We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, very nicely kept cabins”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Las Cabanitas Resort
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Cabanitas. The landscaped grounds were just beautiful. Our cabin was nicely done...we saw some that were much nicer. My only complaint is that we didn't have windows or screens in our cabin (just wood shudders). The room didn't feel very secure and, although not as buggy as many places in Costa Rica, we still had quite a bit of insects in our room. We also loved the town of La Fortuna...it was our favorite town on the entire trip. Safe, lots to do, very friend people, and about a 10 minute walk from the Cabanitas.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eaglecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights. On the outside it is absolutely beautiful--very green and scenic with local wildlife.

Our room was basic, except we had a coffee maker without coffee, we had no hot water (we had to go to our friends' rooms!!), and the internet and TV didn't work (not that we particularly cared, but for those who do).

Breakfast the next morning was somewhat pathetic: a few pieces of fruit and two slices of limp bread.

I'm giving this hotel two stars because it is in a convenient location to the Desafio Office, it is visually appealing, and the man who works in the reception/breakfast is very friendly.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different. Some have hot water, others not. Some have coffee, others not. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ariana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here with G Adventures so hotel was pre-booked. The little cabins were cute & spacious. The staff were very attentive & grounds were nice. Our shower was so strong it felt like our skin was peeling off, but after being in 2 hotels where we had zero water pressure it was a welcome relief. The hotels are not well-insulated so some partiers in the pool area kept us up one night. Also, our roof wasn't the greatest. You could see light through it, and when it rained we ended up with little puddles on the floor. We came home to iguana poop on the beds & an iguana in our roof rafters. Staff promptly removed the iguana & replaced the bedding. Ideal situation? no,,, but it was dealt with & we came home with a good story!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LL44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

When traveling to other countries, we have to remember that US standards are very different. In my travels, I stayed at five different hotels in various parts of Costa Rica.   Las Cabañitas was a beautiful hotel. The view of the Arenal Volcano is simply amazing. I loved seeing the wildlife, including toucans, at the hotel. Bring a camera with a good zooming capability. The room was not modern, but I had my best nights sleep there. Most of the rooms are little cabins, hence the name. It issuer cute. My room was large and spacious. the hotel was air conditioned and there was Wi-Fi in the dining and pool areas. I had a strange one time leak from the ceiling, but I am not sure why. It didn't rain. Possibly condensation from the air conditioner built up. There is a pool. It is nothing fancy, and it could use some maintenance like the rest of the property.  Overall, for being so rustic, I really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marshall R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed here as a group, it is a few miles out of town - a $2 taxi ride per person so factor that in if you're in a budget. The only shop nearby is the garage across the road that sells drinks and crisps.

The rooms are basically sheds with beds! There were ants everywhere, all over the room including beds. The bed sheets were slightly too small for the beds and pulled up during the night exposing the mattress. They also remove the TV and AC remote controls from the rooms for the following reasons...

What made this place particularly unpleasant was the blackmail the owner tried on us: AC would cost us $10 per room per night, unless we bought breakfast for $8 per person per day.

Our guide spoke to the owner and by the second day AC was free, and breakfast was €5 per person. But, they had 'lost' the remote control to a few of the AC so ours wouldn't work at all.

Even at $5 the breakfast was a rip-off! They seem to take advantage of the fact that G Adventures send their groups here which must be guaranteed business.

I'm sure there are better in La Fortuna.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Background: I stayed here with my group of 15 high school students(along with 17 students from other schools, plus chaperons) traveling with EF Tours. I also always travel with the mentality: things are not going to be like they are back home. With this in mind:

The “resort” is a nicer option if you are on a stricter budget. The cabins were quaint, but spacious, with AC. Our cabin (#3, I think) was always clean and did have one rocking chair on the porch. We always had hot water. There were probably more bugs in our room here than other places we stayed in Costa Rica, but still not bad considering the climate and environment. We kept the windows as closed as possible (especially in the bathroom, which had glass panes and no screens), but still managed to have a lizard in our bathroom one afternoon. Normally I am really squeamish when it comes to these things, but I was able to get it out the window.

I did not use the pool (it looked clouded the day we were there), but the grounds were nice to walk around. There was wifi in the common eating area that worked well. The food was good, though as we were in a group, our food preparation may be different than usual. What others have said about noise is true—those chickens get up very early, so maybe bring some earplugs.

Room Tip: Higher numbered rooms might be better to take you away from outside/street noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiasmaFury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

If all you want from a hotel room is a great view, this is the place. Very nice view of the Volcano. However if you enjoy no hot water for a shower, comforters without disgusting stains, sheets you cannot literally read the paper thru, an in room coffee maker with no coffee or cups (requested, never received) and an A/C unit that left standing water on the vanity table this is n the place to stay.
When we arrived we were of course impressed with the view, and the fact that an employee of the hotel was standing by the whole time to assist. Of course after a short time he was long gone. A member of our group had to immediately be moved as their roof was leaking in 6 different places. It was the rainy season and they did not know that roof leaked when they placed them there? Later another member of the group complained they had the usual no hot water, but now no electricity.
Nice front porch to enjoy the view, but less than half the rooms have a chair on the porch and the few that do only have one.
I will give it 2 stars only because they had a decent pool and view.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.7 mi away
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
#2 of 2 in El Castillo
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Linda Vista Hotel
Linda Vista Hotel
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
694 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
#39 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#22 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
829 reviews
8.3 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#35 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
150 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#34 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Cabanitas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cabanitas Resort

Address: North Zone, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £62 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Cabanitas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Las Cabanitas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Cabanitas Hotel
Las Cabanitas Resort Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing