful bird "Estefania" is free to fly around the area but manages to fly back to the reception area to greet visitors. The room we had a good size kitchen just big enough to prepare snack and your favorite drink. The staff are more then willing to help you with whatever you might need. This Lodge is a good 10-15 minutes drive up the mountain but it's worth it just to get the great views and for those concern about an active volcano, this puts you at a very safe distance and still enjoy the views.

Room Tip: If you want to be away from the rush, need a place to bond with nature and a nice lodge, this would be the place. It's not fighting to space with the rest of the lodges, prices are reasonable, but you just have to be willing to make the 15 minutes drive. The cabins with the big glass walls have the best view to the volcano from the rooms but do not have an A/C.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Moradi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hotel is located away from la fortuna ( 20-30min) on a hill overlooking the Arenal. That is if you are lucky the there is no fog. The rooms were nice although the hotel is not well organized. We reserved a family room for 5 and got a family room with two beds ?! Luckily one of the beds was big enough for the kids to. Sleep together. Also 2 towels were supplied and at 22:00 when we arrived no one could get us more towels or extra bed. One the good side, breakfast was excellent and after talking in the morning to the reception we we got plenty of towels. All in all nice place but require car.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ilan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria F, Owner at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hi Ilan! Thank you for leaving a review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay overall. I apologize that we were unable to get you more towels that evening. I will see to it that the front desk staff has more towels on hand for such situations. Thanks again for your feedback, and do come back soon! I recommend Sept and Oct as the best bet to see the volcano without clouds or fog.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at a JR suite with our 2 kids. We had a great time--the staff was very friendly and helpful, the restaurant was very reasonably priced. There is a macaw named Stefanie that stays at the lodge and is social.
The view of the volcano is amazing in the dry season but the volcano was never out of the clouds during the summer(the wet season). The drive up to the lode is very steep--you won't need a 4x4 but you will need to use first gear to scale the road. On the plus side we saw many animals along the side of the road since you are in jungle.
One note--if you have a car you can easily get to a number of activities that the tour desk offers and for far cheaper. We overpaid for a tour of the Arenal trail and the hanging bridges--whereas we could have just driven right up to both of these places for half the price.

Room Tip: The chalets are a little walk up the hills and they look very cute. But in the summer during the rainy season--you may have to have an umbrella to make it to the main lodge where the restaurant and wifi are. The suites that are attached to the main lodge may be a better choice.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jasper S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria F, Owner at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hi there Jasper, thanks for your review! We're thrilled you had a great time at the Lodge. As you pointed out one of the attributes that sets our Lodge apart from other area hotels is that we are located in the middle of pristine rainforest and the long driveway is a necessary component to this. Indeed, we recommend folks rent a car so they're able to better enjoy all that the region has to offer. I believe the tour desk asks whether you'd like to be picked up or drive yourself to most of the tours they sell, and that's where you can save some money by driving there yourself. Thanks again for your comments and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at the JR suite, room 22, very rustic feel to the whole hotel. strong smell of wood, since the structure is built with wood. Toiletries were provided though we didn't use it, we've brought our own. Towels were clean and fresh. everything in the room was pretty old though. we didn't stay long at the hotel, mostly to eat breakfast/lunch and we'd head out and come back for dinner and then bed. The beds were pretty comfy, wouldn't say that it is luxurious, but it's good enough, the air-conditioning was good on humid days. It rained a lot and we had our own car, but to be honest, if you had no transportation of your own, it would be a challenge to get anywhere since there aren't many places nearby the lodge and the hotel rooms are 2miles away from the main gate (steep climb). The pool area and jacuzzi area gave a very nice view.

Room Tip: remember to close the windows and the doors at night to prevent the bugs from coming in.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alayna91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria F, Owner at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hi Alayna! Thanks for your review and for visiting us at Arenal Lodge. We're glad your stay was satisfactory and that the weather allowed you to enjoy the views from our pool and garden area. Come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the arenal lodge for 3 nights in August 2014
We reserved a chalet, for 5 people 2 adults and 3 kids,
The room was spacious, 2 double beds and one sofa bed, very comfortable. The wall facing the volcano is glass and you can see a clear view of the volcano. Beautiful!!!!!!! Also the hotel is located on a hill in the jungle, driving to and from the hotel is an experience itself.
The room includes a kitchen w fridge.
The staff was super nice and and the price is a bargain for what you are getting.
The hotel restaurant is wonderful. prices very reasonable considering Costa Rica isn't a cheap country to travel. Breakfast is good, fresh.
Generally, we loved it, will defiantly recommend to friends and come back again in future


Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Elonabilet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews